Switch Theme:

jump pack assulting questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Lictor






So I play BA and jump packs are a huge deal for me, and they just look so cool.

Anyways.

Can I assult using my jump packs "jumping" over a building/vehicles/any object?

This is provided I didnt use my packs to move in the movement phase and I have made the charge range.

My friends said I couldn't. I can't find a rule stating I can or can't. I hope this is a clear enough question.

Thanks. -E.

On building Tyranid army flow chart.

Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Read pg 47 BGB Skyborne.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 15:42:41


   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

If you make the range you can ignore anything between the model and the unit it is charging. So long as you don't land in difficult terrain there is also no initiative penalty.
(There may or may not be an initiative penalty if you land in difficult terrain using a jump pack).

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

I thought you had to have LOS in the first place in order to charge.


Wait...maybe that was 5th ed.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No - you need LOS in 6th, you didn't in 5th.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




So, to sum up, if you can draw LoS somehow, there's nothing preventing you from using your jump pack to assault over intervening models or terrain, but if there's solid intervening terrain you may not be able to draw LoS, and no LoS prevents the charge from being declared.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor






Thats clear. what about hit and run with jump packs. Can I use hit and run to jump over terrain, models, etc to get away after i've mopped up in an assualt?

On building Tyranid army flow chart.

Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

I suppose that depends. You can only use your Jump pack once i thought (either for the 12" movement OR re-roll charges and Hammer of Wrath).

Can you then use it for falling back moves too?


Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






A Hit & Run is a Hit & Run.

Without special rules dealing specifically with a Hit & Run a unit's type has no bearing on how they perform a Hit & Run.

Honestly Jump Infantry are better for it because you ignore difficult terrain when performing a Hit & Run, meaning even if they end up in it they don't take a dangerous terrain test, and while moving through dangerous terrain will potentially injure them, how much dangerous terrain do you really have on your boards?

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: