Switch Theme:

Using Flamer Templates to Blaze a Path?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

I have searched and have been unable to come up with an answer... Can a dreadnaught equipped with flamers use the templates through a unit of IG guardsmen to reach a tank as long as the tank is declared the "target" and the template covers the tank as much as possible? Basically, can the IG "bubble wrap" be broken in this manner to blaze a path to assault the tank.? I could not find anything about shooting at a target you can't hurt in the BRB. If someone has a page number that would point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it. Thanks!
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

strengthofthedragon2 wrote:
I have searched and have been unable to come up with an answer... Can a dreadnaught equipped with flamers use the templates through a unit of IG guardsmen to reach a tank as long as the tank is declared the "target" and the template covers the tank as much as possible? Basically, can the IG "bubble wrap" be broken in this manner to blaze a path to assault the tank.? I could not find anything about shooting at a target you can't hurt in the BRB. If someone has a page number that would point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it. Thanks!


You can target the tank and burn the closer unit, as long as the template covers the tank.

IIRC though models are removed closest to furthest.

   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

That's what I was thinking.... I like to check some of the more agressive tactics on here first before looking like a hole during a game... A dred with a TL heavy flamer and a CCW/heavy flamer should easily clear 4 inches of guardsmen as well as cover the tank....
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

This works, with the following caveats:

1. Casualty removal is still as normal, taking the closest models first, rather than being able to "tunnel" a hole through the squad by just killing the guys under the templates. So it's quite possible that your path to assault the vehicle will still be blocked, depending on how many models are in the way and their exact positioning.
2. Remember that if you declare the vehicle as your target, but it's actually out of range of the flamers, they don't fire at all. You can't, say, fire your dreadnought's multimelta at a tank 12" away and declare that you're also firing your heavy flamer at it, to hit a unit of infantry that's close to the dread and between the two vehicles.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in de
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

Definitely! Gotta make sure all weapons can cover the tank. I am hoping to make it through about 4 inches of tightly packed guardsmen, but if it looks like it is not worth it I will just flame and assault the guardsmen.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Not only must it hit the vehicle, you must cover it with as much of the template as possible. It's not enough to simply graze the vehicle.
   
Made in de
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

For sure, it will be a challenge to place the dread just right to get as much tank and guardsmen as possible while still maintaining a good charge distance...

Another question, can a dread assault two tanks at once as long as the base will fit in BTB? This is a longshot question, I know...
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




strengthofthedragon2 wrote:
Another question, can a dread assault two tanks at once as long as the base will fit in BTB? This is a longshot question, I know...
No, only second or subsequent model can move to base contact with a unit that is not your primary target. See multiple combats on page 27-28, especially the "Move initial charger" on top of page 28.
Edit: This might be possible if the target vehicles belong to same squadron, but it is only theoretical because of the using shortest possible route requirement on page 21.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/06 09:22:43


 
   
Made in us
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




Riverside, CA

I guess my question is-

Why is he targeting the tank with heavy flamers as there is not a single tank in a guard list with a front armor capable of even being glanced by said weapon.

It's a pretty shady "tactic."

meta! 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

It's so he can declare a charge on the tank. The whole "closest-to-furthest" removal kind of gets rid of being able to burn a literal path through.
I'm not sure single models can charge multiple units. I'd allow it, but the rules only mentions remaining models(after the primary charger) as being allowed to charge models from the secondary unit. Anyone who swears by the permissive ruleset ideology will probably call foul.


 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

i think the idea is that he wants to charge the tank with his dread but needs to get through the IG infantry bubble first. he can't shoot the infantry directly and then charge the tank, so he's looking for a way to shoot the tank AND the infantry and then charge the tank.

Also, I'm pretty sure the Heavy Flamer woul be effective against rear armour. So it could, in certain circumstabces work both ways. Shoot the heavy flamer atteh infantry and it also clips the tank. You score X hits on the infantry and a single hit on the tank. You coudl in theory kill the tank (with luck dice rolls) and still charge the infantry.



i think.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/06 16:19:35


Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Fafnir13 wrote:
It's so he can declare a charge on the tank. The whole "closest-to-furthest" removal kind of gets rid of being able to burn a literal path through.
I'm not sure single models can charge multiple units. I'd allow it, but the rules only mentions remaining models(after the primary charger) as being allowed to charge models from the secondary unit. Anyone who swears by the permissive ruleset ideology will probably call foul.


A single model cannot multi-charge per BRB.
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

He's not multi-charging. He is declaring a shhoting attack and charge on the tank, but catching the troops in the flamer template, there-by shooting multiple units but only charging one.


Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Praxiss wrote:
He's not multi-charging. He is declaring a shhoting attack and charge on the tank, but catching the troops in the flamer template, there-by shooting multiple units but only charging one.



I was confirming what Fanir13 said. He was not sure single models can charge multiple units.

I was simply stating for the record that a single model cannot charge multiple units per the rules for multiple combats in the BRB.
   
Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice




Alachua, FL

 Praxiss wrote:
i think the idea is that he wants to charge the tank with his dread but needs to get through the IG infantry bubble first. he can't shoot the infantry directly and then charge the tank, so he's looking for a way to shoot the tank AND the infantry and then charge the tank.

Also, I'm pretty sure the Heavy Flamer woul be effective against rear armour. So it could, in certain circumstabces work both ways. Shoot the heavy flamer atteh infantry and it also clips the tank. You score X hits on the infantry and a single hit on the tank. You coudl in theory kill the tank (with luck dice rolls) and still charge the infantry.



i think.


This would work so long as you covered as much of the infantry squad as possible with the template first. If the template just so happens to ALSO knick the tank then your all set.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 OutlawBandit wrote:
This would work so long as you covered as much of the infantry squad as possible with the template first. If the template just so happens to ALSO knick the tank then your all set.

No - if he wants to charge the tank he has to cover as much of the tank as possible - because the tank is the target unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in de
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

Basically, I have an IG buddy that is always trying to cover multiple units when placing blast templates (which is fine) so I am trying to figure out the best way to get through his IG bubble (without turning this into a tactics thread). In my mind it is not much different than covering multiple units with blast templates.Yes, it is a very agressive tactic, but i also want to be as legal as possible with its use. Thanks though for the input on multi assault. So if the vehicles are part of a squadron, I could move into base with two vehicles as normal, but with squadron rules, wouldnt attacks carry over to the next model in the squadron anyways without having to be in base?

Also, if it helps with understanding, I am going to be using the Lucius Pattern drop pod to deliver said dreadnaught to his doorstep... So, it is definitely a given that some luck will be involved in being able to get to the tanks using this method... But if the opportunity arrises I want to be ready.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/06 20:34:30


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The main difference between a blast marker and a template weapon is that the template weapon must cover as much of the target unit as possible. Blast markers don't have the same restriction.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: