Switch Theme:

Space Marines Combat Tactics with Allies  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in es
Fresh-Faced New User




Is a Independent Character in a allied unit able to use Combat Tactics rule, and autofail a moral test he is going to make?.
   
Made in ca
Yellin' Yoof




Canada

I unfortunately do not have a space marine codex handy. But my gut feeling would be to allow that rule to be given to a unit, it actually makes more sense than Space Marine ICs giving 'And they shall know no fear' to their unit. I totally see a SM captain yelling 'Tactical retreat! Maintain order!'.

But gut feelings asides, let's look at precedents: If you look at the alternatives to 'combat tactics', which can be given to other units, and which cannot? That'll give us some precedents to look at. Please share your finds, I'm actually curious what 'stock' marines can pick.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/26 14:28:58


 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

I would say, no they don't confer it.
The rulebook mentions that Universal Special Rules are granted by ICs to units that they join - however, Combat Tactics isn't a USR, it's a codex-specific rule. It has no such allowance.

Another key distinction here is that when taking Leadership tests, the unit is only given permission to use the highest Leadership in the unit. There's no allowance to be granted Leadership-related rules as well, so it's not as though the IC can use the ability to take the test on behalf of the unit either.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






 Super Ready wrote:
I would say, no they don't confer it.
The rulebook mentions that Universal Special Rules are granted by ICs to units that they join - however, Combat Tactics isn't a USR, it's a codex-specific rule. It has no such allowance.

Another key distinction here is that when taking Leadership tests, the unit is only given permission to use the highest Leadership in the unit. There's no allowance to be granted Leadership-related rules as well, so it's not as though the IC can use the ability to take the test on behalf of the unit either.


USRs don't really exist anymore, so I'm not sure where you are getting rules that delineate the Special Rules in the core rulebook from those listed elsewhere.

Either way, it's pretty clear cut in the Independent Character rule, "Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn special rule), the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character, and the Independent Character's special rules are not conferred upon the unit."

The character certainly doesn't confer the rule to the unit, but at the same time, he doesn't lose the special rule simply for the unit not having it.

The question then is, does a unit where a single model has a certain special rule constitute a unit which has said special rule.

edit: Upon further examination of the rule I would conclude that no, another unit can't benefit from having a SM IC inserted.

The rule specifies "A non-fearless Space Marine unit with this special rule can choose..." (emphasis mine)

In lieu of any phrase specifying that a "Space Marine unit" constitutes anything other than units selected from Codex: Space Marines (as is done in the chaos codex) I feel there is no choice but to assume that is the case, in which instance, the fact that the IC counts as a member of that unit for all purposes, and the unit was not chosen from Codex: Space Marines, means that the only logical conclusion is it is not a Space Marine unit and therefore cannot use Combat Tactics, even if it is considered to be a unit that has Combat Tactics.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/27 05:33:22


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: