Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 19:30:37
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Hi DakkaDakka,
I looked up wound allocation & blasts, didn't find anything, so here I am.
I was wondering, if you drop a blast marker on an opponent, with the new wound allocation system, do you start removing models that are closest to the firer or to the center of the blast, or it is possibly some sort of mixed wound allocation system?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 19:37:35
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Here's the thing. If it's just a blast, it's closest to firer.
If it's Barrage it's from the hole/center.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 20:13:36
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I can't improve on this answer. Spot on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 20:41:43
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
I had something come up that still confuses me now.
I had a unit of CSM with a Sorc in it. Opponent hits the unit with a template and got 5 hits. The first one died and the Sorc was the next closest model. Does the Template hit the Sorc 4 times or once? Do I need one save or LOS or do I need to make 4?
Sorry if this is a simple question, but I just don't think I understand how this works.
|
I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."
"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 20:45:11
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Savageconvoy wrote:I had something come up that still confuses me now.
I had a unit of CSM with a Sorc in it. Opponent hits the unit with a template and got 5 hits. The first one died and the Sorc was the next closest model. Does the Template hit the Sorc 4 times or once? Do I need one save or LOS or do I need to make 4?
Sorry if this is a simple question, but I just don't think I understand how this works.
The Sorc will have to pass his LoS or saves. Whichever, he's the next closest and that's how I believe wounding works now >.< makes 3++ tanks a pain sometimes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 21:21:58
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You need to LOS! each wound separately, so 4 LOS! rolls for the Sorceror.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 21:43:06
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Savageconvoy wrote:I had something come up that still confuses me now.
I had a unit of CSM with a Sorc in it. Opponent hits the unit with a template and got 5 hits. The first one died and the Sorc was the next closest model. Does the Template hit the Sorc 4 times or once? Do I need one save or LOS or do I need to make 4?
Sorry if this is a simple question, but I just don't think I understand how this works.
Roll each wound separately, one at a time, against the Socerer until he's dead or you run out of wounds. You can try and pass each one long with a LOS! roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 22:51:37
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Thanks. I think I worded the question oddly though.
To me it just doesn't make sense that one model gets hit multiple times by a template weapon. Though I understand rules will only occasionally make complete sense.
|
I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."
"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 23:08:10
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Savageconvoy wrote:Thanks. I think I worded the question oddly though.
To me it just doesn't make sense that one model gets hit multiple times by a template weapon. Though I understand rules will only occasionally make complete sense.
It kind of makes sense from a real world standpoint too though which threw me for a loop ... lol
Mortar hits in the middle of a squad, armor soaks up the blast. The people further away are unscathed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 23:14:18
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
What if there is no point of origin for the unit?
Example would be Swooping Hawks bomb, which drops when they deep strike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/15 23:30:35
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
warpspider89 wrote:What if there is no point of origin for the unit?
Example would be Swooping Hawks bomb, which drops when they deep strike.
Random I suppose?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 00:02:48
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
warpspider89 wrote:What if there is no point of origin for the unit?
Example would be Swooping Hawks bomb, which drops when they deep strike.
The grenade pack rules say to work out hits and damage 'as normal'... so you would remove the models closest to the Hawk unit, as normal.
Of course, applying the damage 'as normal' also means that, while the grenades can be dropped anywhere you want, casualties still have to be in LOS...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 02:43:24
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
insaniak wrote:warpspider89 wrote:What if there is no point of origin for the unit?
Example would be Swooping Hawks bomb, which drops when they deep strike.
The grenade pack rules say to work out hits and damage 'as normal'... so you would remove the models closest to the Hawk unit, as normal.
Of course, applying the damage 'as normal' also means that, while the grenades can be dropped anywhere you want, casualties still have to be in LOS...
I was with you up until that last point. The codex ability does not require LOS and the FAQ didn't say anything to that effect and those are the sources of rules outside of BRB, though they overrule BRB anyways, therefore it's not the case that it would require LOS
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 02:55:41
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
You have that backwards. The normal rules for removing casualties in 6th edition require them to be in LOS. The grenade pack rules do not remove this requirement.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/18 06:29:45
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Related side question: What about TEMPLATE weapons? Do wounds have to be allocated to the models under the template, or do they have to allocated to the models closest to the firer?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/18 06:40:16
Subject: Wound Allocation, Blast, & Barrage
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Cheesedoodler wrote:Related side question: What about TEMPLATE weapons? Do wounds have to be allocated to the models under the template, or do they have to allocated to the models closest to the firer?
As with all non barrage shooting normal allocation applies.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|