| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 03:17:48
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
A friend had a unit of 10 CSM with an attached lord in the unit. (so 11 total).
7 were in cover and 4 (1 of which was the lord) where a little further back but in the open.
I fire a vindicator at the unit and declare I am focus firing at the 4 models not in cover.
I get a hit and hit 6 models (some of the ones in cover too).
I roll and all 6 are wounds. He states he wants to look out sir and His lord was in the back. The only models still alive (after we inflicted the wounds to the 3 models infront of him) were in cover. As I declared focus fire he could not allocate wounds to models that were in cover and his lord suffered instant death (after he failed his inv save).
Should he have been able to LOS to a model in cover even though I declared focus fire? Are you transfering the wound and its after that you determine ID? I just want to make sure as I basically sniped his lord who he though was safe hiding in a unit of models with a vindcator round!
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 03:23:16
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Icelord wrote:
I roll and all 6 are wounds. He states he wants to look out sir and His lord was in the back. The only models still alive (after we inflicted the wounds to the 3 models infront of him) were in cover. As I declared focus fire he could not allocate wounds to models that were in cover and his lord suffered instant death (after he failed his inv save).
Should he have been able to LOS to a model in cover even though I declared focus fire? Are you transfering the wound and its after that you determine ID? I just want to make sure as I basically sniped his lord who he though was safe hiding in a unit of models with a vindcator round!
It doesn't look that way, as Focus Fire says that models with the cover of XX or worse can not be allocated to (or something close)
LOS even gos as far to say allocation.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 03:52:53
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
The original allocation was not to a model in cover, Your opponent can still attempt a look out sir. Look out sir does not reallocate the wound but rather resolves the wound against an alternative model who intervenes.
Pg 16 under look out sir rules it states this can even be a model not in range or LOS of the shooting attack. A similar situation to focus fire in that you cannot normally allocate wounds to that model.
|
Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 03:56:03
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Backlash wrote:The original allocation was not to a model in cover, Your opponent can still attempt a look out sir. Look out sir does not reallocate the wound but rather resolves the wound against an alternative model who intervenes.
That's incorrect. Look Ou, Sir! Goes so far as to say the wound cannot be further reallocated, meaning that LOS is a reallocation.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 03:56:30
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Backlash wrote:The original allocation was not to a model in cover, Your opponent can still attempt a look out sir. Look out sir does not reallocate the wound but rather resolves the wound against an alternative model who intervenes. Pg 16 under look out sir rules it states this can even be a model not in range or LOS of the shooting attack. A similar situation to focus fire in that you cannot normally allocate wounds to that model. Look out Sir does reallocate the wound. In the look out sir rules pg 16 last sentence. Sniped by 27 seconds
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/26 03:57:10
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 04:07:07
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Concept still remains the same. Wounds can be allocated or resolved against units not normally allowed by using LOS.
|
Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 04:12:34
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
I asked this some time a go and a consensus was not reached. Here is the thread.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 04:28:03
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Lol I am confused haha
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 05:33:31
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Yes, you can allocate a Wound via Look Out, Sir! to an otherwise illegal target, so long as the new target is in range. Look Out, Sir! states it can be allocated to a model to which you do not have line of sight. While it isn't explicit about interacting with Focus Fire, I think that's precedent enough. It fits both function and flavor.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 16:11:50
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Remember that he can only LoS! to the CLOSEST model in the unit, you do not get to choose which one it is any more.
Source: GW FAQ Main Rule Book.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/26 16:12:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|