Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 12:02:27
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The predicament is this...
Fact:
Astorath the Grim assaults (solo) a unit of 9 Immortals led by a Necron Overlord. Astorath doesn't issue a challenge, but the Necron overlord does. Because Astorath is the only model that is locked in combat and can accept challenges he cannot refuse and is forced into a challenge.
Questions
In the ensuing challenge, is the Necrron Overlord entitled to a re-roll due to the whole unit of immortals not being able to attack anything are forced to watch the challenge?
If the above question is YES then, (Astorath uses his Executioners Axe that enables him to force his enemies re-roll successful ward saves). The Necron Overlord decides to keep his re-roll (given as stated in the BRB, one re-roll per 5 models ergo 9 Immortals equals 1 re-roll) for the save. Astorath inflicts 3 wounds, the Necron Overlord saves 2 and fails 1, now how the re-roll sequence is being resolved? Does he re-rolls the 2 saved (fromThe Executioner Axe), and re-rolls the one failed (from the Get em Boss rule)?
Moreover, if there were 15 Immortals thus giving the Necron Overlord 3 re-rolls, which rule, Executioner Axe-Get em boss, takes precedence or in both cases(even with one re-roll) both are canceled out?
Hope my writing wasn't too much confusing.
Thanks in advance for the answers...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 12:06:57
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
So astorath's re-roll invul saves and the re-roll for support cancel out for one of the saves only. Still looses a wound.
In theory yes the axe can be overcome by having 5 time the number of wounds dudes just watching the fight.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/11 12:08:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 13:00:27
Subject: Re:Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So, apart from the re-roll thing, can you benefit from the "get em boss" rule in the first round of an assault or you must already be in a challenge from the previous turn in order to benefit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 14:18:41
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
specter wrote:The predicament is this...
Fact:
Astorath the Grim assaults (solo) a unit of 9 Immortals led by a Necron Overlord. Astorath doesn't issue a challenge, but the Necron overlord does. Because Astorath is the only model that is locked in combat and can accept challenges he cannot refuse and is forced into a challenge.
Questions
In the ensuing challenge, is the Necrron Overlord entitled to a re-roll due to the whole unit of immortals not being able to attack anything are forced to watch the challenge?
If the above question is YES then, (Astorath uses his Executioners Axe that enables him to force his enemies re-roll successful ward saves). The Necron Overlord decides to keep his re-roll (given as stated in the BRB, one re-roll per 5 models ergo 9 Immortals equals 1 re-roll) for the save. Astorath inflicts 3 wounds, the Necron Overlord saves 2 and fails 1, now how the re-roll sequence is being resolved? Does he re-rolls the 2 saved (fromThe Executioner Axe), and re-rolls the one failed (from the Get em Boss rule)?
Moreover, if there were 15 Immortals thus giving the Necron Overlord 3 re-rolls, which rule, Executioner Axe-Get em boss, takes precedence or in both cases(even with one re-roll) both are canceled out?
Hope my writing wasn't too much confusing.
Thanks in advance for the answers...
Max unit of immortals is 10, using warriors however would be a different story.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 21:38:10
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well, in this case, the overlord would have to reroll his passed saves bcz of the axe and can reroll the failed saves with get em boss rule. The second roll sticks for a dice can only be rerolled one time
In the second case say they had 15 warriors, get em boss you would only use on failed saves and the axe only
Works on passed saves and again a dice cannot be rerolled more then one time
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/11 21:41:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 21:43:41
Subject: Re:Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Bear in mind that each dice can only be re-rolled once (page 5 BRB), so if the lord passes a save, is forced to re-roll due to axe and fails, it cannot be re-rolled again by Moral Support.
{edit} beaten to it be Ub :-)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/11 21:44:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 02:11:41
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Basically, they cancel each other out and you don't bother rerolling.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 02:19:29
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
|
rigeld2 wrote:Basically, they cancel each other out and you don't bother rerolling.
They don't cancel each other out. The same issue comes with Eldar Farseer and fortune. All successful saves must be rerolled and all failed saves must be rerolled so everything gets rerolled and you actually roll twice with the first result being completely negated by fortune and the executioner's axe.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 02:24:01
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
rogueeyes wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Basically, they cancel each other out and you don't bother rerolling.
They don't cancel each other out. The same issue comes with Eldar Farseer and fortune. All successful saves must be rerolled and all failed saves must be rerolled so everything gets rerolled and you actually roll twice with the first result being completely negated by fortune and the executioner's axe.
Or you can cancel them out and save a whole lot of time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 02:34:04
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:rogueeyes wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Basically, they cancel each other out and you don't bother rerolling.
They don't cancel each other out. The same issue comes with Eldar Farseer and fortune. All successful saves must be rerolled and all failed saves must be rerolled so everything gets rerolled and you actually roll twice with the first result being completely negated by fortune and the executioner's axe.
Or you can cancel them out and save a whole lot of time.
So, if Astorath deals 5 Wounds and the Overlord saves all 5 he doesn't have tore-roll despite only getting a single re-roll per turn?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 02:38:45
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Happyjew wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:rogueeyes wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Basically, they cancel each other out and you don't bother rerolling.
They don't cancel each other out. The same issue comes with Eldar Farseer and fortune. All successful saves must be rerolled and all failed saves must be rerolled so everything gets rerolled and you actually roll twice with the first result being completely negated by fortune and the executioner's axe.
Or you can cancel them out and save a whole lot of time.
So, if Astorath deals 5 Wounds and the Overlord saves all 5 he doesn't have tore-roll despite only getting a single re-roll per turn?
If fortune is up?
Ast makes you reroll successful
Fortune allows you to reroll failed
If it's a mob of 15 boyz and Ghaz in a challenge vs Astorath.
Ghaz saves his rerolls
Ghaz calls a waagh
Asto deals 3 wounds
They'd cancel each other out.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 02:50:13
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:rogueeyes wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Basically, they cancel each other out and you don't bother rerolling.
They don't cancel each other out. The same issue comes with Eldar Farseer and fortune. All successful saves must be rerolled and all failed saves must be rerolled so everything gets rerolled and you actually roll twice with the first result being completely negated by fortune and the executioner's axe.
Or you can cancel them out and save a whole lot of time.
So, if Astorath deals 5 Wounds and the Overlord saves all 5 he doesn't have tore-roll despite only getting a single re-roll per turn?
If be only gets a single reroll, then obviously he cancels out one time. He'd have to reroll the other 4.
This isn't new. It was in the BRB FAQ in 5th and its so much easier than rolling a bunch of dice and ignoring the results, then rerolling all of them.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 02:52:34
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Happyjew wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:rogueeyes wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Basically, they cancel each other out and you don't bother rerolling.
They don't cancel each other out. The same issue comes with Eldar Farseer and fortune. All successful saves must be rerolled and all failed saves must be rerolled so everything gets rerolled and you actually roll twice with the first result being completely negated by fortune and the executioner's axe.
Or you can cancel them out and save a whole lot of time.
So, if Astorath deals 5 Wounds and the Overlord saves all 5 he doesn't have tore-roll despite only getting a single re-roll per turn?
If fortune is up?
Ast makes you reroll successful
Fortune allows you to reroll failed
If it's a mob of 15 boyz and Ghaz in a challenge vs Astorath.
Ghaz saves his rerolls
Ghaz calls a waagh
Asto deals 3 wounds
They'd cancel each other out.
How does a Necron Overlord benefit from Fortune? Normally, if you have an ability to re-roll any unsuccessful saves vs an ability that forces you to re-roll any successful saves (such as Astorath vs a Fortune'd unit), yes the two would cancel each other out. However, in the OP's scenario, the Overlord only has 1 re-roll per turn, due to the number of lads cheering him on.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 04:45:57
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Yeah so he can canncel one reroll of his invul save against astorath, after that its back to normal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 04:53:12
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Happyjew wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Happyjew wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:rogueeyes wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Basically, they cancel each other out and you don't bother rerolling.
They don't cancel each other out. The same issue comes with Eldar Farseer and fortune. All successful saves must be rerolled and all failed saves must be rerolled so everything gets rerolled and you actually roll twice with the first result being completely negated by fortune and the executioner's axe.
Or you can cancel them out and save a whole lot of time.
So, if Astorath deals 5 Wounds and the Overlord saves all 5 he doesn't have tore-roll despite only getting a single re-roll per turn?
If fortune is up?
Ast makes you reroll successful
Fortune allows you to reroll failed
If it's a mob of 15 boyz and Ghaz in a challenge vs Astorath.
Ghaz saves his rerolls
Ghaz calls a waagh
Asto deals 3 wounds
They'd cancel each other out.
How does a Necron Overlord benefit from Fortune? Normally, if you have an ability to re-roll any unsuccessful saves vs an ability that forces you to re-roll any successful saves (such as Astorath vs a Fortune'd unit), yes the two would cancel each other out. However, in the OP's scenario, the Overlord only has 1 re-roll per turn, due to the number of lads cheering him on.
Was replying to Rogueeyes mainly
happy, we're sayin the same thing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 09:43:17
Subject: Re:Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
specter wrote:So, apart from the re-roll thing, can you benefit from the "get em boss" rule in the first round of an assault or you must already be in a challenge from the previous turn in order to benefit?
Anyone any thoughts about this?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/13 06:07:05
Subject: Astorath the Grim in a Challenge question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I don't think it is only on the first round, thought it was all of them
|
|
 |
 |
|