Switch Theme:

I've Been Expecting You Coteaz's rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Coteaz's rule states:

I've Been Expecting You wrote:If an enemy unit arrives from reserve within X" of Coteaz and within his line of sight, Coteaz and his unit can immediately make an out-of-sequence shooting attack against it. There is no limit on how many times the ability can be used in a turn.


here is the situation:

A unit embarked in a Rhino uses outflank and arrives at the table edge. Coteaz is currently 15 inches away. once they move within range does this satisfy Coteaz's rule allowing his unit to shoot?

The unit disembarks from the Rhino which is within 12 inches of Coteaz and they move close to coteaz's unit, does he get to shoot at them as well, as they have arrived from reserve and are within 12 inches of him?

Coteaz has Line of Sight to a Rhino, and its passengers when the disembark.

What exactly does this mean?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

It means that he can shoot at both the passengers and the transport.

Take the following situation,


Transport arrives from Reserves and moves to within range of Coteaz's ability.

Coteaz now gets to shoot at it. Resolve the shooting attack immediatly.

Now, different things can happen depending on the situation.

A) Coteaz's shooting wrecks/explodes the transport. Passengers disembark. Now you again measure for "I've been expecting you" and if the passengers are in range you get to shoot them too.

B) Coteaz's shooting doesn't wreck/explode the transport. It may now finish its move if it hadn't. Passengers may disembark if they desire. If they disembark in Coteaz's range he gets to shoot them too.

C) Coteaz's shooting stuns/immobilizes the transport. Nothing further happens.

D) Same as B except the passangers disembark outside of Coteaz's range.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





I asked this question in another thread but never really got an answer as the thread was about the Interceptor rule rather than Coteaz's special ability.

I too am curious if Coteaz is allowed to fire at something that arrives outside his IBEY bubble but then subsequently moves inside the bubble later in the turn similar to the scenario you describe. I've been told both ways but from the wording it sounds as though Coteaz only gets to fire as soon as they arrive rather than once they're done moving so if they show up 13" away and then move within 12" then you don't get to shoot as the opportunity has passed.

I'd like to be able to shoot if they move within 12" during the turn but it doesn't seem like the wording supports that.
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






The difference between Coteaz and the Interceptor rules is that Coteaz says immediately, whereas Interceptor is at the end of movement.

With the wording of Coteaz to me it sounds as if the unit coming from reserve has to appear within the 12" range, so in the OPs example of a rhino coming in 15" away then moving within the 12", Coteaz would not get to fire any shots.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/16 17:43:56


 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Actually, as was pointed out in the Interceptor thread, "Arriving From Reserves" includes the movement portion on the table.

When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below.
Edit: so when unit arrives from reserves you don't first place it on table, and then move it. But instead you move it onto table, measuring from the edge, and this move is part of arriving from reserve.

So in the OP's example, if the Rhino moves within 12" of Coteaz, it will get shot, immediately.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/16 18:13:18


 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I see the Op as a case of not getting to shoot at anything. The immediate nature of the ability would only apply to the rhino not to the contents that come out later.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






Also Coteaz's rule states when the unit arrives within 12", not moves from reserve within 12"
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Well, if the full act of moving onto the table is arriving from reserve (and I think that's a reasonable interpretation), it arguably then follows that the passengers' later act of disembarking is not arriving from reserve - the "arriving" occurred during the rhino's movement, and the disembarking occurs subsequently, and thus they are already arrived, not triggering Coteaz (albeit still eligible for interceptor).

This has an interesting side-effect: if the passengers' disembarking counts as arriving from reserve, it must occur before non-reserve movement. (That rule's still around in 6th, right?)
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

I would say at MOST he would get a shot off at the Rhino ... the embarked passengers he would not be able to shoot at because they are a non-targetable unit even if they disembark. To me the immediately would mean as soon as possible. With that in mind the Rhino would be the only available target. I will read up on the wording in the codex and see what conclusions I can come to regarding if he even gets to shoot at the Rhino.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/16 19:07:21


Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




 CrashCanuck wrote:
Also Coteaz's rule states when the unit arrives within 12", not moves from reserve within 12"
Read the "Arrive from Reserves" from page 124 again. And then tell me how exactly does model arrive from reserve. I've included some relevant quotes in my post.

Page 124: When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below.

Page 124: Each model's move is measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal. This means it is incorrect to place a model on the board touching the edge and then move it.

Some people seem to have the misconception that models arriving from reserves are first placed on board and only then you start moving them. Instead, one should follow the actual rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/16 20:12:31


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: