Switch Theme:

Hive Guard  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




Tallahassee

New player getting into nids now and i was just wondering if my statement is correct on hive guard.

It only allows them to shoot through cover but it does not ignore cover saves correct?

Meaning that things such as jetbikes still would get their jink saves.
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




Tyranids FAQ
'Q: Can a model take a cover save from the Jink special rule against
shooting attacks made by Hive Guard impaler cannons? (p47)
A: No.'

Also read the passage under the impaler cannon profile on p47 of the Tyranid codex.

So you are partially incorrect,

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/08 03:19:14


4000 pts
Aye, I'm Scottish, and naw, I don't f***ing hunt haggis 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The impaler cannon is kinda wonky with cover saves. The model must be in terrain our touching terrain, and the terrain must be between the model and the hive guard.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Would shrouded have an effect on a unit touching a terrain piece ?

Q: Can a unit take cover saves from any source other than the terrain they are in, or touching, against Wounds caused by an impaler cannon? (p47)
A: No.
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




I would say actually say yes, as the passage states 'only counts the benefit of cover they are in or touching if it lies between them and the hive guard'. But the Shrouded special rule is a 'cover save bonus' BRB p41, not a cover save by itself so the Hive guard would not ignore it.
IMHO The FAQ quoted to refers to a target in open ground, so they don't get a cover save according to the impaler cannon rule. But if in terrain the get the save so the bonuses apply

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/08 14:02:54


4000 pts
Aye, I'm Scottish, and naw, I don't f***ing hunt haggis 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As long as it is modifying an existing, terrain provided cover save, then yes Shrouded / Stealth will work.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

As above. Stealth/Shrouded will not provide any save against an Impaler Cannon on their own, but if the model is benefitting from a cover save that the Impaler Cannon does not bypass (being in or touching terrain between the target and the firer), then Stealth or Shrouded can enhance that save.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




They just need to errata it to say Ignores Cover. That would solve all the strange issues with Impaler Cannon
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Fragile wrote:
They just need to errata it to say Ignores Cover. That would solve all the strange issues with Impaler Cannon


Except the fact that you're not allowed to allocate wounds from an Impaler cannon that is fired from out of LOS. That would still be a glaring issue.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/09 22:48:07


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 puma713 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
They just need to errata it to say Ignores Cover. That would solve all the strange issues with Impaler Cannon


Except the fact that you're not allowed to allocate wounds from an Impaler cannon that is fired from out of LOS. That would still be a glaring issue.




Thats a debatable point, as they are given permission by rule, but its slightly off topic to the cover saves. Things like stealth really complicate the issue. Stealth gives you a 6+ cover save in the open terrain. So by Cannon rules they are in open terrain which gives a 6+ cover save. But Stealth is a USR, which by FAQ seems like it would be ignored... so it can be very argumentative.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It's not a debatable point - you have permission to hit a unit out of LOS but no permission to wound that unit nor to allocate wounds.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Go dig up that other thread You have permission to do the shooting sequence against targets that are out of LOS. That process includes allocating wounds.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And nothing overrides page 16, out of sight. There is no debate on it - strictly you cannot use their special allowance, as you have no permission to allocate wounds. You in fact have permission explicitly denied
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




Tallahassee

So what would the logic be on being able to fire at something but not being able to wound it? That makes 0 sense. Also there are many special instances, thanks to a not specific update of the codex's, in which wounds, such as the Doom of Malantai, have to allocate wounds without LOS.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Doom isnt classed as a shooting attack though, even though cover saves can be taken.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




Tallahassee

Yeah i knwo its not a shooting attack im just saying theres no way to allocate wounds for it in the rulebook yet your sure as hell not going to disregard them either. Same instance as HG imo
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Bloodynecronight wrote:
So what would the logic be on being able to fire at something but not being able to wound it? That makes 0 sense. Also there are many special instances, thanks to a not specific update of the codex's, in which wounds, such as the Doom of Malantai, have to allocate wounds without LOS.

Rules are not always logical. Welcome to GWs rules writing.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Bloodynecronight wrote:
So what would the logic be on being able to fire at something but not being able to wound it? That makes 0 sense. Also there are many special instances, thanks to a not specific update of the codex's, in which wounds, such as the Doom of Malantai, have to allocate wounds without LOS.

