| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 16:16:53
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Stormblade
|
If a units shooting wipes out an opposing squad entirely, are you still able to assault that turn?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 16:32:50
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No - you can only charge what you shot. What you shot isn't around.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 16:45:08
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Stormblade
|
That's what I thought. Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 16:47:48
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:No - you can only charge what you shot. What you shot isn't around.
But its a bit of a special circumstance, isn't it? So why not?
I view this no different then not shooting so that you can then assault in the next phase.
I've seen this argued both ways. I'm actually on the fence.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 16:54:44
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds
Houston, TX
|
There is no fence to sit on. P20 (BRB) is very specific on this AND it was FAQ'd last edition.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/15 16:55:17
DS:70S++G+MB+++I+Pw40k01#-D++++A++/mWD279R+T(D)DM+
>Three engineering students were gathered together discussing who must have designed the human body.
>One said, "It was a mechanical engineer. Just look at all the joints."
>Another said, "No, it was an electrical engineer. The nervous system has many thousands of electrical connections."
>The last one said, "No, actually it had to have been a civil engineer.
>Who else would run a toxic waste pipeline through a recreational area.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 17:04:54
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
FenixZero wrote:rigeld2 wrote:No - you can only charge what you shot. What you shot isn't around.
But its a bit of a special circumstance, isn't it? So why not?
I view this no different then not shooting so that you can then assault in the next phase.
Except it is different.
BRB Page 20 wrote:In addition to the above, a unit that fired in the Shooting phase can only charge the unit that it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase.
A unit that doesn't shoot didn't fire in the Shooting phase and therefore did not target anything in the Shooting phase.
A unit that shot and wiped out a unit did fire in the Shooting phase and can only charge the unit it targeted - which doesn't exist anymore.
I've seen this argued both ways. I'm actually on the fence.
Please support the argument with rules then.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 17:35:54
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
FenixZero wrote:rigeld2 wrote:No - you can only charge what you shot. What you shot isn't around.
But its a bit of a special circumstance, isn't it? So why not?
I view this no different then not shooting so that you can then assault in the next phase.
I've seen this argued both ways. I'm actually on the fence.
There's no fence at all on this one. If there were it would be trip layered constantine wire with landmines on top.
The only exception to the rule is if you shoot a transport, pop it, than you can assault the goodies inside.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 18:30:14
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:FenixZero wrote:rigeld2 wrote:No - you can only charge what you shot. What you shot isn't around.
But its a bit of a special circumstance, isn't it? So why not?
I view this no different then not shooting so that you can then assault in the next phase.
I've seen this argued both ways. I'm actually on the fence.
There's no fence at all on this one. If there were it would be trip layered constantine wire with landmines on top.
The only exception to the rule is if you shoot a transport, pop it, than you can assault the goodies inside.
That is the logic that I heard for assaulting a different unit after killing a unit in the shooting phase.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/15 18:30:27
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 18:31:58
Subject: Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Then that logic is bunk. there is a specific exception for the former, not for what you are proposing in general.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 18:43:29
Subject: Re:Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
There is no fence and hasn't been for a couple editions.
If you shoot at something you can only charge that same something. If that something doesn't exist anymore, thats how the cookie crumbles.
The only exception is you are allowed to assault the passangers of a transport you shot in the shooting phase.
So if you shoot a Rhino in the shooting phase, and in the shooting phase the Rhino is destroyed and the passangers disembark, you can assault the passangers(even if you weren't the ones to actually wreck/explode the Rhino)
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 18:55:16
Subject: Re:Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Grey Templar wrote:The only exception is you are allowed to assault the passangers of a transport you shot in the shooting phase.
You can multi assault many units if you declare it and can follow all rules for a charge and assault phase. Except when the primary(target shot at) is no longer there.
|
I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/16 00:35:10
Subject: Re:Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Goat wrote: Grey Templar wrote:The only exception is you are allowed to assault the passangers of a transport you shot in the shooting phase.
You can multi assault many units if you declare it and can follow all rules for a charge and assault phase. Except when the primary(target shot at) is no longer there.
Even if this were allowed, the "Move Initial Charger" fails because the Primary Target does not exist, therefore the charge fails (p28).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/16 00:39:34
Subject: Re:Shooting and Assaulting
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Snapshot wrote: Goat wrote: Grey Templar wrote:The only exception is you are allowed to assault the passangers of a transport you shot in the shooting phase.
You can multi assault many units if you declare it and can follow all rules for a charge and assault phase. Except when the primary(target shot at) is no longer there.
Even if this were allowed, the "Move Initial Charger" fails because the Primary Target does not exist, therefore the charge fails (p28).
Indeed, makes sense. Not seeing how people are trying to charge if the unit is no longer there.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|