Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 17:28:51
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Last night I had a game of Necrons vs Orks. I had two Nobs with Kombi-Scorchas be charged by a Catacomb Command Barge (w/ embarked Overlord) and then two Wraiths. Now, first charging a unit with something that doesn't care about the Overwatch fire (to draw out the Overwatch) is a fairly common tactic in our group. However, Chariots are kind of a weird case given how they work (see below). So my question is, could I have fired my Overwatch shots at the Wraiths instead of the Command Barge?
Relevant info:
1) A unit may only fire one Overwatch shot per turn.
2) A unit may not fire Overwatch if it is locked in combat.
3) A Chariot, and it's embarked rider, are never considered to be locked in combat.
We eventually rolled off on it (I didn't win the roll-off), but I'd like to know how others would play it.
|
DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 18:10:56
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes. You could have. You could have fired at both units actually. Remember that the unit inside IS NOT being charged, the transport is. The rules for Transport allow the embarked unit to fire Overwatch. The rules for Overwatch say that the unit being charged may only fire Overwatch once per turn but in the case of Transports, the unit embarked is not being charged so that restriction does not apply to them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/07 18:11:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 18:14:40
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
40k-noob wrote:Yes. You could have. You could have fired at both units actually.
Remember that the unit inside IS NOT being charged, the transport is.
The rules for Transport allow the embarked unit to fire Overwatch.
The rules for Overwatch say that the unit being charged may only fire Overwatch once per turn but in the case of Transports, the unit embarked is not being charged so that restriction does not apply to them.
You're looking at it backwards, the necrons charged the orks and he was the ork player. Though I'll admit, the post and title is confusing.
To the OP, you can overwatch any unit that charges you, you are not considered locked in combat until the start of the fight sub-phase and *all* charges must be declared in the charge sub-phase prior to the fight sub-phase, meaning that your opponent declares all his charges, you resolve your overwatch with any unit against a unit charging them, then he rolls distance for charges.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/07 18:17:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 18:22:07
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:40k-noob wrote:Yes. You could have. You could have fired at both units actually.
Remember that the unit inside IS NOT being charged, the transport is.
The rules for Transport allow the embarked unit to fire Overwatch.
The rules for Overwatch say that the unit being charged may only fire Overwatch once per turn but in the case of Transports, the unit embarked is not being charged so that restriction does not apply to them.
You're looking at it backwards, the necrons charged the orks and he was the ork player. Though I'll admit, the post and title is confusing.
To the OP, you can overwatch any unit that charges you, you are not considered locked in combat until the start of the fight sub-phase and *all* charges must be declared in the charge sub-phase prior to the fight sub-phase, meaning that your opponent declares all his charges, you resolve your overwatch with any unit against a unit charging them, then he rolls distance for charges.
Oops my bad.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 18:28:21
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:40k-noob wrote:Yes. You could have. You could have fired at both units actually. Remember that the unit inside IS NOT being charged, the transport is. The rules for Transport allow the embarked unit to fire Overwatch. The rules for Overwatch say that the unit being charged may only fire Overwatch once per turn but in the case of Transports, the unit embarked is not being charged so that restriction does not apply to them. You're looking at it backwards, the necrons charged the orks and he was the ork player. Though I'll admit, the post and title is confusing. To the OP, you can overwatch any unit that charges you, you are not considered locked in combat until the start of the fight sub-phase and *all* charges must be declared in the charge sub-phase prior to the fight sub-phase, meaning that your opponent declares all his charges, you resolve your overwatch with any unit against a unit charging them, then he rolls distance for charges. You declare one charge, resolve overwatch, roll distance and then declare another; you don't declare them all at the same time. You also cannot overwatch any unit that charges you; since a squad is only allowed to overwatch once per turn, units that declare charges after the target unit has performed an overwatch cannot be overwatched themselves.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/07 18:29:12
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 18:41:15
Subject: Re:Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yeah you only get one overwatch per turn. You can lock the unit up in combat and then freely charge in with a 2nd unit w/o fear of overwatch.
the BRB is clear the way assaults work as well, that you do them one by one. Ie. declare charges with boys, do overwatch, roll range, move boyz if they can, pick squad b (nobs) declare charge, etc...
The only thing you are not allowed to do before you move on to the next charge to declare is actually fight a combat/take swings because it could tip the tide of the battle and make you realize you don't need unit b or c to be in a particular fight. (from my understanding)
so you could of just let the lord charge you, ignored it then skorched the wraiths as you were not locked in combat (because lord was on a chariot)
I've never actually had a lord on a CCB charge anything that could hurt his barge in overwatch, lol. Just a thought.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/07 18:42:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 19:00:25
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Sorry, you're right, but you're still not locked in combat until the start of the fight sub-phase, so you can overwatch any unit that declares a charge (up to your allowed maximum of attempts).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 19:05:15
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Kevin949 wrote:Sorry, you're right, but you're still not locked in combat until the start of the fight sub-phase, so you can overwatch any unit that declares a charge (up to your allowed maximum of attempts).
I'm going to say this now. This is debatable and has no bearing on the current topic (not criticizing you kevin, as I happen to agree with you). Let's just focus on the topic at hand, and if necessary we can start another thread on whether or not you can fire Overwatch after having already been charged by one unit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 19:07:33
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Happyjew wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Sorry, you're right, but you're still not locked in combat until the start of the fight sub-phase, so you can overwatch any unit that declares a charge (up to your allowed maximum of attempts).
I'm going to say this now. This is debatable and has no bearing on the current topic (not criticizing you kevin, as I happen to agree with you). Let's just focus on the topic at hand, and if necessary we can start another thread on whether or not you can fire Overwatch after having already been charged by one unit.
Understandable, but I do feel it has bearing to the topic at hand.
Either way, in the "specific" situation noted in the OP, you'd be able to fire overwatch at either since you're never locked in combat with a vehicle (regardless to the aforementioned debatable topic).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 19:24:28
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Kevin949 wrote:1. To the OP, you can overwatch any unit that charges you,
2. you are not considered locked in combat until the start of the fight sub-phase and
3. *all* charges must be declared in the charge sub-phase prior to the fight sub-phase, meaning that your opponent declares all his charges, you resolve your overwatch with any unit against a unit charging them, then he rolls distance for charges.
I think all three of these points are wrong.
1. Page 21, OVERWATCH RESTRICTIONS: '[ ] units that are locked in close combat cannot fire overwatch-'
If the unit being charged is already in base contact from previous charges, then it is locked in combat, and cannot perform overwatch.
2. Page 23, WHO CAN FIGHT? ' Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat.'
It reads that a unit is locked in combat as soon as another model is in base contact with one of it's models, which occurs during the Charge move (if successful). I cannot find anywhere in the Rulebook or the FAQs that state that a unit is not locked in combat until the start of the sub-fight phase.
3. Page 22, DECLARE NEXT CHARGE: 'Once all of the models in a charging unit have been moved, the player can choose another unit and declare another charge if he wishes.'
Once again, it clearly states that subsequent charges are declared only AFTER the previous charge is Declared, Overwatched, Roll Charge Range, and Charge Move.
To the OP: if the Nobz were charged by the Chariot first, they can never not be locked in combat with it. So, if they did not fire overwatch against the Chariot, they will be allowed to fire overwatch against the Wraiths.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 19:28:48
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Ghenghis Jon wrote: Kevin949 wrote:1. To the OP, you can overwatch any unit that charges you,
2. you are not considered locked in combat until the start of the fight sub-phase and
3. *all* charges must be declared in the charge sub-phase prior to the fight sub-phase, meaning that your opponent declares all his charges, you resolve your overwatch with any unit against a unit charging them, then he rolls distance for charges.
I think all three of these points are wrong.
1. Page 21, OVERWATCH RESTRICTIONS: '[ ] units that are locked in close combat cannot fire overwatch-'
If the unit being charged is already in base contact from previous charges, then it is locked in combat, and cannot perform overwatch.
2. Page 23, WHO CAN FIGHT? ' Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat.'
It reads that a unit is locked in combat as soon as another model is in base contact with one of it's models, which occurs during the Charge move (if successful). I cannot find anywhere in the Rulebook or the FAQs that state that a unit is not locked in combat until the start of the sub-fight phase.
3. Page 22, DECLARE NEXT CHARGE: 'Once all of the models in a charging unit have been moved, the player can choose another unit and declare another charge if he wishes.'
Once again, it clearly states that subsequent charges are declared only AFTER the previous charge is Declared, Overwatched, Roll Charge Range, and Charge Move.
To the OP: if the Nobz were charged by the Chariot first, they can never not be locked in combat with it. So, if they did not fire overwatch against the Chariot, they will be allowed to fire overwatch against the Wraiths.
To number 3 - I already conceded I was wrong on that.
To point number 2 - that is in the fight sub-phase section, no charge sub-phase section. Further on in that rule you quoted (which you neglected to point out) is that it details that you work out determining who is locked at the start of each initiative step. As happyjew pointed out, this is (apparently) still a debated topic and not one to be pulled up in here.
To number 1 - That's great, you stated a phrase from the rulebook. See my previous two counter-points.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:19:25
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
PrinceOfMadness wrote:Last night I had a game of Necrons vs Orks. I had two Nobs with Kombi-Scorchas be charged by a Catacomb Command Barge (w/ embarked Overlord) and then two Wraiths. Now, first charging a unit with something that doesn't care about the Overwatch fire (to draw out the Overwatch) is a fairly common tactic in our group. However, Chariots are kind of a weird case given how they work (see below). So my question is, could I have fired my Overwatch shots at the Wraiths instead of the Command Barge?
Relevant info:
1) A unit may only fire one Overwatch shot per turn.
2) A unit may not fire Overwatch if it is locked in combat.
3) A Chariot, and it's embarked rider, are never considered to be locked in combat.
We eventually rolled off on it (I didn't win the roll-off), but I'd like to know how others would play it.
You have listed the relevant points for this discussion. The Chariot will not lock a unit in combat as it is a vehicle and explicitly states so, so therefore you can reserve your overwatch for another unit. If the Wraiths had charged first, then you would have been locked and unable to fire overwatch on the Chariot, should you have wanted to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:29:47
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Fragile wrote:PrinceOfMadness wrote:Last night I had a game of Necrons vs Orks. I had two Nobs with Kombi-Scorchas be charged by a Catacomb Command Barge (w/ embarked Overlord) and then two Wraiths. Now, first charging a unit with something that doesn't care about the Overwatch fire (to draw out the Overwatch) is a fairly common tactic in our group. However, Chariots are kind of a weird case given how they work (see below). So my question is, could I have fired my Overwatch shots at the Wraiths instead of the Command Barge? Relevant info: 1) A unit may only fire one Overwatch shot per turn. 2) A unit may not fire Overwatch if it is locked in combat. 3) A Chariot, and it's embarked rider, are never considered to be locked in combat. We eventually rolled off on it (I didn't win the roll-off), but I'd like to know how others would play it. You have listed the relevant points for this discussion. The Chariot will not lock a unit in combat as it is a vehicle and explicitly states so, so therefore you can reserve your overwatch for another unit. If the Wraiths had charged first, then you would have been locked and unable to fire overwatch on the Chariot, should you have wanted to.
Debatable, as pointed out. When are you locked in combat? The fight sub-phase is the first given example, and that is after all charges have been made. As stated multiple times though, the chariot is a vehicle and cannot lock a unit in CC.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/07 20:30:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:38:34
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Debated, yes. We have a huge thread on it. However, current RAW is in favor of locking at the end of the charge, whether this is intended or RAI, who knows. Until GW FAQs it, it will be argued by both sides.
But the vehicle in this scenario makes it moot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:40:46
Subject: Chariots and Overwatch
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If anyone wants a look see, http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/493366.page There's another discussion linked in there too.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/07 20:40:55
|
|
 |
 |
|