Switch Theme:

clarification on specialist weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irradiated Baal Scavanger





Short and sweet, attacking with a specialist weapon means no bonus attacks from an additional non-specialist weapon. But what about the other weapon? If you use the profile of the non-specialist weapon, do you get the +1 attack?

The confusion comes from the wording in the BRB, pg. 42 under specialist weapon:

"a unit fighting with this weapon does not recieve +1 attack for fighting with two weapons unless both weapons have the Specialist Weapon rule."

It would seem more clear cut if it said:

"a unit attacking with this weapon does not recieve +1 attack for fighting with two weapons unless both weapons have the Specialist Weapon rule."

or:

"a unit carrying with this weapon does not recieve +1 attack for fighting with two weapons unless both weapons have the Specialist Weapon rule."

Tell me if I'm being too much of a lawyer. If the non-specialist weapon still gets the bonus attack, pairing a power sword with a power fist would be nice for the tactical flexibitly. You could then choose between hitting slow and hard, or fast, light, and more often. Also, I'm looking at the profile for Huron Blackheart, and in addition to the Tyrant's claw, he also has the power axe. In the new addition of the codex, the rules for Tyrant's claws are clearly defined, with no mention of "like a powerfist" so no longer I1. The power axe in 6E now strikes at I1. I'm looking at these two weapon profiles and wondering when I would ever use the axe instead. Gaining 1 AP at the loss of 1 strength, 4 initiative, shred, and armourbane seems like something no sane man would do, unless I was trying to kill weaker non-vehicle units in greater numbers, and the number of attacks mattered more then the hitting power, or the rerolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 06:00:28


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

If you're trying to use the specialist weapon to gain an extra attack in close combat, then you are fighting with it even if you're not using it as your 'primary' weapon. Therefore you would not gain the extra attack.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





"a unit fighting with this weapon does not recieve +1 attack for fighting with two weapons unless both weapons have the Specialist Weapon rule."

In order to get +1 attack you must be fighting with two weapons
Therefore "a unit fighting ..."
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: