Switch Theme:

Look out sir  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Rapacious Razorwing




I've read a number of forum threads discussing whether a model gets 'look out sir' against a vindicare assassin's 'deadshot' special rule, and the overwhelming consensus seems to be yes, which is a decision I'm perfectly happy to go along with, because in exchange he get's to pop land raiders even more often e.t.c. But in a game I played recently my opponent argued that he should get LoS against my vindicare (fine) but also that his focused witchfire ignored LoS (It was the awesome head-explodey one). Whilst both of these make perfect sense from a fluff perspective (how would your comrade protect you from a nasty case of exploding head? ) the wording for 'deadshot' seems very similar to the wording for focused witchfire. Is there anywhere where this is explicitly cleared up?

Thanks in advance!
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




I believe you are talking about haemorrhage. That is a completely different case than the vindi. Deadshot allows the controlling player to allocate the wound and LoS gives permission for wounds to be reallocated. So it's OK.

Haemorrhage on the other hand makes the model take a T test and if it fails it SUFFERS a wound. That is the difference. That wound was never allocated and so LoS cannot reallocate it.
   
Made in gb
Rapacious Razorwing




Ah, I see. The focused witchfire rules never specifically mention allocation. That makes sense. Still a little confusing, but I think I understand how it gets around LoS now. Thanks.

Oh, and it was called 'Spontaneous Combustion' from pyromancy. I love that power.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/10 18:21:27


 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/15 00:10:53


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Yes, LoS comes after allocation. It doesn't matter how the wound was allocated.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/10 18:41:52


 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




 Che-Vito wrote:
So a Vindicare's shot, or Precision Shots can be reallocated via Look Out Sir?
Yes to both. Vindicare got nerfed pretty heavily in 6e.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: