Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 15:14:57
Subject: The Hunter Warjack, a way to measure past control range?
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Kansas City, Missouri
|
So incase you didn't know, i am new so feel free to rip me apart for rules as I am still trying to digest them all. To my understanding you can measure your control range at any time for any reason (like planning on moving a jack within your control range is smart or not) but with the hunter model that area is doubled. Does this actually allow me to measure 24 inches out with a 6 focus caster? I don't plan on doing this because it feels unsporting and like but i feel confident this question may have been asked before me. Thoughts?
|
" I don't lead da Waagh I build it! " - Big-Mek Wurrzog
List of Da Propahly Zogged!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 15:20:32
Subject: Re:The Hunter Warjack, a way to measure past control range?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
The FAQ says:
Extended Range:
When checking to see if this model is in its controller’s control area, double the area.
So you can only measure the range from the warcaster to the hunter.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/13 20:33:37
Subject: Re:The Hunter Warjack, a way to measure past control range?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The hunter doesn't double his controllers control range, it just when determining effects that would require him to be in his casters control range you double it, I.E. Assigning focus and I'm sure a few others but that is all I can think of. The casters control range stays the same.
For example: Say we have Siege with a Hunter and a Defender. Sieges control area is 12 inches. The defender is 8 inches away from Siege and the Hunter is 16 inches away from Siege. For the purposes of Focus assignment, both Warjack's are inside of Siege's control range, but Siege could not cast Foxhole anywhere near the Hunter as Foxhole's AoE needs to remain completely within his control area. Now if say the defender charges something and ends up at 16 inches away from Siege. The Defender is no longer in Sieges control area, and cannot be allocated focus unless Siege moves up.
Hopefully that answers your question
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 02:35:22
Subject: The Hunter Warjack, a way to measure past control range?
|
 |
Satyxis Raider
|
Yes, you can measure to the hunter whenever. Yes, you can use this to gain an advantage if you position the hunter properly.
Realistically it won't really help much as when is your hunter going to be that far upfield from Seige?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 02:42:38
Subject: The Hunter Warjack, a way to measure past control range?
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
You can only measure extended control area when necessary, IIRC.
You can measure Siege's 12" Control Area at all times, but you may not measure the 24".
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 03:03:59
Subject: Re:The Hunter Warjack, a way to measure past control range?
|
 |
Satyxis Raider
|
You also probably want to check the errata. I think you are looking at the card.
http://files.privateerpress.com/op/errata/errata.pdf
And found these infernal rulings that seem pretty clear to me.
http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?108543-Long-leash-and-control-area-measuring&p=1451095&viewfull=1#post1451095
And here
http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?114901-Long-Leash-Extended-Control-Area-clarification&highlight=extended+control+range
So yes, you can measure your control area at any time. And when measuring to a hunter you double that distance.
Think I got everything.  Let me know if I missed something.
|
|
 |
 |
|