Because it was a big change to the rules (back to semi 4th edition, barring range sniping) when they moved to LOS restrictions on allocation in 6th ed.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
And nothing overrides page 16, out of sight. There is no debate on it - strictly you cannot use their special allowance, as you have no permission to allocate wounds. You in fact have permission explicitly denied


Specific over general. Codex allows you to shoot "regardless of line of sight". In order to "shoot" you follow the sequence on page 12, which includes allocating wounds "regardless of LOS."
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Show where it can specifically allocate wounds. The wounds "allocate wounds regardless of LOS" or similar.

Otherwise you do not have anything specific
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Impaler Cannon: ""The impaler cannon can shoot any target in range, regardless of whether there is line of sight to it or not.""

"can shoot". What does that mean in 6th? Page 12 gives that answer.

""The shooting process can be summarised in five steps, as described below""


""Once you have completed steps I to 5 for each unit in your army that you wish to make a shooting attack""


So "shooting" is following the steps 1 to 5 as laid out on page 12. Those steps are.

1. Nominate Unit to Shoot
2. Choose a Target
3. Roll to Hit
4. Roll to Wound
5. Allocate Wounds and Remove Casualties.

You have to do each step in the shooting process and with the Impaler cannon you can do each and every step "regardless of whether there is line or sight or not". As allocating wound and removing casualties is part of the "shooting process", the blanket permission to do so without LOS applies. The rule "Out of Sight" is also in the Step 5. Unless you can separate it from the shooting process, you have permission to do each step without LOS.




   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Fragile wrote:
Impaler Cannon: ""The impaler cannon can shoot any target in range, regardless of whether there is line of sight to it or not.""

"can shoot". What does that mean in 6th? Page 12 gives that answer.

""The shooting process can be summarised in five steps, as described below""


""Once you have completed steps I to 5 for each unit in your army that you wish to make a shooting attack""


So "shooting" is following the steps 1 to 5 as laid out on page 12. Those steps are.

1. Nominate Unit to Shoot
2. Choose a Target
3. Roll to Hit
4. Roll to Wound
5. Allocate Wounds and Remove Casualties.

You have to do each step in the shooting process and with the Impaler cannon you can do each and every step "regardless of whether there is line or sight or not". As allocating wound and removing casualties is part of the "shooting process", the blanket permission to do so without LOS applies. The rule "Out of Sight" is also in the Step 5. Unless you can separate it from the shooting process, you have permission to do each step without LOS.






Well put sir...it's weird that people STILL try to argue against this clearly established and FAQ'd rule.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, you have permission to reach step 5 without LOS.
Out of Sight is still not overridden.
You must take the rule into account since there is no rule saying you may not.
Since Out of Sight says, "If there are no visible models in the target unit, all remaining Wounds in the pool are lost and the shooting attack ends."

Regardless of being able to ignore LOS for the shooting attack (meaning you would be able to allocate wounds to models out of LOS) there are no visible models in the target unit. Nothing in the Impaler Cannon rules override this.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You are only applying half the Out of Sight rule and slightly out of context.

Out of Sight: ""If no models in the firing unit can see a particular model, then Wounds cannot be allocated to it, and must be instead allocated to the nearest visible model in the target unit. If there are no visible models in the target unit, all remaining Wounds in the pool are lost and the shooting attack ends."

Impaler cannon directly conflicts with the first part of the first sentence of the OoS rule. It states that Wounds can be allocated to models that are OoS. At that point, the second part of the first sentence and the second sentence entirely are moot.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Why is the second sentence entirely moot?
I didn't apply the first sentence because the IC ignores it. There's nothing in the IC rules that grant vision to the target unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

Out of Site messes with a lot of special abilities and weapons. Anything allowing you to shoot at something out of LOS in 5th will have no language to circumvent Out of Site as it didn't exist. How GW missed this as a problem is rather mind boggling. Don't they know how crazy we are when it comes to minutely interpreting rules?
The way I play it currently is that anything from a codex that says you can hit from our of LOS can also wound. This is not strict RAW, but a good example of RAI. GW clearly intends that these various weapons can kill something out of LOS. Why be tfg and wait until a FAQ gives the obvious solution?

Note that I still don't let blasts or templates to wound without LOS. Those all have updated rules in the basic book and deserve no special RAI consideration that special abilities from 5th do.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: