Switch Theme:

Teleport Homer and Allies  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in br
Winter Guard




Brazil

So I'm wondering if I can use a SM drop pod to teleport home my allied Grey Knights onto the battlefield.

Technically, allies of convinience can't benefit from anything from the primary detachment, as they are treated as non-attackable enemies, I know.

But the thing is, there is no mention on the SM codex regarding the teleport homer only functioning for SM or even allies. It simply says that "If terminators wish to teleport onto the battlefield via deep strike and choose to do so within 6" of a model carrying the homer, then they won't scatter."

Rules as written, I could even benefit from the enemy's teleport homer to bring my termies onto the table.

Opinions?

My blog:
http://myevergrowingfleets.blogspot.com.br/ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Because of the wording of the Homer and the context of the SM codex Grey Knights can not benefit from the Homer.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ie
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver





Angloland

I dont know what the Grey Derps codex says about it, but the Codex Astartes states that terminators can teleport within 6".
In my opinion if the GKs are wearing terminator armour they can use it to deep strike within an allied Teleport Homer.

DeathReaper i dont know why you think the SM codex disallows it. Maybe the GK one does, but not the SM one.

Using enemy Homer to land is clearly an exploit, even hardcore RaW players wouldnt do that.



Omnisiah protect.

motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Seems fine to me.

There's not really any room to argue it.

There is nothing about "your army" SM Termies, etc.


   
Made in ie
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver





Angloland

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Seems fine to me.
There's not really any room to argue it.
There is nothing about "your army" SM Termies, etc.


FYI it says "models wearing terminator armour" so Capitans, Liblarians etc. that have thermie armour can also use it.



Omnisiah protect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/09 05:36:17


motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Daemonhammer wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Seems fine to me.
There's not really any room to argue it.
There is nothing about "your army" SM Termies, etc.


FYI it says "models wearing terminator armour" so Capitans, Liblarians etc. that have thermie armour can also use it.



Omnisiah protect.


DR is just hellbent on something along the lines of the context of your army.


However in this case I don't even vaguely see how he came to his conclusion

   
Made in ie
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver





Angloland

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:

DR is just hellbent on something along the lines of the context of your army.
However in this case I don't even vaguely see how he came to his conclusion


Me neither. But frak like this happens when you are forced to use outdated codexes. Which happens a lot.




Omnisiah protect.

motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle.
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I wouldn't play that way because last edition GW said in the FAQs that unless wargear specified that it worked for both friend and foe, the enemy could not benefit.

While that FAQ has gone mysteriously absent I personally would continue to apply it, as it seems unlikely that they wanted Teleport Homers written in 5th edition to suddenly work differently in 6th.

That being said, the RAW is certainly that anyone can benefit from the Teleport Homer, including your opponent.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Drunkspleen wrote:
I wouldn't play that way because last edition GW said in the FAQs that unless wargear specified that it worked for both friend and foe, the enemy could not benefit.

While that FAQ has gone mysteriously absent I personally would continue to apply it, as it seems unlikely that they wanted Teleport Homers written in 5th edition to suddenly work differently in 6th.

That being said, the RAW is certainly that anyone can benefit from the Teleport Homer, including your opponent.


I don't recall that FAQ at all. Than again it wasn't a highly needed one for me.

RAW agreed, anyone can use it.
RAI I'd stretch friendly only

   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

I remember that FAQ, and that also explains why I can't find it again. Thought it might have been added to the core rules but couldn't find it anywhere.
   
Made in ie
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver





Angloland

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 Drunkspleen wrote:
I wouldn't play that way because last edition GW said in the FAQs that unless wargear specified that it worked for both friend and foe, the enemy could not benefit.

While that FAQ has gone mysteriously absent I personally would continue to apply it, as it seems unlikely that they wanted Teleport Homers written in 5th edition to suddenly work differently in 6th.

That being said, the RAW is certainly that anyone can benefit from the Teleport Homer, including your opponent.


I don't recall that FAQ at all. Than again it wasn't a highly needed one for me.

RAW agreed, anyone can use it.
RAI I'd stretch friendly only


IIRC Only Tactical Squads can take Homers, so therefore they are pretty useless. Why would you want to deep strike terminators on top of your Tactical Squad is beyond me.
So, you wont be seeing much of them on the board to take advantage of.
And there is no point of fielding them yourself either.

motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle.
 
   
Made in br
Winter Guard




Brazil

Deamonhammer,

You can buy Locator Beacon for SM Drop Pods. The Locator Beacons are devices that carry teleport homers, as stated on the SM codex.

Since Drop pods are able to land where you intend them to with decent precision and very low chance of disaster (only table edge can mishap them), they would be a very cheap option to bring the grey knight termies to the table.

The wouldn't be able to assault on that same turn, alright, but they can put out a decent fire power to neutralize immediate threats on the surroundings, and you can always choose a precise landing spot that gives them more cover - they won't scatter at all!

My blog:
http://myevergrowingfleets.blogspot.com.br/ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Locator beacon, in the SM Codex, states "If a unit wishes to arrive..." (67).

A unit, taken in context with the SM book, is referring to units from the SM codex.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/09 21:41:01


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
The Locator beacon, in the SM Codex, states "If a unit wishes to arrive..." (67).

A unit, taken in context with the SM book, is referring to units from the SM codex.



I'll gladly disagree to that.
Nowhere does it even hint at that.

Are units defined in the codex? Does it states only C:SM Units? Does it state only friendly units?

It works with any unit right now.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Units are defined in the SM Codex.

P.128 SM Codex "Army List Entries: Each entry in the army list represents a different unit that you can use in a game."

Army list entries are defined on P.127 SM Codex "The following pages contain an army list..." (Then it goes on to explain the army list being split into five sections, and it explains the Force Org Chart).

Army list entries = Codex Space Marine units.

And "If a unit wishes to arrive..." P. 67 A unit, in context = Army list entries/Codex Space Marine units.

Disagree with me all you want, but the rules agree with me, so you probably should as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/10 00:45:13


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
Units are defined in the SM Codex.

P.128 SM Codex "Army List Entries: Each entry in the army list represents a different unit that you can use in a game."

Army list entries are defined on P.127 SM Codex "The following pages contain an army list..."

Army list entries = Codex Space Marine units.

And "If a unit wishes to arrive..." P. 67 A unit, in context = Army list entries/Codex Space Marine units.

Disagree with me all you want, but the rules agree with me, so you probably should as well.


Sorry the rules don't agree with you at all.
If you're hearing voices or talking to books, and having books talk back you may need to see a shrink though.

You're just outright assuming that Codex:SM cannot interact with any other codex.
There's nothing to back that up.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Do you have any rules quotes to back you up, or agree you just going to disagree without giving a counter argument?

Premise 1: The army list entries in the SM Codex are talking about units within said codex.

P.128 SM Codex "Army List Entries: Each entry in the army list represents a different unit that you can use in a game."

Premise 2: Army list entries are defined on P.127 SM Codex "The following pages contain an army list..."

Premise 3: Army list entries = Codex Space Marine units. (As per my rules quotes).

Premise 4: A unit, in context = Army list entries/Codex Space Marine units. "If a unit wishes to arrive..." P. 67

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/10 00:58:32


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






If anyone tried to pull this on me I would then kindly land all my Daemons safely off the beacon, and tell him good luck getting through the mass of Daemons surrounding Kairos perfectly thanks to your beacon.

But seriously good luck to you getting that to fly. I wouldn't even let it fly in a friendly since you going tfg would kind of kill the whole notion of a "friendly" game anyways. Not saying your argument is seriously flawed or anything, just saying you probably don't want to be tfg.

As for tournaments if your going to try and play it RAW then yea your opponent is probably going to insist on hard core RAW, IF the TO even lets it fly, since doing this will probably severely irritate him/her, which could be more of a headache then it's worth. So some things to think about before trying to pull it off. I can't say how I would treat it since I don't see any real benefit from trying to play it that way, I only play DoC and SW which don't use them, and I'm use to just DS anywhere at anytime lo.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Units are defined in the SM Codex.

P.128 SM Codex "Army List Entries: Each entry in the army list represents a different unit that you can use in a game."

Army list entries are defined on P.127 SM Codex "The following pages contain an army list..."

Army list entries = Codex Space Marine units.

And "If a unit wishes to arrive..." P. 67 A unit, in context = Army list entries/Codex Space Marine units.

Disagree with me all you want, but the rules agree with me, so you probably should as well.


Sorry the rules don't agree with you at all.
If you're hearing voices or talking to books, and having books talk back you may need to see a shrink though.

You're just outright assuming that Codex:SM cannot interact with any other codex.
There's nothing to back that up.


Calling someone crazy isn't exactly a good argument. Also this is what the codex says, so no, units from other books can not use their beacon.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/10 01:02:02


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 WolvesForTheWolfGod wrote:
If anyone tried to pull this on me I would then kindly land all my Daemons safely off the beacon, and tell him good luck getting through the mass of Daemons surrounding Kairos perfectly thanks to your beacon.

But seriously good luck to you getting that to fly. I wouldn't even let it fly in a friendly since you going tfg would kind of kill the whole notion of a "friendly" game anyways. Not saying your argument is seriously flawed or anything, just saying you probably don't want to be tfg.

As for tournaments if your going to try and play it RAW then yea your opponent is probably going to insist on hard core RAW, IF the TO even lets it fly, since doing this will probably severely irritate him/her, which could be more of a headache then it's worth. So some things to think about before trying to pull it off. I can't say how I would treat it since I don't see any real benefit from trying to play it that way, I only play DoC and SW which don't use them, and I'm use to just DS anywhere at anytime lo.



Can Daemons use the Beacon? . (got it mixed up with teleport homer)
I'm always a tad sarcastic with DR it keeps some levity in our arguments. If he's ever offended by it I would certainly hope he'd either PM me or notify a mod.
There's nothing stopping it from working. Context is basically trying to say RAI, no one knows what they were thinking then.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/10 01:32:40


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Context is basically trying to say RAI, no one knows what they were thinking then.

I don't have any input on the discussion at hand, but that's simply not true.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Context is basically trying to say RAI, no one knows what they were thinking then.

I don't have any input on the discussion at hand, but that's simply not true.


I did find an interesting tidbit in a FAQ though.

People are always trying to say Your army ='s codex and all.

"The enemy deploys as
normal, as do any units in your army not belonging to the
detachment chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons.”

Currently searching for other useful information.

PS thanks for the mod warning, for me being so impolite.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/10 01:42:34


   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Everyone please be careful not to include personal attacks in your arguments. Try to keep it friendly if you can.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: