Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 02:08:17
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
We are discussing this on our local meta forum.
On the first round of a combat does Kharn get to re-roll his 1's to hit due to hatred or can he not because he is "hitting" a member of his own team?
Hatred says you re-roll misses.
My take is because of the codex entry wording of substituting your discards you proceed as follows:
Roll to hit, consolidate hits, re-roll misses, consolidate hits, discard misses (assign to squad mates)
What is your take?
|
6000 Pts. Word Bearers
750 Pts. Daemons
1000 Pts. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 03:18:56
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Roll to hit, re-roll misses. Any attacks that miss again go against his squad, as when you re-roll you basically ignore the first result (some exceptions apply).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 03:38:44
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Yet "they automatically hit a friendly model" I could see both sides of the argument.
However I'd side with re-rolling of the 1s due to hatred.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 04:05:25
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
also it would seem even the "automatic" hit to the friendly model is also a miss because of his weapon can never hit automatically. See Gorechild pg 59 of codex.
go figure /shrugs/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 04:07:06
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Doesn't his rule say he can never reroll those 1s for any reason? Or was that last codex?
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 04:09:39
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Grey Templar wrote:Doesn't his rule say he can never reroll those 1s for any reason? Or was that last codex?
Certainly not the new codex
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 07:13:01
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
I'd say no, he cannot reroll the roll of 1 because it did not miss, unless he is on his own.
Gorechild's rule states that it hits on a 2+. The Betrayer rule states that on a To Hit roll of 1, he automatically hits a friendly model. The attacks have not "missed", so do not trigger Hatred (they "missed" their intended target, but as far as the rules are concerned, all of his attacks have hit).
Of course, if there are no friendly models within 6" then any rolls of 1 are misses so can be rerolled.
(No page references as I only own the digital codex and the page numbers are different.)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 16:13:53
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Cheexsta wrote:I'd say no, he cannot reroll the roll of 1 because it did not miss, unless he is on his own.
Gorechild's rule states that it hits on a 2+. The Betrayer rule states that on a To Hit roll of 1, he automatically hits a friendly model. The attacks have not "missed", so do not trigger Hatred (they "missed" their intended target, but as far as the rules are concerned, all of his attacks have hit).
Of course, if there are no friendly models within 6" then any rolls of 1 are misses so can be rerolled.
(No page references as I only own the digital codex and the page numbers are different.)
You skipped the do not discard, instead the automatically hit part.
You would simply reroll the misses before you would discard the roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 16:48:33
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Cheexsta wrote:I'd say no, he cannot reroll the roll of 1 because it did not miss, unless he is on his own.
Gorechild's rule states that it hits on a 2+. The Betrayer rule states that on a To Hit roll of 1, he automatically hits a friendly model. The attacks have not "missed", so do not trigger Hatred (they "missed" their intended target, but as far as the rules are concerned, all of his attacks have hit).
Of course, if there are no friendly models within 6" then any rolls of 1 are misses so can be rerolled.
(No page references as I only own the digital codex and the page numbers are different.)
Your first sentence contradicts the rest of your statement. Gorechild rule says: "Kharn's melee attacks always hit on 2+ (even if they would otherwise hit automatically)" so, if you roll a 1 what is it? it is certanly not a hit because it isn't a 2+, otherwise it would be worded Kharn's melee attacks always hit. This allows you to reroll due to hatred or any other rule, after you get the results of the roll you apply the betrayer.
|
CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 16:49:30
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
If it says to discard the 1's or not I don't feel thats relavent to the situation. As long as anywhere in the rules it says those 1's hit something, anything, than they are hits. Clearly if he's alone they get rerolled.
|
I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 17:03:21
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Goat wrote:If it says to discard the 1's or not I don't feel thats relavent to the situation. As long as anywhere in the rules it says those 1's hit something, anything, than they are hits. Clearly if he's alone they get rerolled.
They do, after they get rerolled. You must first roll to hit, is you get a 1 it is a miss no matter how you see it. If it always hits on 2+ rolling a 1 isn't a hit. After determining which attacks hit, your pick up the ones and they become automatic hits to your side.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/28 17:03:46
CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 19:00:08
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You hit on a 2+; it is an excluded middle fallacy to state that the roll of a 1 is a miss.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 22:06:38
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:You skipped the do not discard, instead the automatically hit part.
You would simply reroll the misses before you would discard the roll.
That's probably the best argument in favour of the reroll, IMHO. At the very least it's an issue that needs to be FAQed - and, as I always suggest in ambiguous rules situations, I think players using Kharn (which, incidentally, includes myself) should use the less favourable interpretation in the meantime.
Lord Yayula wrote:Your first sentence contradicts the rest of your statement. Gorechild rule says: "Kharn's melee attacks always hit on 2+ (even if they would otherwise hit automatically)" so, if you roll a 1 what is it? it is certanly not a hit because it isn't a 2+, otherwise it would be worded Kharn's melee attacks always hit. This allows you to reroll due to hatred or any other rule, after you get the results of the roll you apply the betrayer.
But it is a hit, because the Betrayer rule says that it's an automatic hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 00:44:34
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So my question is .... after re-rolls/misses have been worked out what is Kharn hitting friendlies with because of Betrayer rule? I know that it can not be Gorechild.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 00:51:00
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
What do you mean? Of course he's hitting them with Gorechild.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 00:58:59
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gorechild cannot hit automatically per its own rules.
"Kharn's melee attacks always hit on 2+ (even if they would otherwise hit automatically)"
that is word for word from the Codex
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 01:05:37
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Isn't that Karn's rule not Gorechild's?(I honestly don't remember)
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 01:07:52
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
its under the Chaos Artefact - Gorechild.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 01:08:04
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I can't read.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/29 01:08:40
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 01:43:47
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Does everyone miss the part where it talks about "any unmodified rolls"?
The first roll of attacks are modified rolls because they have re-rolls because of hatred rule.
Any of the re rolls and rolls for attacks in any continuing phase of combat are unmodified rolls and thus the Betrayer rules applies.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 02:02:21
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
40k-noob wrote:
Gorechild cannot hit automatically per its own rules.
"Kharn's melee attacks always hit on 2+ (even if they would otherwise hit automatically)"
that is word for word from the Codex
That's actually kinda funny. Guess he's pistol whipping them
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 02:53:50
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That's actually a hilarious bit of rules twisting there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 07:30:39
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
As we feel there are two very good sides to this, we've decided in our club that if Kharn is charging, the rerolls are allowed, if he is being charged, no rerolls on the 1s.
I know this isn't RAW, but its a good enough compromise for now.
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 05:07:36
Subject: Re:Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
|
As we feel there are two very good sides to this, we've decided in our club that if Kharn is charging, the rerolls are allowed, if he is being charged, no rerolls on the 1s.
I know this isn't RAW, but its a good enough compromise for now.
Really this probably is raw. Both the re-roll granted by hatred and the Betrayer rule "work" after the first roll to hit is made. Therefor if it's your turn you decide which effect happens first. On your turns you can choose to re-roll before bashing your own boys' heads in. when it's your opponents turn you get nothing at all since everything either hit as normal, or "hit" per the betrayer rule, i.e. no misses.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 15:29:27
Subject: Kharn, Hatred and One's
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The bit about him needing a 2+ even if he would hit automatically is for when he's assaulting a vehicle with WS0.
When Kharn rolls a "1", he hits a friendly. Seems pretty basic to me.
|
|
 |
 |
|