Switch Theme:

Artillery in vehicles?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Can artillery embark on vehicles? If so how much space do they take up? Thanks in advance.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Only Infantry can embark, unless stated otherwise.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




The Codex: Space Marines Thunderfire Cannon is allowed to take a Drop Pod. The codex doesn't say how many spaces it takes up although you have to assume at least the Techmarine operator fits in the same transport. No idea what happens if an IC wished to join them - as said the unit entries don't state how many spots it takes.

edit: can't find the TFC in the unit listings at the back of the 6th rulebook either.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/27 16:24:26


 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




TFC uses the BRB artillery rules stat line pg 46 thats why its not in the back of the book.

Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING!  
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Spetulhu wrote:
The Codex: Space Marines Thunderfire Cannon is allowed to take a Drop Pod. The codex doesn't say how many spaces it takes up although you have to assume at least the Techmarine operator fits in the same transport. No idea what happens if an IC wished to join them - as said the unit entries don't state how many spots it takes.
Oh, it might be allowed to take a Drop Pod as dedicated transport. But according to rules, it may never embark on it. Edit: upps, didn't read the Drop Pod rule. It actually states: It can transport single Dreadnought or TFC.

HWIPI is make TFC count as Extremely Bulky, so 5 models worth of capacity.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/28 12:46:33


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Luide wrote:
Spetulhu wrote:
The Codex: Space Marines Thunderfire Cannon is allowed to take a Drop Pod. The codex doesn't say how many spaces it takes up although you have to assume at least the Techmarine operator fits in the same transport. No idea what happens if an IC wished to join them - as said the unit entries don't state how many spots it takes.
Oh, it might be allowed to take a Drop Pod as dedicated transport. But according to rules, it may never embark on it.
HWIPI is make TFC count as Extremely Bulky, so 5 models worth of capacity.

C:SM Drop Pods specify they can carry TFCs, so it's permitted to embark. It doesn't have the Bulky rule, so RAW you can join as many ICs to the unit as you want.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Uups, you're correct.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Well no, you'd eventually fill up the drop pod if you added more IC's than it's transport capacity allows for. (note: this is extremely unlikely, but possible).

As written, a model takes up one space on any transport they are allowed to embark on unless there is a rule that states otherwise. (like the bulky USR)
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Good question, I always assumed 12 men, a dread or a TFC. No adding on ICs...

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Neorealist wrote:
Well no, you'd eventually fill up the drop pod if you added more IC's than it's transport capacity allows for. (note: this is extremely unlikely, but possible).

The Transport capacity is 1 TFC or 10 infantry. Since infinite number of IC's is still 1 TFC unit, it fits.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I am more talking about a set of big guns in a battle wagon, I couldn't find any answers for my self in the book so I posted it here, Thanks.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

True, however, does it not say that capacity is 10 infantry, 1 dreadnought OR 1 TFC?

If so, it can hold the cannon and nothing else.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Happyjew wrote:
True, however, does it not say that capacity is 10 infantry, 1 dreadnought OR 1 TFC?

If so, it can hold the cannon and nothing else.

The TFC must refer to the unit as a whole (and not just the model, since they're called the same thing) - since the unit includes the Techmarine.
Therefore an IC can join the unit and be part of the unit, not changing it from a TFC unit.
Continue for infinite ICs that are still a TFC unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: