Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 19:16:31
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hi folks, I've got a scenario I want to run by you with a few questions:
Deployment:
Hive Tyrant deployed at the bottom of a conga line of Tyrant Guard
TG
TG
HT
Turn 1:
Tyrant elects to fly, and everything moves forward. Because of the speed, turn 1 for Tyranids end with the new formation:
HT
TG
TG
Questions I've got are these:
1) Is there anything stopping the Hive Tyrant being in the unit of Tyrant Guard while flying as long as it stays within 2" of them?
2) Since it's the closest model, are all hits against the unit worked out as snapshots against the flying Tyrant?
3) Any hits that get a 6, or Skyfire, they hit the Hive Tyrant - can I use LOS to transfer to them to the Tyrant Guard?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 19:26:39
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MIKEtheMERCILESS wrote:1) Is there anything stopping the Hive Tyrant being in the unit of Tyrant Guard while flying as long as it stays within 2" of them?
Nope.
2) Since it's the closest model, are all hits against the unit worked out as snapshots against the flying Tyrant?
They would be, yes.
3) Any hits that get a 6, or Skyfire, they hit the Hive Tyrant - can I use LOS to transfer to them to the Tyrant Guard?
Yes.
I'm fairly sure this doesn't work for other reasons but I'm failing to find the rules reference right now.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 19:27:44
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I don't see anything stating you cannot do this.
Considering you fire at a unit not a specific model I'd say no.
From what I've seen LoS is wound not hit
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 19:32:31
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
MIKEtheMERCILESS wrote:1) Is there anything stopping the Hive Tyrant being in the unit of Tyrant Guard while flying as long as it stays within 2" of them?
Nothing stopping this. You can be joined to the Hive guard with a flyer.
2) Since it's the closest model, are all hits against the unit worked out as snapshots against the flying Tyrant?
No. The unit is not a Swooping FMC, so you hit as normal. P.49 says "Shots resolved at [A Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature] can only be resolved as Snap Shots" The unit is not "A Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature" so it is hit as normal.
3) Any hits that get a 6, or Skyfire, they hit the Hive Tyrant - can I use LOS to transfer to them to the Tyrant Guard?
Yes, Look Out Sir applies, as the HT acts as an IC in this situation.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 19:43:44
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote: MIKEtheMERCILESS wrote:1) Is there anything stopping the Hive Tyrant being in the unit of Tyrant Guard while flying as long as it stays within 2" of them?
Nothing stopping this. You can be joined to the Hive guard with a flyer.
2) Since it's the closest model, are all hits against the unit worked out as snapshots against the flying Tyrant?
No. The unit is not a Swooping FMC, so you hit as normal. P.49 says "Shots resolved at [A Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature] can only be resolved as Snap Shots" The unit is not "A Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature" so it is hit as normal.
3) Any hits that get a 6, or Skyfire, they hit the Hive Tyrant - can I use LOS to transfer to them to the Tyrant Guard?
Yes, Look Out Sir applies, as the HT acts as an IC in this situation.
DR where does it say LOS applies to hits?
I can't find that, just that it applies to wounds.
I'm admittedly not too familiar with LOS so could you show me where?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 20:13:22
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Look Out Sir applies to wounds.
His question was framed strangely, but I was assuming he meant wounds, as wounds are the only thing you can use Look Out Sir to transfer to the guard.
Plus you do not need a 6 to hit the unit, as you Target units with shooting attacks, not models. The unit is not a Swooping FMC in this case, because 2 models are not a Swooping FMC.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 20:14:09
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I believe he is saying that LOS applies as normal because the HT is considered an IC for the purposes of the Guard.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 21:16:47
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote:Look Out Sir applies to wounds.
His question was framed strangely, but I was assuming he meant wounds, as wounds are the only thing you can use Look Out Sir to transfer to the guard.
Plus you do not need a 6 to hit the unit, as you Target units with shooting attacks, not models. The unit is not a Swooping FMC in this case, because 2 models are not a Swooping FMC.
I play alot of FMC's and I'm scared of hits tbh as they force grounding tests.
I'm with you on the unit not swooping.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/28 19:00:53
Subject: Flying Hive Tyrant & Tyrant Guard
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks guys, yes I was talking about Look Out Sir in regards to wounds and not hits.
|
|
 |
 |
|