Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 04:57:10
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes
|
I'm sincerely confused by the rules as written about fliers entering from reserve. It says that any unit entering from reserve would move on the board as a normal move. However, I'm reading that in a turn in which a flyer entered the board from reserve, it can do so facing any direction it wishes.
Does this mean that i can move 18" onto my own table edge from reserve and then face my flyer at my own table edge?
First time with fliers, not sure exactly what the rules are.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 06:00:21
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You can't do that because you cannot change the facing of the flyer after it moves (exception: Vector Dancer). In practice, a standard flyer can enter the table at very steep angles, but must still be facing forwards to some degree, so that it can get on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 06:22:12
Subject: Re:Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes
|
Cool, thanks for the response
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 14:57:46
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Stormblade
|
Pyrian wrote:You can't do that because you cannot change the facing of the flyer after it moves (exception: Vector Dancer). In practice, a standard flyer can enter the table at very steep angles, but must still be facing forwards to some degree, so that it can get on the table.
I don't see why you can't face your own table edge.
There is no indication that the flyer must be facing forward. Flyers can come in any direction.
The only limitation that the flyer has in this situation is that in the next resulting move will not carry the flyer off the board.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/19 14:58:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:13:26
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
sounddemon wrote:Pyrian wrote:You can't do that because you cannot change the facing of the flyer after it moves (exception: Vector Dancer). In practice, a standard flyer can enter the table at very steep angles, but must still be facing forwards to some degree, so that it can get on the table.
I don't see why you can't face your own table edge.
There is no indication that the flyer must be facing forward. Flyers can come in any direction.
The only limitation that the flyer has in this situation is that in the next resulting move will not carry the flyer off the board.
The flyer comes on from your table edge. It flies forward from some point on your edge. It cannot turn until its next movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:23:44
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Indeed. The flier may ONLY turn up to 90 degrees, BEFORE it has moved.
So, fliers come in from the table edge, which is specified in the rulebook deployment types, in a straight line. It is not possible in the standard deployments to have the flier face your own table edge.
(not counting the vector dancer rules, as mentioned)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:24:22
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Stormblade
|
Ah that makes sense now.
Spoke to early.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/19 15:25:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:24:29
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Devil's advocate - where in the rules does it say that Flyers must fly forwards? Automatically Appended Next Post: sounddemon wrote:I don't understand why the flyer must face forward. Is the flyer limited to only moving with 90 degrees when coming from the board?
Flyers can only turn before movement.
No one is saying they must move perpendicular to your table edge, but they must not turn after arriving on the field.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/19 15:25:11
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:26:11
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You pivot the flyer then move forward.
If you face the edge.. You'd move away from the table without moving on to it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:28:25
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Stormblade
|
rigeld2 wrote:Devil's advocate - where in the rules does it say that Flyers must fly forwards?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
sounddemon wrote:I don't understand why the flyer must face forward. Is the flyer limited to only moving with 90 degrees when coming from the board?
Flyers can only turn before movement.
No one is saying they must move perpendicular to your table edge, but they must not turn after arriving on the field.
I understand that. I was under the notion that the flyer pivots before it moves and regardless of the positioning it could have its rear facing the opposite table edge. Since the flyer comes in anyway from reserve. Automatically Appended Next Post: sounddemon wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Devil's advocate - where in the rules does it say that Flyers must fly forwards?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
sounddemon wrote:I don't understand why the flyer must face forward. Is the flyer limited to only moving with 90 degrees when coming from the board?
Flyers can only turn before movement.
No one is saying they must move perpendicular to your table edge, but they must not turn after arriving on the field.
I understand that. I was under the notion that the flyer pivots before it moves and regardless of the positioning it could have its rear facing the opposite table edge. Since the flyer comes in anyway from reserve.
That's what ended up changing my conclusion on the whole matter.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/19 15:29:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:46:08
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
rigeld2 wrote:Devil's advocate - where in the rules does it say that Flyers must fly forwards?
To answer my own question:
BRB 80 wrote:Thereafter, it must move directly forwards in a straight line.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:46:42
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot
|
Would it be legal to have it facing your side of the board so it flies right off back into ongoing reserves?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:52:58
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
reiner wrote:Would it be legal to have it facing your side of the board so it flies right off back into ongoing reserves?
No, as you pivot before moving and then must move forwards.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 15:57:02
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Green Bay
|
Do all flyers have deep strike? I know the necron ones do.
If it has deep strike, you could deep strike it in facing your edge.
|
rigeld2 wrote: Now go ahead and take that out of context to make me look like a fool. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 16:24:36
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
nolzur wrote:Do all flyers have deep strike? I know the necron ones do.
If it has deep strike, you could deep strike it in facing your edge.
That's not the same as what is being discussed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 16:29:49
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
sounddemon wrote:The only limitation that the flyer has in this situation is that in the next resulting move will not carry the flyer off the board.
I actually wondered about this. Is it in fact illegal to bring a flier in from reserve, and then immediately fly it off the table?
I would check myself... but... my rulebook is kinda propping up a cable to my PC screen so that it actually functions ;P
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 17:30:52
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Stormblade
|
Kharrak wrote: sounddemon wrote:The only limitation that the flyer has in this situation is that in the next resulting move will not carry the flyer off the board.
I actually wondered about this. Is it in fact illegal to bring a flier in from reserve, and then immediately fly it off the table?
I would check myself... but... my rulebook is kinda propping up a cable to my PC screen so that it actually functions ;P
Yep its illegal. You cannot go back into reserve the same turn you arrive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 17:48:45
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
sounddemon wrote: Kharrak wrote: sounddemon wrote:The only limitation that the flyer has in this situation is that in the next resulting move will not carry the flyer off the board.
I actually wondered about this. Is it in fact illegal to bring a flier in from reserve, and then immediately fly it off the table?
I would check myself... but... my rulebook is kinda propping up a cable to my PC screen so that it actually functions ;P
Yep its illegal. You cannot go back into reserve the same turn you arrive.
No, you can't go back into reserves in the same "movement" that you arrived from reserves. You could still flat-out back into ongoing reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 17:58:40
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Ah, so while you DO have a way of not having your flier gored down by the enemies as soon as it comes in (unless they do the same), it's a tad trickier to avoid those ADL with QG's.
Thanks much!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/19 17:58:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 18:13:12
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Stormblade
|
Kharrak wrote:Ah, so while you DO have a way of not having your flier gored down by the enemies as soon as it comes in (unless they do the same), it's a tad trickier to avoid those ADL with QG's.
Thanks much!
This never popped in my mind. I'm definitely going to use this tactic now.
Thanks. Kevin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 22:01:19
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Green Bay
|
Kevin949 wrote: nolzur wrote:Do all flyers have deep strike? I know the necron ones do.
If it has deep strike, you could deep strike it in facing your edge.
That's not the same as what is being discussed.
Thank you for your insightful post. I was not responding to all the discussion, but to the OP. He asked if it was possible to come in and then face your own board edge. I gave an example of how you could do it. Please go away if you are not going to participate in the discussion.
|
rigeld2 wrote: Now go ahead and take that out of context to make me look like a fool. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 22:45:28
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
Slightly off topic but still related...
Do units "inside" a flyer at the beginning of the game count towards the minimum 50% on the battlefield rule?
I can't imagine they do. Page number anyone?
Thanks!
|
Lady Luck may be fickle, but she loves a man who tries and tries again. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 23:03:38
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
They do not, it's in the BRB FAQ.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/19 23:24:53
Subject: Flyers Arriving from reserve?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
nolzur wrote: Kevin949 wrote: nolzur wrote:Do all flyers have deep strike? I know the necron ones do.
If it has deep strike, you could deep strike it in facing your edge.
That's not the same as what is being discussed.
Thank you for your insightful post. I was not responding to all the discussion, but to the OP. He asked if it was possible to come in and then face your own board edge. I gave an example of how you could do it. Please go away if you are not going to participate in the discussion.
I've participated in the discussion, and the first sentence of the OP's thread opener is referencing "entering the board normally". Deep striking is not a normal move.
I wasn't meaning to discount your involvement, but adding in a layer of complexity to a discussion that is referencing "all flyers" and not "flyers with deep strike" was unnecessary to the topic.
One could also have said "if you outflank with your flyer, you could do it". While it is correct, it's still not in conjunction with the topic.
|
|
 |
 |
|