Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 19:32:15
Subject: Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If a Grey Knight IC is in a challenge and is part of a unit that has a brotherhood banner, can he benefit from the banner?
Meaning, he would still get +1 attack, correct?
He can automaticaly activate force weapons, correct? I would assume that the squad would need to spend the warp charge to do this.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/25 19:32:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 19:41:37
Subject: Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
hmmm.... this would probably need to be FAQ'd, but I would assume he does still get +1a and auto activate his FW's since it doesnt say challenges leave the unit.
|
I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 20:05:13
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
This wouldn't even need to be faqed. The character will get the +1 attack, so long as he was joined to the unit when the combat began. As for the character, none of them have the Brotherhood of Psykers special rule, so they would have to activate their own force weapon. The squad activating theirs does nothing for the IC. However so long as he is a part of the unit he automatically activates his force weapon with the expenditure of a warp charge since he is part of the unit, but does not himself have the aforementioned rule.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 20:13:38
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
The Brotherhood Banner gives the unit +1A(plus a Force Weapon benifit)
The IC is part of the unit, and so gains +1A.
Whether he gains the autoactivate Force Weapon benift is up for debate.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 20:18:50
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Grey Templar wrote:The Brotherhood Banner gives the unit +1A(plus a Force Weapon benifit)
The IC is part of the unit, and so gains +1A.
Whether he gains the autoactivate Force Weapon benift is up for debate.
Kind of hard to debate that tbh. I'm starting to see how stern the BGB is on IC's joining squads.
States something along the lines of the unit auto passes psy tests to activate force weapons
The IC is part of the unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 04:53:06
Subject: Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The banner specifies BoP, and the IC is not a BoP model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 05:06:54
Subject: Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Where does it state that?
Looked at pg 62
"All models in the same unit as the BB"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 15:45:16
Subject: Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
No it doesn't. Brotherhood of Psykers is never mentioned in the text. As jd said, it's "All models in the same unit".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 15:51:17
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Like I said, its up for debate.
I personally think they do benifit, although they still must spend the Warp Charge themselves.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 16:08:24
Subject: Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Why wouldnt they? The challenge may be a separate combat, but the IC is still a part of the unit. Thats all that really matters to benefit from the banner. Nowhere in the challenge or assualt rules does it state that an IC accepting a challenge leaves his unit. And since the IC didnt leave the unit, he will still benefit from the effects of the banner.
Thats all there is to it, no?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 17:46:25
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
Boston, MA
|
Banner applies to Unit. IC in a challenge is still part of a Unit, so he benefits from +1A, and (if he has a warp charge), the ability to auto-pass his Force Weapon check. Note that this is completely different from the rest of the Unit, as they have to expend their own warp charge; It states this in the GK Codex under Nemesis Force Weapons - IC's must roll/activate separately. However, once either the IC OR the Unit passes/spends the Warp Charge, then all of the Unit's weapons are bound by the result (including the IC, as he is part of the Unit)
|
0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 20:12:21
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
djdarknoise wrote: However, once either the IC OR the Unit passes/spends the Warp Charge, then all of the Unit's weapons are bound by the result (including the IC, as he is part of the Unit)
This is not true. The brotherhood of psykers rule does not apply to the independent character, and as such he is on his own for the force weapon. The IC does not have the rule, nor can he make use of the rule (it says that an IC's leadership cannot be used, thus he is not included) however he can activate his weapon separate from the unit, and would auto pass the check because he does gain the benefits of the BB while not gaining the BoP rule.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 08:44:38
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Independant Character In Challenges - Brotherhood Banner Questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Lone Dragoon wrote: djdarknoise wrote: However, once either the IC OR the Unit passes/spends the Warp Charge, then all of the Unit's weapons are bound by the result (including the IC, as he is part of the Unit)
This is not true. The brotherhood of psykers rule does not apply to the independent character, and as such he is on his own for the force weapon.
This is not about BoP at all, it's about NFW rules. Rules about ICs changed in 6e. IC is now explicitly part of the unit which has BoP. BoP doesn't extend to IC, this is true but if IC strikes at I7 and causes unsaved wound, the rest of the unit must test for NFW activation at that point even though rest of the unit might strike at I1. IC makes his own test, because NFW rules specify that.
Note that because NFW states IC must roll separately, that does mean that unit is not bound by the IC roll result and vice versa.
|
|
 |
 |
|