Switch Theme:

Drop Pod Assault, Daemonic Assault, and what ever it is that DA do.......  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






If you have a unit deploying with Drop Pod Assault, or any of the other various turn one DS, do they count as coming in from reserves for the purposes of shooting them with intercepter, or "I've been expecting you!"?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 WolvesForTheWolfGod wrote:
If you have a unit deploying with Drop Pod Assault, or any of the other various turn one DS, do they count as coming in from reserves for the purposes of shooting them with intercepter, or "I've been expecting you!"?



Yes. In each case it states they're in reserves IIRC.

For Drop pods and Daemons I'm 100% on.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 WolvesForTheWolfGod wrote:
If you have a unit deploying with Drop Pod Assault, or any of the other various turn one DS, do they count as coming in from reserves for the purposes of shooting them with intercepter, or "I've been expecting you!"?

I have heard it argued that you don't get to intercept, as that is a form of deployment.

Because the half that are engaging in the Drop Pod Assualt (for example) aren't actually in reserves, as you dont have to roll for reserves for them to come in.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

They absolutely are in Reserves. It's why the rules and FAQs have had to state that they don't count towards the 50% limit for normal Reserves. If they weren't Reserves at all, that clarification wouldn't be needed.
The DA's Deathwing Assault counts too.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





FenixZero wrote:
 WolvesForTheWolfGod wrote:
If you have a unit deploying with Drop Pod Assault, or any of the other various turn one DS, do they count as coming in from reserves for the purposes of shooting them with intercepter, or "I've been expecting you!"?

I have heard it argued that you don't get to intercept, as that is a form of deployment.

Because the half that are engaging in the Drop Pod Assualt (for example) aren't actually in reserves, as you dont have to roll for reserves for them to come in.

All of the turn 1 abilities say that you're in Reserves, just that you come in turn one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




FenixZero wrote:
 WolvesForTheWolfGod wrote:
If you have a unit deploying with Drop Pod Assault, or any of the other various turn one DS, do they count as coming in from reserves for the purposes of shooting them with intercepter, or "I've been expecting you!"?

I have heard it argued that you don't get to intercept, as that is a form of deployment.
Because the half that are engaging in the Drop Pod Assualt (for example) aren't actually in reserves, as you dont have to roll for reserves for them to come in.
It is very poor argument. Everyone arriving from reserves is technically 'deploying'. For interceptor and IBEY the question is: Did the unit arrive from reserve? Answer in all those cases is yes.
Edit: And those units are explicitly in reserves. As rigeld2 said, the rules do say so.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/25 13:39:31


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




FenixZero wrote:
 WolvesForTheWolfGod wrote:
If you have a unit deploying with Drop Pod Assault, or any of the other various turn one DS, do they count as coming in from reserves for the purposes of shooting them with intercepter, or "I've been expecting you!"?

I have heard it argued that you don't get to intercept, as that is a form of deployment.

Because the half that are engaging in the Drop Pod Assualt (for example) aren't actually in reserves, as you dont have to roll for reserves for them to come in.


Which is an appallingly poor argument, given every single "turn 1" ability specifies they are in Reserves to start with. Only by entirely ignoring the written rules can you argue the contrary
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






Thank you! We saw the faq, but wanted some more feedback.
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Out of my Mind

What counts as 'Arriving from Reserve'?

Is it everything that is in Reserve? Or is it everything that follows the pattern outlined on in the Reserves rules?

It's just as valid of an argument to say that units arriving by 'Drop Pod Assault', 'Demon Assault', 'Deathwing Assault' are arriving by those methods and not arriving from Reserves. None of their individual methods in the codex references that they are arriving from reserve. Not that they should, since they were all written where at a time when this wasn't even an issue.

Clarify with your opponent before the game begins, if that won't settle it, then dice off. If it's a Tourney, then check with the TO. Life as usual.

Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




:( I felt that we were denied a chance to shoot at the marines, but the guy that we were playing was pretty sure you couldn't.

I didn't argue it because I am few new to the hobby, and he is a long time vet.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Akar wrote:
What counts as 'Arriving from Reserve'?

Is it everything that is in Reserve? Or is it everything that follows the pattern outlined on in the Reserves rules?

It's just as valid of an argument to say that units arriving by 'Drop Pod Assault', 'Demon Assault', 'Deathwing Assault' are arriving by those methods and not arriving from Reserves. None of their individual methods in the codex references that they are arriving from reserve. Not that they should, since they were all written where at a time when this wasn't even an issue.

Clarify with your opponent before the game begins, if that won't settle it, then dice off. If it's a Tourney, then check with the TO. Life as usual.


Drop Pod/Daemonic/Deathwing Assaults all clearly state the models are in Reserve. I'd they are not arriving from reserves, where are they coming from?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Akar wrote:
What counts as 'Arriving from Reserve'?

Is it everything that is in Reserve? Or is it everything that follows the pattern outlined on in the Reserves rules?

It's just as valid of an argument to say that units arriving by 'Drop Pod Assault', 'Demon Assault', 'Deathwing Assault' are arriving by those methods and not arriving from Reserves. None of their individual methods in the codex references that they are arriving from reserve. Not that they should, since they were all written where at a time when this wasn't even an issue.

Clarify with your opponent before the game begins, if that won't settle it, then dice off. If it's a Tourney, then check with the TO. Life as usual.


Read the respective codex entries; they state they're in reserve, and or come from reserve automatically on T1.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Drop pods in vanilla marines dont mention reserve in their entry.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





40k-noob wrote:
Drop pods in vanilla marines dont mention reserve in their entry.

Their entry says that they always enter play using the Deep Strike mission special rules.
Which means they must start in Reserve.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Drop pods in vanilla marines dont mention reserve in their entry.

Their entry says that they always enter play using the Deep Strike mission special rules.
Which means they must start in Reserve.


So the Ghostwalk mantle for Obyron can DS and he can use it while not in reserves. Is he breaking the rules then?
Or does everytime a unit/model uses deep strike they count as having arrived from reserves?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/26 16:43:47


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





40k-noob wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Drop pods in vanilla marines dont mention reserve in their entry.

Their entry says that they always enter play using the Deep Strike mission special rules.
Which means they must start in Reserve.


So the Ghostwalk mantle for Obyron can DS and he can use it while not in reserves. Is he breaking the rules then?

It's almost like if something gives a specific exception that they're special.
Or does everytime a unit/model uses deep strike they count as having arrived from reserves?

No.

You don't deploy the Pods. Your only option when not deploying is Reserves. Since they must enter play (aka deploy) by the Deep Strike rules, they must not deploy and are therefore in Reserves.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Drop pods in vanilla marines dont mention reserve in their entry.

Their entry says that they always enter play using the Deep Strike mission special rules.
Which means they must start in Reserve.


So the Ghostwalk mantle for Obyron can DS and he can use it while not in reserves. Is he breaking the rules then?

It's almost like if something gives a specific exception that they're special.


Exactly. The codex for vanilla marines does the same thing for Drop pods now doesn't it?
Because if you notice, they do not have Deep Strike as a special rule, they have Drop Pod Assault that lets them deploy using deep strike rules, same as Obyron.

They never say they are in reserve, just that they enter play using DS rules. So the half the must deploy 1st turn are entering play using deep strike rules, but are not in reserve.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





40k-noob wrote:
They never say they are in reserve, just that they enter play using DS rules. So the half the must deploy 1st turn are entering play using deep strike rules, but are not in reserve.

Cite the allowance to not be in Reserve.
They cannot be deployed with the rest of the army. The only other option is Reserve.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
They never say they are in reserve, just that they enter play using DS rules. So the half the must deploy 1st turn are entering play using deep strike rules, but are not in reserve.

Cite the allowance to not be in Reserve.
They cannot be deployed with the rest of the army. The only other option is Reserve.


They also do not deploy/enter the game like Reserves.

The special rule doesn't say they are in Reserve like other Dex's, they don't have the DS USR and must enter play in turn 1. Sure seems like an exception to me.

Honestly I don't what to call it, but can you make the claim they are arriving from Reserves on turn 1 for the purposes of Interceptor or for that matter Nemesor PR? For Drop Pods, seems to me like there is some wiggle room to say, no they are not.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





40k-noob wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
They never say they are in reserve, just that they enter play using DS rules. So the half the must deploy 1st turn are entering play using deep strike rules, but are not in reserve.

Cite the allowance to not be in Reserve.
They cannot be deployed with the rest of the army. The only other option is Reserve.


They also do not deploy/enter the game like Reserves.

The special rule doesn't say they are in Reserve like other Dex's, they don't have the DS USR and must enter play in turn 1. Sure seems like an exception to me.

Honestly I don't what to call it, but can you make the claim they are arriving from Reserves on turn 1 for the purposes of Interceptor or for that matter Nemesor PR? For Drop Pods, seems to me like there is some wiggle room to say, no they are not.


The only wiggle room would be something that allows them to not be deployed before the game starts, and also not be in Reserve.
The only option to not be deployed is to be in Reserves. There's nothing in the DPA rules contesting that.

Technically the DPA rules don't do anything - they reference the Deep Strike mission special rule, which doesn't exist anymore. It's been folded into the - guess what - Reserves special rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator



Durham, UK

Space Marine Codex, page 69:
"Drop Pods always enter play using the Deep Strike rules"

40k Rulebook, page 36:
"In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule and the unit must start the game in Reserve."

So, anything that comes on by Deep Strike is in Reserve. And yes, weapons with Interceptor can therefore shoot them on Turn 1.

   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





McKenzie, TN

Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or Mycetic Spore, count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been Expecting You special rule? (p45)
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be able to fire once at each unit.

Specifically "I've been expecting you" definitely works according to the Grey Knights FAQ.
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

Well, when the game started and they were not on the board, where were they?

Is there some other magical place other than reserves that they were hanging out at?

 
   
Made in fr
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle






Wouldn't it be logical that an AA gun can shoot an incoming droppod? But I guess it would be less logical that it could "intercept" and demon materializing from the warp out of thin air? I play both Marines and Daemons and personally I think it is fine to shoot the pods, but I think anyone insisting of having a go at every demon i deploy is just TFG.

3000+
3000+
2500+
2500+
1000+
1500+
1000+ 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

aliusexalio wrote:
Wouldn't it be logical that an AA gun can shoot an incoming droppod? But I guess it would be less logical that it could "intercept" and demon materializing from the warp out of thin air? I play both Marines and Daemons and personally I think it is fine to shoot the pods, but I think anyone insisting of having a go at every demon i deploy is just TFG.


Ignoring for a moment that you'd only be allowed to shoot one unit per turn anyway, how is it TFG to play according to the (in this case extremely clear) rules?

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

aliusexalio wrote:
Wouldn't it be logical that an AA gun can shoot an incoming droppod? But I guess it would be less logical that it could "intercept" and demon materializing from the warp out of thin air? I play both Marines and Daemons and personally I think it is fine to shoot the pods, but I think anyone insisting of having a go at every demon i deploy is just TFG.


It is not at every daemon you deploy, you get one shot (or 4 shots for a quad gun) per turn you arrive.

 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Look this is very simple, any model not on the board at the start of the game is in reserve.
Secondly one blast of a quad gun isn't that big a deal tbh, instead of getting shot during their turn they shoot you now and it's only 1 unit that can be targeted.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

It's worth noting that Coteaz' rule is not just one unit, it can be used against every unit that arrives from reserves in the rule's range. So THAT could wind up being vicious in the wrong circumstances.

But, liturgies (and others) are correct. You are told to deploy your forces in your deployment zone at the start of the game. Anything that you do not place at that time *MUST* be declared as reserves. How it later arrives is irrelevant for the purposes of both Interceptor and I've Been Expecting You!.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: