Switch Theme:

Multiple Rune Priests (SW) with Chooser of the Slain  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I found no faq on this and no good way of figuring this one out as the rules are written poorly. It makes mention to an army make have a marker then later on says something that makes it feel like multiple markers.

If I have multiple rune priests in an army that each pay the points for chooser of the slain do they each get a marker or only 1? The price they pay is for each rune priest being able to use the one marker for increased ballestic skill?

I would not think the intent was for Space Wolves to deny infiltrators completely in a game by allowing multiple markers across the battle field. What can I use to cite my source as their is no faq on this?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Each priest would get a marker as there's nothing saying that only one priest may have a chooser.

dfer74 wrote:
I would not think the intent was for Space Wolves to deny infiltrators completely in a game by allowing multiple markers across the battle field. What can I use to cite my source as their is no faq on this?


Don't GK servo skulls do this already?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/06 17:44:25


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Only 1. It states the army, not the rune priest personal.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

IamCaboose wrote:
Each priest would get a marker as there's nothing saying that only one priest may have a chooser.

dfer74 wrote:
I would not think the intent was for Space Wolves to deny infiltrators completely in a game by allowing multiple markers across the battle field. What can I use to cite my source as their is no faq on this?


Don't GK servo skulls do this already?


however it does state.

An army that includes a chooser of the slain, may place a marker.

If your army includes 4 Chooser of the slain, placing a marker fulfils the rule.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So I can take 4 priests and buy a chooser for one of them and they all benefit from it?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

IamCaboose wrote:
So I can take 4 priests and buy a chooser for one of them and they all benefit from it?

Not sure what you mean by "they all benefit from it"

if you have 4 rune priests you have 'a chooser of the slain' so you may place a marker.

A marker means 1.



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/08 06:07:15


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
IamCaboose wrote:
So I can take 4 priests and buy a chooser for one of them and they all benefit from it?

Not sure what you mean by "they all benefit from it"

if you have 4 rune priests you have 'a chooser of the slain' do you may place a marker.

A marker means 1.



Thanks, I got what "A" means.

Let me elaborate on my question. If I have 4 rune priests and I buy 1 chooser, do all 4 priests benefit from the +1 BS rule of the chooser?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No, they do not all benefit.

The wording of Chooser of the slain tells us this.

"Should the rune priest make a shooting attack at a target that has line of sight to the Chooser marker, he may treat his BS as one higher than normal."

In the context of the Rule, the rune priest is the rune priest that bought the Chooser of the slain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/06 22:26:14


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hmm, still not convinced.

But seeing as I don't use choosers anyways, I'll concede.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Only 1. It states the army, not the rune priest personal.


Sorry nos are you saying if you have 4 priests you can have a maximum of 1 chooser?

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No, Nos is saying that no matter how many choosers of the slain you have, you only get 1 Chooser marker.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Where does it say that? It says the army that includes a chooser may place a marker, it doesn't say that for 4 choosers you only get 1 marker.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




""An army that includes a Chooser of the Slain may place a Chooser marker anywhere on the battlefield.......""

Your army may place A marker. So that is 1 marker for your army, not per RP.


   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Edit

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/08 01:59:46


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Does the army contain a CotS. Yes.. then it can place a marker.

It does not say... For each RP with CotS you may place a marker.

Army is singular, marker is singular.

And yes.. "the RP may add 1 to his BS"(paraphrased) does not specify which RP can use its ability.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

In a case where I have an x, I place a y.
I don't see a problem with having a second x and placing a second y in this statement. It looks to me like an operation.
If the statement was any of the following non-exhaustive examples it would be limited to one marker only.
In a case where I have any x, I place a y.
In a case where I have an x, I place a maximum of 1 y.


The marker's benefit is specific to the chooser and the rune priest that is equipped with it. As the marker is singular but the priest that gets the benefit is a definite priest (the priest), so we have a dilemma.
I pay for 4 choosers, I may only place 1 marker. Which priest gets the benefit?

This marker must be smaller than the priest. Implication of the marker being tied to one priest only, similar to the last line.
The enemy may infiltrate within 18" of a marker, not the marker. The implication of multiple markers especially since the previous line talks about the marker.

From the context it seems to me that each chooser gets a marker and that each marker is tied to one priest only.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/11/08 02:15:31


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
In a case where I have an x, I place a y.
I don't see a problem with having a second x and placing a second y in this statement. It looks to me like an operation.
If the statement was any of the following non-exhaustive examples it would be limited to one marker only.
In a case where I have any x, I place a y.
In a case where I have an x, I place a maximum of 1 y.


The marker's benefit is specific to the chooser and the rune priest that is equipped with it. As the marker is singular but the priest that gets the benefit is a definite priest (the priest), so we have a dilemma.
I pay for 4 choosers, I may only place 1 marker. Which priest gets the benefit?

This marker must be smaller than the priest. Implication of the marker being tied to one priest only, similar to the last line.
The enemy may infiltrate within 18" of a marker, not the marker. The implication of multiple markers especially since the previous line talks about the marker.

From the context it seems to me that each chooser gets a marker and that each marker is tied to one priest only.


You can pay for 4 if you like, but I only see permission to place a marker.

   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

OK, then explain who gets the benefit of the marker.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Context I would say the RP that purchased the upgrade, but RAW I would say any RP in your army.
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






The options for this that I see is either you may only have one chooser marker, but all RPs should be able to gain the benefit of it,

or

you place one marker for each RP but they are tethered to a specific one (RP 1 buys Chooser A, only gets +1 BS from Chooser A, not Chooser B-D)
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I go for the second option and nobody has ever said anything to me about how I play or read it.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It doenst, however, follow the rules. The rules allow you A marker in your army, no matter how many you buy
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Fine, nos I see where you come from. The problem is that that reading of the rules is yet to be squared away with the rest of the paragraph and with the ability for more than 1 rune priest to own a chooser of the slain.

Also the rules don't say A marker no matter how many you buy. It just says a marker for a chooser, that is not a definitive statement of ONE marker only.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/09 12:06:32


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Fine, nos I see where you come from. The problem is that that reading of the rules is yet to be squared away with the rest of the paragraph and with the ability for more than 1 rune priest to own a chooser of the slain.

Also the rules don't say A marker no matter how many you buy. It just says a marker for a chooser, that is not a definitive statement of ONE marker only.


Yea, but the rules do state an Army may place A marker IIRC.

It's a bit silly but, well it's silly

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




How many armies do you have:? One? Then you place A marker, singular.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Yes, now as I asked please square away the rest of the rules for that piece of wargear. Cos it doesn't work.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Yes, now as I asked please square away the rest of the rules for that piece of wargear. Cos it doesn't work.


you act like SW's are the only ones that can buy wargear that does zilch ^^

   
Made in se
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Sweden

you can buy and have multiple markers. the rule

An army that includes a chooser of the slain, may place a marker.

doesnt mean you cannot have multiple priests with 1 each in the same way as the rule.

a model with 1A in its characteristics are allowed to make 1 attack at its initiative step

doesnt disallow the rest of the models in the unit thier attacks.

(I have not qouted the exact wording of BRB because I dont have it ATM but I hope you can see my point)

However, it isnt even broken to purchase 4 rune priests to lock down the table from infiltrators. It would be directly stupid in any game to invest that many points in priests.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: