Switch Theme:

Necron Question Regarding Imotekh  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

Hello,

I was working on a Necron list including Imotekh, and this thought ran through my head.

Imotekh's Lord of the Storm rule dictates how night fighting and lightning work with him in one's force. However, it does not state whether or not Imotekh must be on the board at the start of a game for these to take affect.

Is it possible to have Imotekh in a Night Scythe in reserve and still have lightning blast one's foes?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Dr. What wrote:
Hello,

I was working on a Necron list including Imotekh, and this thought ran through my head.

Imotekh's Lord of the Storm rule dictates how night fighting and lightning work with him in one's force. However, it does not state whether or not Imotekh must be on the board at the start of a game for these to take affect.

Is it possible to have Imotekh in a Night Scythe in reserve and still have lightning blast one's foes?


I think this is still debated. It would be in effect in turn 1. I'm of the personal opinion that it continues until you fail the roll (and no other night fighting is in effect), regardless to him being on the board or not. But that's just my stance going off what the codex says and all. *Shrug*

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/27 00:27:40


 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

 Kevin949 wrote:
Dr. What wrote:
Hello,

I was working on a Necron list including Imotekh, and this thought ran through my head.

Imotekh's Lord of the Storm rule dictates how night fighting and lightning work with him in one's force. However, it does not state whether or not Imotekh must be on the board at the start of a game for these to take affect.

Is it possible to have Imotekh in a Night Scythe in reserve and still have lightning blast one's foes?


I think this is still debated. It would be in effect in turn 1. I'm of the personal opinion that it continues until you fail the roll (and no other night fighting is in effect), regardless to him being on the board or not. But that's just my stance going off what the codex says and all. *Shrug*


I feel that from a fluff point, Imotekh could be a bit away, and the storm foreshadows his coming, so it should be accpetable, but I'm not sure...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The FAQ that allowed the chrono to work on the "lightning" roll turned the army wide roll into one made by IMotekh (otherwise the Chrono doesnt work on it) - and you dont get to roll while in reserve unless specifically told you can
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Yeah, prior to the FAQ, the lightning was just an effect that triggered if Imotekh was in your army. Post FAQ, the waters have been rather muddied.

I'm still happy to play it that the effect triggers regardless of if he's on the table or not - but it's likely safer and more accurate (RaW) to only allow it when he's on the table.
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

I just called GW (the guy's name was Andrew) to ask.

The guy said that if Imotekh is in reserve, then his lightning still strikes.

Feel free to investigate further.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




PLease read the tenets of the forum
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Dr. What wrote:
I just called GW (the guy's name was Andrew) to ask.

The guy said that if Imotekh is in reserve, then his lightning still strikes.

Feel free to investigate further.


2. The only official sources of information are the current rulebooks and the Games Workshop FAQs. Emails from Askyourquestion@games-workshop.com are technically official, but they are easily spoofed and should not be relied on.

Basically it's wasted breath in any forum on dakka.

   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




And if you ask the same question twice from them, you often get two completely different answers.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






If I keep a Space Marine Captain in reserve, am I allowed to use his orbital bombardment? Probably not. If my Swarmlord isn't on the field, do I still get bonuses to reserve rolls? Probably not.

How we play it is if the model is not on the field, it's powers aren't active. You want night-fighting and lightning? Put him on the field. Holding him in reserve is just cheese to frustrate your opponent (and not in a good way)
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
If my Swarmlord isn't on the field, do I still get bonuses to reserve rolls? Probably not.

So the Swarmlord isn't alive in Reserve? That's the only requirement for Alien Cunning.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Like I said, we play it like this: you want the cool rules that some model brings, then put the model on the table. No risk, no reward.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
Like I said, we play it like this: you want the cool rules that some model brings, then put the model on the table. No risk, no reward.


That's great for how you play it, but this is a rules discussion board not a hywpi board.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Since his rule doesn't say "whether on the table or not" it does become a HIWPI discussion. Hence the reason it has been discussed before...

Now consider this: the Emperor's Champion grants an army-wide rule, in effect, adding a rule to thw models on the board. Then, if he were in reserve, the rule would apply, as it goes on to models on the board. However, Imotekh himself is generating an effect on the field. He should be on the field to generate it. Otherwise it could work even after his death.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/28 18:55:54


 
   
Made in gb
Proud Triarch Praetorian





Ok, change the scenario: Hes in a transport. Not "on" the field, but not in reserve or dead.

Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
Since his rule doesn't say "whether on the table or not" it does become a HIWPI discussion. Hence the reason it has been discussed before...

Now consider this: the Emperor's Champion grants an army-wide rule, in effect, adding a rule to thw models on the board. Then, if he were in reserve, the rule would apply, as it goes on to models on the board. However, Imotekh himself is generating an effect on the field. He should be on the field to generate it. Otherwise it could work even after his death.


You're right, they don't say that, they say "if your army includes". Which is much more encompassing then "on the field or not". The FAQ even maintains this wording.
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Green Bay

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
If I keep a Space Marine Captain in reserve, am I allowed to use his orbital bombardment?


I would have to say no, as he does not have orbital bombardment.

rigeld2 wrote:
Now go ahead and take that out of context to make me look like a fool.
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Triarch Praetorian





 nolzur wrote:
 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
If I keep a Space Marine Captain in reserve, am I allowed to use his orbital bombardment?


I would have to say no, as he does not have orbital bombardment.
That is the definition of Irony... [/sarcasm]

Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k  
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

Could we draw precedent from Imotekh's Grand Strategist rule and the FAQ that goes with it?

It says (paraphrasing) that if Imotekh is in the list, you can seize on a 4+ (except if the opponent has any Orks on the field).
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No,becayuse the chrono answer made it Imotekhs roll.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: