Switch Theme:

Chaos lords invulnerable saves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch




So this has probably been asked before, in which case could someone please direct me to that thread or FAQ, but I noticed that a chaos lord can have terminator armor and an upgrade that gives it a 4++ so my question is are the invulnerable saves stackable, so you would play it as a 2++ because 5++ is 2/6 and 4++ is 3/6 so added together it is 5/6 which Is 2++ or does the 4++ save just replace the 5++ save? Same goes if a non terminator armored lord takes both the upgrades that give a 5++ and a 4++, would this also be 2++?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Nemesor wrote:
So this has probably been asked before, in which case could someone please direct me to that thread or FAQ, but I noticed that a chaos lord can have terminator armor and an upgrade that gives it a 4++ so my question is are the invulnerable saves stackable, so you would play it as a 2++ because 5++ is 2/6 and 4++ is 3/6 so added together it is 5/6 which Is 2++ or does the 4++ save just replace the 5++ save? Same goes if a non terminator armored lord takes both the upgrades that give a 5++ and a 4++, would this also be 2++?


No, you just use your best save. So if you have a 2+/5++ and you take the mark/whatever that gives your invul save +1 you would than have a 2+/4++

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






Just gives you a 4++, so if your lord is termi armour it would have a 5++, if you take the 4++ item then you will have a 5++ and a 4++, kind of handy if a GK player snipes your lords invuln. If they stacked Wolf Lords would have been stacking termi armor and belt of Russ all this time.
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






actually if a GK player snipes your lord in termy armour with the sigil of corruption you would loose both, that shot removes all invul saves provided by wargear.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Page 19 of the rulebook covers this - "Models with more than one save", and "Maximum save". While there is mention of rules that can add a modifier to your save, the sigil of corruption simply states that it grants a 4+ invulnerable save - it doesn't give you specific permission to use it as a modifier. That means your model is then a model "with more than one save" - so it must use the best available (the 4+).

Note that you CAN make the sigil of corruption into a 3+ invulnerable, by giving the model the Mark of Tzeentch. This is an example of a specifically allowed save modifier.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in nz
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch




Well thanks guys, but page 19 only refers to cover saves, so I may email te FAQ just to make sure, cuz I'm really going that it is as I have detailed, because who doesn't want 2++

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/07 05:12:52


 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






They really don't stack, with the exception of the MoT effect (or anything else that explicitly says it improves a save), all invul saves are fixed values.
   
Made in nz
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch




Yeah, I'm just going to check because any chance of a 2++ is worth taking, IMHO. And there is still nothing that says they don't stack either. I also if they don't stack, would that mean that if you have 3 invulnerable saves that you can use all 3 because you can only use a cover save, invulnerable or armor, and you would have 3 invulns. Yeah, I'm a crazy noob
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have to have a rule saying they DO stack, otherwise they dont. that is how the game is written

No, having mroe than one (cover, invulnerable, armour) has no effect - you still take your single best save
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Reread page 19 again, the "models with more than one save" section mentions cover, armour and invulnerable saves. Your argument has no grounding in the rules.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Nemesor wrote:
Yeah, I'm just going to check because any chance of a 2++ is worth taking, IMHO. And there is still nothing that says they don't stack either. I also if they don't stack, would that mean that if you have 3 invulnerable saves that you can use all 3 because you can only use a cover save, invulnerable or armor, and you would have 3 invulns. Yeah, I'm a crazy noob


You just might be after just a bunch of Dakkanauts told you it doesn't stack.

You must use the best save available. Note* this does not include made up stacked saves.

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

YOU FORGOT ONE SENARIO.

Lord termie armor 2/5
with sigil 2/4
with sigel termie armor and tzeentch 2/3 Yummy better on sorcerer.

but all gone if your hit by the vindicare assasin....

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

I think the MoT still gives you a 6+ then.
Are marks wargear or a purchased rule?


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 HoverBoy wrote:
I think the MoT still gives you a 6+ then.
Are marks wargear or a purchased rule?


Normally, it would be anything in the wargear section of the codex, but the C:CSM renamed it to Forbidden Armory. I would say anything listed on pg 91 "Chaos Wargear List" would be subject to the assassin shot. Anything otherwise would not.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: