Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/31 00:51:58
Subject: Half your army on the table?
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
On the back of a hog.
|
So I heard that at FoB recently some guy had 10 flyers in a list and had a squad or two start on the board behind an aegis. How is that possible? Don't you have to start half your army on the board? Or is there some FAQ I'm missing where the dudes inside the flyers don't count?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/31 00:52:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/31 00:52:56
Subject: Re:Half your army on the table?
|
 |
Perfect Shot Black Templar Predator Pilot
|
Anything that must start in reserve doesn't count towards it. Flyers and Drop Pods mainly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/31 01:09:42
Subject: Re:Half your army on the table?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
As well as the units embarked in them
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/31 01:21:47
Subject: Re:Half your army on the table?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yes, you must have half or more of your units on the board, rounding up.
This doesn't count models that MUST start in reserves.
So if you have the Necron Air Cav, you can end up picking as few models to start on the board as you want. Of course if they start with nothing, or whats on the board gets killed on turn 1, then they will automatically lose.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/31 02:49:46
Subject: Re:Half your army on the table?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Grey Templar wrote:Yes, you must have half or more of your units on the board, rounding up.
This doesn't count models that MUST start in reserves.
So if you have the Necron Air Cav, you can end up picking as few models to start on the board as you want. Of course if they start with nothing, or whats on the board gets killed on turn 1, then they will automatically lose.
That is only situationally true.
There are times when you have all of your units in reserve and some of them are not "models that MUST start in reserves" or embarked on "models that MUST start in reserves".
Example: 4 Drop pods filled with guys (Must start in reserve), 2 Stormravens with marines and the Warlord in the front and a dread on each (Must start in reserve), and a unit of terminators (Which may always start in reserve).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/31 06:55:02
Subject: Re:Half your army on the table?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
edit: Nevermind, I overlooked a FAQ
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/31 06:57:52
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/31 12:35:03
Subject: Re:Half your army on the table?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote: Grey Templar wrote:Yes, you must have half or more of your units on the board, rounding up.
This doesn't count models that MUST start in reserves.
So if you have the Necron Air Cav, you can end up picking as few models to start on the board as you want. Of course if they start with nothing, or whats on the board gets killed on turn 1, then they will automatically lose.
That is only situationally true.
There are times when you have all of your units in reserve and some of them are not "models that MUST start in reserves" or embarked on "models that MUST start in reserves".
Example: 4 Drop pods filled with guys (Must start in reserve), 2 Stormravens with marines and the Warlord in the front and a dread on each (Must start in reserve), and a unit of terminators (Which may always start in reserve).
True, but two off those drop pods will/can come in on the first turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/31 15:43:16
Subject: Re:Half your army on the table?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
FenixZero wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Grey Templar wrote:Yes, you must have half or more of your units on the board, rounding up.
This doesn't count models that MUST start in reserves.
So if you have the Necron Air Cav, you can end up picking as few models to start on the board as you want. Of course if they start with nothing, or whats on the board gets killed on turn 1, then they will automatically lose.
That is only situationally true.
There are times when you have all of your units in reserve and some of them are not "models that MUST start in reserves" or embarked on "models that MUST start in reserves".
Example: 4 Drop pods filled with guys (Must start in reserve), 2 Stormravens with marines and the Warlord in the front and a dread on each (Must start in reserve), and a unit of terminators (Which may always start in reserve).
True, but two off those drop pods will/can come in on the first turn.
Mishaps man, mishaps.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|