Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 17:30:26
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Hi, I'll post any and all of my future queries here.
I've got most of the rules down, but there are a few things I'm not quite sure of.
(I tried to access the FAQ, I'm afraid I was unable. So please, give me a break if these are covered in FAQ. I need to know fairly urgently on some points.)
1. Death company and ICs.
When writing my current list idea, everyone at the store I was in had an idea that a rule might exclude a librarian joining a DC squad.
So, I want to run 14 DC, a Librarian and a Chaplain in a crusader. Is the Libby allowed to be there? I could find no rule that excluded him from it.
2. DOA and jump pack upgrades.
The way I read it, any model that becomes jump infantry because of a jump pack is for all intents and purposes, equipped with the rule DOA. Does this include situations where models may have Jump infantry for a turn, or just models that have bought a jump pack
Assuming the above is that a model who gains Jump infantry, also gains DOA, can a Libby therefore use wings, Deep strike and gain DOA? (I'm assuming not - reserves happen before movement phase?)
3. Using Shield or wings of sanguinius inside a vehicle.
The former power, I'm asking from a Land Raider. The latter from a Storm raven.
Can a Psyker cast Shield and then give the 5+ cover save to his LR and anything within 6" of the land raider?
Can a Psyker cast W.O.S and DOA out of a Stormraven?
4. The Sanguinor and DC Tycho are NOT IC.
Yes?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 17:56:05
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) correct, you have permission to attach in the IC rules, and no restriction in the unit rules
2) DoA is a rule applied in the Jump Pack Armoury entry. Wings of Sanguinius does NOT give you a jump pack, so no DoA
3) Measure to / from the embarked model by measuring to the hull of the vehilcle
4) Correct, same as Mephy
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 18:00:22
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Scipio Africanus wrote:Hi, I'll post any and all of my future queries here.
I've got most of the rules down, but there are a few things I'm not quite sure of.
(I tried to access the FAQ, I'm afraid I was unable. So please, give me a break if these are covered in FAQ. I need to know fairly urgently on some points.)
1. Death company and ICs.
When writing my current list idea, everyone at the store I was in had an idea that a rule might exclude a librarian joining a DC squad.
So, I want to run 14 DC, a Librarian and a Chaplain in a crusader. Is the Libby allowed to be there? I could find no rule that excluded him from it.
2. DOA and jump pack upgrades.
The way I read it, any model that becomes jump infantry because of a jump pack is for all intents and purposes, equipped with the rule DOA. Does this include situations where models may have Jump infantry for a turn, or just models that have bought a jump pack
Assuming the above is that a model who gains Jump infantry, also gains DOA, can a Libby therefore use wings, Deep strike and gain DOA? (I'm assuming not - reserves happen before movement phase?)
3. Using Shield or wings of sanguinius inside a vehicle.
The former power, I'm asking from a Land Raider. The latter from a Storm raven.
Can a Psyker cast Shield and then give the 5+ cover save to his LR and anything within 6" of the land raider?
Can a Psyker cast W.O.S and DOA out of a Stormraven?
4. The Sanguinor and DC Tycho are NOT IC.
Yes?
1. See no reason he cannot join.
2. Needs to be the Jump pack, not something like a psy power.
3a. Shield, yes you measure the distance from any part of the hull
3b. Unsure what powers those are.
4. Correct, they cannot join squads, and IC's cannot join them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 22:14:01
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
One thing to remember is that Wings of Sanguinius will not allow the psyker to deep strike. You have to declare which units will be deep striking at deployment, at which point the librarian does not have the ability to cast psychic powers, so does not have the ability to deep strike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/24 02:31:16
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Even then, you cannot cast powers while in reserve, so he can't even use it until he is already on the table.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/24 13:42:00
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
The DOA thing is a little arse over tit.
The model gets a jump pack the jump pack gives two separate benefits DOA and being jump infantry. The are separate rules and being jump infantry don't automatically have DOA only models with a jump pack do.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 11:42:56
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Yes to the question about the shield.
DOA'ing from storm raven is not possible but it does state that units make a more controlled descent so do not take dangerous terrain tests- librarian with wings included.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 14:20:01
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
4. Correct, they cannot join squads, and IC's cannot join them.
Why could an IC not join them? They are a unit still right? Hence an IC can join them?
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 14:25:38
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Icelord wrote:
4. Correct, they cannot join squads, and IC's cannot join them.
Why could an IC not join them? They are a unit still right? Hence an IC can join them?
ICs can not join a unit that is only ever one model.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/26 14:25:58
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 14:58:11
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Thanks
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/27 10:18:50
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Exhumed wrote:Yes to the question about the shield.
DOA'ing from storm raven is not possible but it does state that units make a more controlled descent so do not take dangerous terrain tests- librarian with wings included.
You can DOA from a SR, as it is a DS. You just cannot use DOA ify ou have wings of sanguinius, because you dont have the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/27 12:28:32
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: Exhumed wrote:Yes to the question about the shield.
DOA'ing from storm raven is not possible but it does state that units make a more controlled descent so do not take dangerous terrain tests- librarian with wings included.
You can DOA from a SR, as it is a DS. You just cannot use DOA ify ou have wings of sanguinius, because you dont have the rule.
And also because you're not jump infantry until you're already on the table and have passed a psychic test, so you cannot even deep strike with Wings to begin with.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/27 14:10:19
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
if you need the FAQ, drop me a PM with an email address and i'll email a copy over to you if you like.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/27 14:28:12
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Cheexsta wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote: Exhumed wrote:Yes to the question about the shield.
DOA'ing from storm raven is not possible but it does state that units make a more controlled descent so do not take dangerous terrain tests- librarian with wings included.
You can DOA from a SR, as it is a DS. You just cannot use DOA ify ou have wings of sanguinius, because you dont have the rule.
And also because you're not jump infantry until you're already on the table and have passed a psychic test, so you cannot even deep strike with Wings to begin with.
I beleive that a "more controlled decent" means not plummeting to the ground.
|
On building Tyranid army flow chart.
Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/27 15:43:43
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
g0atsticks wrote:I beleive that a "more controlled decent" means not plummeting to the ground.
In plain English it does.
However that statement does not actually supply any rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/28 01:40:28
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
rigeld2 wrote: Icelord wrote:
4. Correct, they cannot join squads, and IC's cannot join them.
Why could an IC not join them? They are a unit still right? Hence an IC can join them?
ICs can not join a unit that is only ever one model.
Page #?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/28 01:42:07
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Page 39, very first paragraph of IC.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/28 15:23:08
Subject: BA rules queries
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
|
On building Tyranid army flow chart.
Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
|
|
 |
 |
|