Switch Theme:

Precision Strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Defending Guardian Defender




Hey guys, had a disagreement about the rules for precision strikes.

So the situation was that My Overlord with Warscythe used precision strike against his Nob who was less then 2" away from another model in base contact, however he says his Nobs not engaged because its not its in base contact and its not its initiative step. If he is right however, it would mean you could only use precision strike when fighting against models with the same initiative and that would make the rule kind of broken and pointless.

Precision Stikes rule (Page 63)

Just like when shooting, if any character's close combat Attacks roll 6 To Hit, these are Precision Strikes. Wounds from Precision Strikes are allocated against an engaged model (or models) of your choice in the unit he is attacking, rather than following the normal rules for Wound allocation. If a Precision Strike Wound is allocated to a character, they can still make a Look Out, Sir roll.


Engaged rule (Page 23)

A model is engaged in combat, and fight if:

During its Initiative step, it is in base contact with one or more enemy models.

During its Initiative step, it is within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models.


So, what do you think?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Engaged has nothing to do with your init step, and is fulfilled by being within 2" of a friendly model from your unit that is in btb with an enemy model.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You can use Precision strikes vs any engaged model.
   
Made in au
Defending Guardian Defender




Thanks for the help guys. The point he was trying to put across was the way it written.

"A model is engaged in combat, and must fight if during its Initiative step, it is within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models."

The "if" seems to be the point his arguing. Its something that is throwing us all off at the club now, because it would have said like so,

"A model is engaged in combat and must fight during its Initiative step if, it is within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models,"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/16 00:35:11


 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

"A model is engaged in combat and must fight during its Initiative step if, it is within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models,"

There is two parts to that rule, "A model is engaged in combat if it is within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models"

If it matches the above criteria it can BE attacked.

" A models is engaged in combat and MUST fight during it's initiative step if ...." if it matches that criteria, it MUST attack.

   
Made in au
Defending Guardian Defender




Thanks for the help guys, obviously its just a case of an incorrect understanding of the intended rules. The matter is still being put forward to the club, but your help should help make our final judgement and any other comments on matter are welcome.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: