Switch Theme:

Ork Trukk disembarking after Ramshackle  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Faithful Squig Companion






I'm just looking for some clarification here. I realize the codex is old and so language obviously doesn't quite jive with 6th, but I want to see what others think about this.

The Ork FAQ replaces the Ramshackle wording with: “If a Trukk suffers an Explodes result on the Vehicle Damage table or is Wrecked as a result of being reduced to 0 Hull Points, roll on the Ramshackle table below and apply the result instead of the usual effects”.

First, under Kerrunch! it states that "The Ork passengers take no damage but must immediately disembark." Is this disembark still reduced to the 3" maximum move under the normal wrecked results? Or do they make a normal disembark since the Ork Codex replaces the normal results?

Second, under Kaboom! it says that, after the explosion, "Surviving passengers must disembark..." So, do they go in the footprint of the vehicles like a normal explosion (this seems unlikely, as it specifically says they disembark)? Do they disembark 3"? 6"?
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User





I never even though about that change

I've been disembarking 6" from krunch, and placing in crater from kareen and kaboom

I would assume that explosions still have you sit in the crater, but I am unsure on the 3" vs 6" bit

"The universe is a big place and, whatever happens, you will not be missed..." 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

After the trukk explodes where would you disembark from?
It's been removed and replaced by a crater/etc.

   
Made in us
Faithful Squig Companion






You could easily measure from the Trukk before you remove it. It's also worth noting that the Kaboom! entry says nothing about placing a crater. So I'm not sure that you would.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Burtucky, Michigan

 canadin wrote:
I never even though about that change

I've been disembarking 6" from krunch, and placing in crater from kareen and kaboom

I would assume that explosions still have you sit in the crater, but I am unsure on the 3" vs 6" bit



This is how I do it
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Twibo wrote:
You could easily measure from the Trukk before you remove it.


Not if you follow the rules.

Just saying it doesn't make sense RAW wise.

   
Made in us
Faithful Squig Companion






I guess I have a problem with the wording under Kaboom! It says the Trukk is destroyed (nothing about replacing it with a crater) and then it says they disembark (again, nothing about placing them in the footprint). So where do they disembark from?
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Burtucky, Michigan

Except youre leaving out the part where it says "The trukk explodes" then goes on to describe what happens. I dont think it takes an imagination to figure out the trukk isnt there anymore, it exploded. So measure from where it was. DashofPepper used to use felt outlines of trukks when they blew up, and placed the boyz inside that piece of felt and continued on.


I really dont see where the problem is.
   
Made in us
Faithful Squig Companion






I wasn't trying to say that the Trukk stays as wreckage after a Kaboom! results; I agree that's pretty clear. I'm just getting tripped up on where it says they disembark after it explodes. That implies some movement to me, but it sounds like I'm just reading into too much and most people just place the passengers in the spot where the Trukk used to be (or where it landed after Kareen!).
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




San Francisco, CA

The faq provides an answer:

Q: If I roll a Kaboom! result on the Ramshackle table, is the Trukk
removed and replaced with a similar sized area of difficult terrain after
any surviving passengers have disembarked? (p41)
A: Yes.


So based on this the order is:

1) Disembark
2) Then replace it with a crater or some such

So based on this you neither must nor can place the orks in the wreckage.

As for distance, since these rules say they replace the 'normal effects' then the term disembark would default to the regular disembark rule, which is deploy within 6". Admittedly not the most intuitive result.

If someone wanted to play the more intuitive way (place in a crater, disembark 3" for wrecks) that wouldn't bother me.
   
Made in us
Faithful Squig Companion






*Hands head in shame* I swear I scoured the FAQ for the answer to this but I apparently totally missed that entry. Thank you for pointing it out!
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

for the most part i prefer to sit in the crater when it initially blows up. That way i get a 5+ coversave atleast, if i move 6" then i would be mostly out of the crater (unless i was near a wall).

My friends and i always play if it explodes they sit in the crater anyway. Logically they would be sent in random directions, so rather than dealing with that and unit coherancy we just said they dont move.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: