Switch Theme:

Outflank and Daemonic Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I have a very complicated question, and I'm really not sure how to completely structure it to make sense without spelling out the situation where my question would occur. So therefor I have constructed a little example scenario where the rules conflict in question would become an issue. Please oh oracle of dakkadakka lend me your wisdom in assisting me with solving this dilemma that has been plaguing me.

Lets assume the following CSM army with Chaos Daemons Allies.

Chaos Lord (Mark of Slaanesh, Seed of Slaanesh) - 100 pts

10x Chaos Cultists - 50 pts

10x Chaos Cultists - 50 pts

Herald of Slaanesh - 50 pts

5x Daemonettes of Slaanesh - 70 pts

5x Seekers of Slaanesh - 85 pts

Total 355 Points.

Yes a small army but legal army. All that is necessary to generate this issue.

So, For this example Lets assume any standard mission type, does not matter who goes first, what matters is deployment.

Per codex Chaos Demons, All of my units from codex Chaos Daemons go into reserve. (C:CD 27, C:CD FAQ v1.2)

I declare the Herald of Slaanesh and the Daemonettes to be one unit, attaching the IC to them. (C:CD 27, C:CD FAQ v1.2)

I deploy both squads of Cultists per the rules of the mission type. (BRB 124)

I declare that I am putting my Chaos Lord into Reserves. (BRB 124)

Because CSM and Chaos Daemons are Battle Brothers, I choose to attach my Chaos Lord to the Squad of Seekers that is also in Reserve, making one unit. (BRB 112,124, C:CD 27, C:CD FAQ v1.2)

Now, the Steed of Slaanesh gives the Chaos Lord multiple special rules, one of those rules is Outflank, (C:CSM 67)

The wording of the special rule for Outflank specifically states that "any unit that contains at least one model with this special rule", Therefor since the Chaos Lord has the Outflank rule, he confers it to the squad of Seekers (BRB 39, 40 )

During my deployment I declare my intent Outflank with the unit of Chaos Lord/Seekers that are in Reserve. (BRB 40, 124 )

After My opponent has finished his deployment as normal, the Game Begins. On my first turn, Daemonic Assault is triggered. (C:CD 27, C:CD FAQ v1.2)

Per Rules for Daemonic Assault I separate the two units of Daemons into two piles, Put the one unit of Daemonettes and the Herald in the pile that I am choosing to make the Daemonic Assault, and put the Seekers / Chaos Lord Unit in the pile I am intending to leave in Reserves, in their case to Outflank (C:CD 27, C:CD FAQ v1.2)

Now this is where things begin to break down in my path of logic. So therefor bear with me.

First, lets assume that due to the Capriciousness of the Chaos Gods. I roll a D6, In this case they have betrayed me...as i Roll a 1! So per Codex: Chaos Deamons Page 27... the OTHER pile I had in reserve, must arrive via deep strike via Daemonic Assault. Here is first question. What happens to the Unit of Seekers/Chaos Lord? As Chaos Lord does not have the ability, but the unit of Seekers MUST Deep Strike per the rules from the BRB on page 36. What happens? He cant leave the unit, as he was declared to be part of the unit when it was in reserves... Therefor, what happens? Does he Deep Strike with the unit of Seekers? does he somehow detach from the unit and come in via outflank? does he fizzle away and get lost in the ether? You tell me!

Now, lets assume the second situation, where the Chaos Gods have smiled upon me and confirmed my decision for what pile should be in the Daemonic Assault. In this situation the Daemonette/Herald group arrives via Daemonic Assault as it is layed out on page 37 of the Chaos Daemons codex, as well as the BRB under the Deep Strike rules on page 36. On my second turn, I roll for reserves and get a 3+, SUCCESS, the Seeker/Chaos Lord unit will come into play... But will the unit come into play via the Deep Strike rules or via the Outflank Rules?

For the second question i am confused due to the wording of Daemonic Assault from the Codex: Chaos Daemons on page 27. To quote the part of it in question. "... The remaining units are held in Reserve and their arrival is rolled for as normal. When a unit becomes available, it enters play via Deep Strike."

In this instance i am baffled, Does this mean that the unit cannot Outflank? Even though it was declared that was what was intended? Or does it get to Outflank and the last sentence is ignored due to the fact the "reserves as normal" kicking in, and only once it finds that they are not outflanking does it move onto the "enters play via deep strike?'

If the unit is forced to enter play via Deep Strike, see question one above... In short. What happens to the Chaos Lord as the deep strike rule is not on his profile, but he is clearly in the same unit as the Seekers?

Or i guess the last question would be, would the chaos lord not be able to join a Daemon squad that is in reserve, even though they are battle brothers, unless he had the deep strike rule on his profile (as in if he was wearing terminator armor instead?)

Whew That was long winded, Thank you All of Dakka for looking at this, Please impart me with your wisdom in this manner.

 
   
Made in eu
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler




Ireland

Sorry man but

Because CSM and Chaos Daemons are Battle Brothers, I choose to attach my Chaos Lord to the Squad of Seekers that is also in Reserve, making one unit.


is illegal. CSM independent characters cannot join squads of Daemons as per the "pg 27 Daemonic Rivalry" update in the Chaos Daemons FAQ v1.2


Page 27 – Daemonic Rivalry.
The second paragraph should be changed to: “Independent
characters in this list cannot join units of Daemons belonging to a different Chaos God, units of Furies of Chaos, or any allied
units. Equally, allied independent characters may never join units chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons”.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/02 07:17:55


By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!

- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Even if you could attach them, the allowance to outflank does not trump the MUST DEEPSTRIKE part of daemonic assault. So it wouldnt work either way
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Yea, Cant attach them to CSM, can't attach them to IC's of another "god" in codex. Must Deepstrike is part of demonic assault pg 27 Codex Daemons

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Voodoo_Chile wrote:
Sorry man but

Because CSM and Chaos Daemons are Battle Brothers, I choose to attach my Chaos Lord to the Squad of Seekers that is also in Reserve, making one unit.


is illegal. CSM independent characters cannot join squads of Daemons as per the "pg 27 Daemonic Rivalry" update in the Chaos Daemons FAQ v1.2


Page 27 – Daemonic Rivalry.
The second paragraph should be changed to: “Independent
characters in this list cannot join units of Daemons belonging to a different Chaos God, units of Furies of Chaos, or any allied
units. Equally, allied independent characters may never join units chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons”.


Ah bugger, I missed that part of the FAQ.

sucks really, fluff wise it makes perfect sense to have a Chaos Lord (w/ the appropriate mark) with a unit of Daemons for the same chaos god.

Equally silly that they still gave the Daemonic Steeds to CSM, but no Calvary units for him to join with the steed, and the only Calvary units fluff wise he is compatible with stuck in a codex who's rules specifically state that he can never join their squads. A bit silly in my opinion.

In any case, thank you all for your quick answer for my rules quandary.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: