Switch Theme:

Do buildings get cover saves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in za
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





South Africa

If I take a bastion or a fortress of redemption and park a land raider in front of it (or perhaps if you have to shoot at it through a tall forest or something) would it get a cover save?

Cheers
Neal

   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It uses the rules for Vehicles, so as long as its 25% obscured.
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Out of interest, and I've suspected this could be the case - would something like the KFF grant its cover save to structures within 6"?
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yes, yes it does.

Park that Big Mek in the tower

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Grey Templar wrote:
Yes, yes it does.

Park that Big Mek in the tower


Why would the KFF work on a building?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

40k-noob wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
Yes, yes it does.

Park that Big Mek in the tower


Why would the KFF work on a building?

Why wouldn't it? It counts as a vehicle, KFF works on vehicles.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 grendel083 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
Yes, yes it does.

Park that Big Mek in the tower


Why would the KFF work on a building?

Why wouldn't it? It counts as a vehicle, KFF works on vehicles.


I dont play Orks so I dont know the rules for KFF but if it affects vehicles then that doesn't mean it would affect Buildings.

Buildings have aspects of vehicles...
That does not make them vehicles.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/09 17:19:33


 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

The KFF gives units within range a cover save. Is a building a unit? I think not.

DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 kronk wrote:
The KFF gives units within range a cover save. Is a building a unit? I think not.

It also makes vehicles count as Obscured.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 kronk wrote:
The KFF gives units within range a cover save. Is a building a unit? I think not.

Check the definition of a unit.

BRB Page 3 wrote:In Warhammer 40,000, we represent this by grouping models
together into units. A unit usually consists of several models
that have banded together, but a single, powerful model, such as
alone character, a tank, a war engine or a rampaging monster, is
also considered to be a unit in its own right.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc






Battle Barge Impossible Fortress

Nothing but fluff and guidance in that paragraph.. It's hardly a total collection of rules on units. What's a rampaging monster?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/09 18:14:35


 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






Isn't it a 6" bubble? Would that mean that the bubble extends 6" in every direction from the building? Is that how it works on vehicles or from the centerpoint?

With all that's given so far, I'm leaning towards yes, the building gets cover. I also understand how ridiculous that is, but find it funnier that abusive. Now I actually want to go against one.

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot






Kansas City, MO

I believe it states that if the Big Mek with KFF is embarked in a vehicle, you measure from the hull of the vehicle.

Follow me on Twitch,
Twitter and Instagram


 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






thats kinda what I was afraid of. That is one big bubble.

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Brometheus wrote:
Nothing but fluff and guidance in that paragraph.. It's hardly a total collection of rules on units. What's a rampaging monster?

"A unit usually consists of several models ... but a single ... model is also considered to be a unit in its own right."
It's not all fluff.

And without that definition there's literally no definition of a unit in the book - so there's that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/09 21:46:08


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Pg 109 bottom right under Fortifications:

"Unlike units, fortifications are not found in codexes. Instead,
you'Il find a selection presented in this book (see page ll4),
whilst others will be presented in \7hite Dwarf and through
our website : www. games-workshop.com"

I would say that the BRB does not define Fortifications as "units" based on this section.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

What is "\7hite Dwarf"?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
What is "\7hite Dwarf"?


It's what happens when you copy and past from PDF.doc's sometimes

   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

 NealRC wrote:
If I take a bastion or a fortress of redemption and park a land raider in front of it (or perhaps if you have to shoot at it through a tall forest or something) would it get a cover save?
40k-noob wrote:
Buildings have aspects of vehicles...
That does not make them vehicles.
Page 92: BUILDINGS: 'Buildings of all types use aspects of the Transport vehicle rules. The main difference is between buildings and actual vehicles is that they can't move, and units from the other side can go inside.'

No, they are not vehicles, but they follow all of the rules associated with vehicles with exceptions above, i.e.: transport capacity, armour value, rules for obscuring, etc. A KFF or obscurement of 25% of the applicable armour facing would grant a cover save.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: