Switch Theme:

GK Grand Masters in a Desperate Alliance?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

Hello, this thought came up today:

Let's say I have some Orks and for some reason, they ally with GK (Let's use a Grand Master and a squad of Terminators).

The BRB says that the termies are non-scoring, due to being desperate allies, but the GM's ability can make them scoring.

Does the codex trump the rulebook in this case?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Basically the Grand master can make the GK Terminators scoring, because he has a special rules that says they are scoring when the BRB says they are not scoring.

Codex Trumps BRB in this instance because there is a conflict.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

Thank you, that helps a lot!

Now, because of GM's Terminator Armor granting him relentless, can he move and use his Orbital Bombardment?
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator






MD. Baltimore Area

No, orbital bombardment is not a "Heavy, Ordinance, Salvo or Rapid Fire" weapon.

Those weapon types are the only types of weapons that relentless allows you to move and fire.

40k: 2500 pts. All Built, Mostly Painted Pics: 1 -- 2 -- 3
BFG: 1500 pts. Mostly built, half painted Pics: 1
Blood Bowl: Complete! Pics: 1
Fantasy: Daemons, just starting Pic: 1  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
Basically the Grand master can make the GK Terminators scoring, because he has a special rules that says they are scoring when the BRB says they are not scoring.

Codex Trumps BRB in this instance because there is a conflict.


In a desperate alliance, the non Primary FOC is not scoring, regardless of whether those units would normally be scoring or not.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Basically the Grand master can make the GK Terminators scoring, because he has a special rules that says they are scoring when the BRB says they are not scoring.

Codex Trumps BRB in this instance because there is a conflict.


In a desperate alliance, the non Primary FOC is not scoring, regardless of whether those units would normally be scoring or not.

Right, but doesn't Grand Strategy over-ride that?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Well, Unyielding Anvil lets the nominated units claim objectives as if they were Troops. However, Allied Troops cannot claim objectives in a Desperate Alliance if they are in the non Primary FOC.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
Well, Unyielding Anvil lets the nominated units claim objectives as if they were Troops. However, Allied Troops cannot claim objectives in a Desperate Alliance if they are in the non Primary FOC.
Okay, I thought Unyielding anvil said something different. TY for the clarification, I must not have recalled it correctly.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: