Switch Theme:

Librarian in terminator armour  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine





West Yorkshire

Question, can the space marine Librarian in terminator armour, have a storm bolter with combi weapon?

There is president for it as forgeworld sell, or used to, combi flamers for terminators.

The wording in the codex is,

May take the following....

It does not say may take one of the following it sys may take the following,

Thoughts.

P.s. if there has been a similar thread I won't apologise, I couldn't find any on this topic.

   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Ontario, Canada

well I would assume so, the kit comes with a combiplasma

EDIT: wait, did you mean stormbolter with the one shot weapon inside it? if so no.... combiweapon is only bolter and the X weapon

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/12 21:48:51


I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine





West Yorkshire

Well I thought so but the guy running an upcoming tourney event was questioning this option. The model I'm using is the fine cast one with a force staff and what looks like a storm bolter and ombi plasma. It looks too wide to be a standard bolter.

He asked me to put it to the forum to lariat.

Thanks for the reply

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





I would say no, the codex says you replace your standard wargear and may take

a combi
a storm bolter
etc

It doesnt say you can take more then one

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Green Bay

Is this just a case of side-by-side combi weapon? If you could post up a pic of the model in question, that would help.

rigeld2 wrote:
Now go ahead and take that out of context to make me look like a fool.
 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






No. The options for the TDA armor are listed separately for a reason. Either pay the price for the PA options, or upgrade to the TDA options.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Ontario, Canada

so if I cant take it why did they include it in the kit?

I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

BA librarians can take combi-weapons and TDA. It's very clear there and is almost identical to the listing for a vanilla libby.
You cannot have two ranged weapons with a libby in TDA.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/13 05:10:21


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 BewareOfTom wrote:
so if I cant take it why did they include it in the kit?


Why don't they include lascannon upgrades with the Valkyrie kit

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I had the same concern when I bought a finecast tda librarian. It came with a stormbolter with a plasma gun attachment on the side, and a regular stormbolter. I couldnt find any reference for the stormbolter-plasma combi so I just took it to either a mold of older weapon choice or a miscast.

In this case, im guessing its not a miscast and probably just a remnant of older options, since I couldnt find anything that specifically stormbolter combi gun. All I see is its a bolter gun with a combi attachment.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Ontario, Canada

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 BewareOfTom wrote:
so if I cant take it why did they include it in the kit?


Why don't they include lascannon upgrades with the Valkyrie kit


because its GW

I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





http://www.dakkadakka.com/gallery/71552-.html

Like that one? That's not a storm bolter, just a normal combi-plas - side by side instead of over/under.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine





West Yorkshire

Yeah that's the one. It's not the model that's the prob it's the wording in the codex that says may replace with. It doesn't say may replace with one of the following.

   
Made in fi
Rebel_Princess





Finland

Pretty much the same thing with the normal replace boltgun with X. Once you do the first swap, you can't do any other swaps as you have swapped the boltgun away.

Or are you really saying that you can have a librarian with 4 terminator armours, combi-bolter, storm bolter and a storm shield?

Forever a pone. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I have no idea what this thread is even trying to cover...

A Librarian with Terminator armor and a combi-plasma is completely fine.
A Librarian with Terminator armor and a storm-bolter and a combi-plasma is not fine.

"May replace A,B,C and D with Terminator armor and ... a combi-plasma."
You can only make one choice because you no longer have A,B,C and D to trade in for another choice.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine





West Yorkshire

It's quite simple really, read the OP. the confusion arose because the exact words are:

May replace power armour, bolt gun, frag and krak grenades for Terminator armour and:

A storm bolter
A combi flamer, melta or plasma.

Ok the option of replacing your bolt bun with a combi weapon doesn't make sense as you'd have no bolt gun to fasten it to.

I realise it is a grammar error as it suggests you replace the above for one of the following. Meaning you'd replace the bolt gun, armour and grenades for either a combi weapon or storm bolter.

That's where this was going and originated from.

Post answered.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 SpiritOfKantor wrote:
Yeah that's the one. It's not the model that's the prob it's the wording in the codex that says may replace with. It doesn't say may replace with one of the following.


Under terminator armour entry it says you may chose one of the (it includes the no weapon option). At least that is in my SM and BA codex's

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine





West Yorkshire

On page 133, the top codex entry is for HQ, Space Marine Librarian.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 SpiritOfKantor wrote:

May replace power armour, bolt gun, frag and krak grenades for Terminator armour and:

A storm bolter
A combi flamer, melta or plasma.

Ok the option of replacing your bolt bun with a combi weapon doesn't make sense as you'd have no bolt gun to fasten it to.

You do understand that a combi weapon is a boltgun+combi piece, right?
Page 97 of your codex.

I realise it is a grammar error as it suggests you replace the above for one of the following. Meaning you'd replace the bolt gun, armour and grenades for either a combi weapon or storm bolter.

There's no grammar error. You replace A,B,C and D for T and ... (insert choice here). You can't attempt to make another selection without another set of A,B,C and D.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine





West Yorkshire

I get what you say but there is a mistake when it states you can replace the power armour, bolt gun, and grenades for termy armour and:

In my eyes and of others it leaves it open to interpretation as you couldn't replace the bolt gun with a combi plasma etc. the combi is a single shot add on. (Or at lease we thought it was).


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Well that clears it up then, we (our local club) had mistaken the combi part.

Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/13 17:52:16


   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 SpiritOfKantor wrote:
I get what you say but there is a mistake when it states you can replace the power armour, bolt gun, and grenades for termy armour and:

In my eyes and of others it leaves it open to interpretation as you couldn't replace the bolt gun with a combi plasma etc. the combi is a single shot add on. (Or at lease we thought it was).


A combi-plasma is a Boltgun+ 1 use plasmagun

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





It would state any one of the following if it was more then one, it doesnt say that so you cant. It doesnt say you cannot but you cant say you can take it because it isnt excluded.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Just out of curiosity, would you really want to add a storm bolter to your combi-plasma for a whopping +30 points, anyway?
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine





West Yorkshire

A good point.

   
Made in us
Inexperienced VF-1A Valkyrie Brownie





Let me ask to clarify:

Are you and the tournament organizer really arguing that when you upgrade to Terminator Armor that you can't have a combi-weapon because you traded away the bolt gun? A combi-weapon is defined as a bolt gun and a flamer, melta or plasma gun. You're not bolting this thing onto a boltgun.

I would guess that less games get played in your area, as you guys are much busier arguing rules that nobody else thinks are a problem.
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine





West Yorkshire

I don't recall stating that anyone was arguing. It was a rule query and has been answered. End of.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: