Switch Theme:

My first taste of 6th edition. A couple of queries if you would be so kind....:)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster







Had my first proper game of 6th today. A couple of issues popped up regarding transports that I thought I'd run past you guys. My brother, friend and myself were playing small 500pt games just to get ourselves familiar with the rules. When 2 played the other would go through the rulebook and try to work out any queries etc.. The following happened whilst I was charged with being the 'guy in the know' and promptly 'didn't know'

Sorry in advance if this is long winded but wanted to be clear in my explanation. Please point out any mistakes we have made along the way. It's the only way us numptys will learn.

My brother's Chaos Rhino was shot at by a War Walker and was hit 3 times. It suffered 2 Glancing hits and a Penetrating hit. With no save available we deduced that the Rhino was destroyed due to loss of all Hull Points and my friend should roll on the damage table to see if he exploded the Rhino. He rolled Stunned.

The Plague Marines then disembarked up to 3" and didn't take the required pinning test as they were Fearless.

The following turn my brother finished his movement and declared in his shooting phase that he wanted his Plague Marines to fire at some nearby Warp Spiders. My friend thought that as the Rhino had suffered a Stunned result (which prevents passengers from firing) that they were unable to do so. We couldn't find specific clarification on wether or not that was the case so my brother accepted this. If they had disembarked voluntarily they would of been able to fire? Does the Stunned result still apply even if they are technically no longer passengers?

At the start of the assault phase my brother then decided he would instead declare a charge against said Warp Spiders. We had a look through just to check this was viable but couldn't find anything to cover this. The only reference we could find was under the disembarking section that says any unit disembarking from a transport cannot declare charges in their subsequent assault phase. I thought this odd as he hadn't disembarked voluntarily in his turn. He had been forced to disembark by virtue of the transport being wrecked. So if the transport is destroyed in your opponents turn it prevents you from charging in your turn?

If these points have been played out correctly this seems a bit of a real kick in the teeth for transports that are not either assault vehicles or open topped.

Can you guys point us in the right direction?

Ta

Boar


Revilers 6,000pts
Dark Eldar 4,000pts
Cadian 229 regiment 3,000pts 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 wildboar wrote:
My brother's Chaos Rhino was shot at by a War Walker and was hit 3 times. It suffered 2 Glancing hits and a Penetrating hit. With no save available we deduced that the Rhino was destroyed due to loss of all Hull Points and my friend should roll on the damage table to see if he exploded the Rhino. He rolled Stunned.


I may be argued against, however, like wounds, you would decide the order to inflict the damages. If you did the Glancing hits first, then it would lose 2 HP for glancing, lose the third hull point for penetrating and be immediately Wrecked. If you do the Penetrating hit first, then it would be Lose HP, roll for additional damage, lose 2 HP and be wrecked.

The Plague Marines then disembarked up to 3" and didn't take the required pinning test as they were Fearless.


This is correct.

The following turn my brother finished his movement and declared in his shooting phase that he wanted his Plague Marines to fire at some nearby Warp Spiders. My friend thought that as the Rhino had suffered a Stunned result (which prevents passengers from firing) that they were unable to do so. We couldn't find specific clarification on wether or not that was the case so my brother accepted this. If they had disembarked voluntarily they would of been able to fire? Does the Stunned result still apply even if they are technically no longer passengers?


Per the BRB FAQ they are still subject to being Stunned.

At the start of the assault phase my brother then decided he would instead declare a charge against said Warp Spiders. We had a look through just to check this was viable but couldn't find anything to cover this. The only reference we could find was under the disembarking section that says any unit disembarking from a transport cannot declare charges in their subsequent assault phase. I thought this odd as he hadn't disembarked voluntarily in his turn. He had been forced to disembark by virtue of the transport being wrecked. So if the transport is destroyed in your opponents turn it prevents you from charging in your turn?


Unless the vehicle has the Assault Vehicle special rule, they cannot assault in their next Assault phase.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster







Many thanks for the quick response, the assault question is also covered in the BRB faq now I've had a thoroughly good look at it! Didn't catch it earlier but was only glancing through.

Yeah seems a pretty big hit that transports took, I play DE mainly so doesnt affect me so much, will get a few more games under our belts and see how we change to the change!

Revilers 6,000pts
Dark Eldar 4,000pts
Cadian 229 regiment 3,000pts 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Happyjew wrote:
 wildboar wrote:
My brother's Chaos Rhino was shot at by a War Walker and was hit 3 times. It suffered 2 Glancing hits and a Penetrating hit. With no save available we deduced that the Rhino was destroyed due to loss of all Hull Points and my friend should roll on the damage table to see if he exploded the Rhino. He rolled Stunned.


I may be argued against, however, like wounds, you would decide the order to inflict the damages. If you did the Glancing hits first, then it would lose 2 HP for glancing, lose the third hull point for penetrating and be immediately Wrecked. If you do the Penetrating hit first, then it would be Lose HP, roll for additional damage, lose 2 HP and be wrecked.



You must roll on the vehicle Damage table even if the vehicle loses sufficient Hull Points to be Wrecked, as there is still a chance that it Explodes!

p74 BRB

Pretty cut and dry there


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 wildboar wrote:

Yeah seems a pretty big hit that transports took, I play DE mainly so doesnt affect me so much, will get a few more games under our belts and see how we change to the change!


Except models inside an open-topped vehicle now take a STR4 hit instead of STR3 (as it was in 5th), that means your warriors / wyches, etc will be wounded on 3s if your vehicles explode. That's a bit of a hit there.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/28 20:37:27


 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Happyjew wrote:
 wildboar wrote:
My brother's Chaos Rhino was shot at by a War Walker and was hit 3 times. It suffered 2 Glancing hits and a Penetrating hit. With no save available we deduced that the Rhino was destroyed due to loss of all Hull Points and my friend should roll on the damage table to see if he exploded the Rhino. He rolled Stunned.


I may be argued against, however, like wounds, you would decide the order to inflict the damages. If you did the Glancing hits first, then it would lose 2 HP for glancing, lose the third hull point for penetrating and be immediately Wrecked. If you do the Penetrating hit first, then it would be Lose HP, roll for additional damage, lose 2 HP and be wrecked.


I disagree with this one. Pg 74 the bold text under penetrating hits.
By that remove the hull points and then resolve the pen rolls.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

 wildboar wrote:

At the start of the assault phase my brother then decided he would instead declare a charge against said Warp Spiders. We had a look through just to check this was viable but couldn't find anything to cover this. The only reference we could find was under the disembarking section that says any unit disembarking from a transport cannot declare charges in their subsequent assault phase. I thought this odd as he hadn't disembarked voluntarily in his turn. He had been forced to disembark by virtue of the transport being wrecked. So if the transport is destroyed in your opponents turn it prevents you from charging in your turn?


As this is the only part that hasnt been answered yet, I guess I should toss in here. I'll tell you now that this question has cropped up in a number of threads and I dont belive it has ever been truly resolved. It seems like the "No" to charging has a better basis RAW but there is some RAI interpretation that you "Can". I am of the mind that you cannot.

IMHO
If I blow up your transport, you shouldnt benefit by being able to charge a unit that you couldnt charge with if I hadn't.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/28 21:05:12


My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
 wildboar wrote:

At the start of the assault phase my brother then decided he would instead declare a charge against said Warp Spiders. We had a look through just to check this was viable but couldn't find anything to cover this. The only reference we could find was under the disembarking section that says any unit disembarking from a transport cannot declare charges in their subsequent assault phase. I thought this odd as he hadn't disembarked voluntarily in his turn. He had been forced to disembark by virtue of the transport being wrecked. So if the transport is destroyed in your opponents turn it prevents you from charging in your turn?


As this is the only part that hasnt been answered yet, I guess I should toss in here. I'll tell you now that this question has cropped up in a number of threads and I dont belive it has ever been truly resolved. It seems like the "No" to charging has a better basis RAW but there is some RAI interpretation that you "Can". I am of the mind that you cannot.

IMHO
If I blow up your transport, you shouldnt benefit by being able to charge a unit that you couldnt charge with if I hadn't.


It's actually in the FAQ so not just your opinion ^^

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: