Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 12:55:21
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Psychic Novitiate selected by a Gatherer
|
how does the space wolf JoTww interact with a GK paladin that is using a halberd. i dont have a SW book in front of me atm but my friend said i dont get the +2 I from the halberd...aka he says i would have 4 instead of 6. can someone point me in the right direction? also i searched jotww and none of the threads from page 1-4 helped me..kinda stopped also tried jotww vs gk. gk jotww and jotww halberd...no real helpful results
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 12:58:35
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
No, they use initiative 4. Your friend was wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 13:02:09
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Psychic Novitiate selected by a Gatherer
|
Darog wrote:No, they use initiative 4. Your friend was wrong.
you mean im wrong? anyone have the wording as to why i dont have I 6? does jotww just null and void wargear or what?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 13:22:06
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I could be wrong, but doesn't the Halberd rules say you strike at +2 initiative? It's a bonus only during close combat, not all the time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 14:04:23
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
grendel083 wrote:I could be wrong, but doesn't the Halberd rules say you strike at +2 initiative? It's a bonus only during close combat, not all the time.
This.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 17:18:09
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
USA
|
You will test against the model's base initiative value. Unless it has an attribute or piece of wargear that permanently changes the Initiative value for the model. For example Mark of Slaanesh grants an overall initiative boost to the model for the entire game if purchased, therefore a CSM with this upgrade would only fail Jaws on a 6. However a PF wielding Grey Hunter would still count as regular initiative due to how Unwieldy is worded, the key words being "strikes at" (p43 BRB). So this model would only fail the test on a 5 or a 6 instead of a 2-6.
Now as for halberd the rules will be in the Grey Knights codex. Look at the special rules for the halberd, if it says the model is initiative +2 (unlikely) then you would be testing against I6. However I would count on it saying something along the lines of +2 during the assault phase, or strikes at +2 initiative.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/13 00:21:24
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
UK
|
How would a halberd ever effect I outside of melee? really someones really stretching here trying to justify that against a psychic power.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/13 01:52:57
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
hobojebus wrote:How would a halberd ever effect I outside of melee? really someones really stretching here trying to justify that against a psychic power.
It has no effect on Init, other than changing when the model strikes, just like Unwieldy weapons.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/14 03:19:13
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
also, if the wording on jotww were to say "tests using the models unmodified I value" then you negate ANY bonus to the models initiative from wargear or special rules or whatever the case may be. I don't know the specific wording of the ability, so I can't really say that's the case
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/14 04:41:50
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
you test on unmodified initiative
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/14 05:05:12
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
No you test on the models initiative. If a model is effected by a power that lowers its initiative rather than the initiative it strikes at then you test at that initiative.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/14 05:29:36
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
purging philadelphia
|
So to follow up if you Jaws something that has warp speed cast on it (looking at you tervigon) will it test on its base profile initiative or initiative modified by warp speed?
|
2013 Nova Open Tournament Champ-
2014 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/13th overall
2014 NOVA Open Second to One
2015 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/10th overall
I play:
all the 40k
http://www.teamstompinggrounds.com
https://www.facebook.com/teamsgvideos
http://www.twitch.tv/sgvideo
@teamsgvideo
writer for http://www.torrentoffire.com/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/14 05:40:05
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
that depends on warp speeds effect. If it lasts longer than the player turn or even that player phase then yes the modified value is used.
Look at the old tactic of arjac and jotww, hit something with the thunder hammer throw and then jaws when it was I1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/16 04:14:55
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
if some1 can post the exact wording from the codex, that'll clear it up right then and there as to what it tests on...
it also needs to be mentioned things that "strike at" a specific initiative such as power fists 1 or GK halberds 6, still test at normal initiative.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/16 07:29:24
Subject: Jotww
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It tells you to take an initiative test; nothing further. No requirement for "unmodified", so you use the actual I value you are currently at.
|
|
 |
 |
|