| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 14:05:54
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Can a necron squad, lets say warriors and a cryptek, disembark from a nightscythe after it has moved, shoot and kill a unit, then embark on the nightsycthe next turn before it moves?
I've never really used a nightscythe properly and i'm tryign to learn how best to utilise it (i only have 1)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 14:57:46
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
A model cannot voluntarily disembark and embark on the same turn. Page 78. First sentence under Embarking and Disembarking. However, if the Nightscythe moved in Turn 3, unit disembarks and shoots, then at the beginning of the movement in turn 4 the unit can embark back into the nightscythe. At which point the nightscythe could perform it's turn 4 movement, which per the Invasion Beams rule in the FAQ means no more than 36"
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/01/10 15:20:00
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 15:36:23
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
that's exactly what i meant.
I wasn't sure if embarking had to happen at a certain time in the movement phase.
So in theory my squad of warriors and a Stormtek can enter play in turn 2 in the nightscythe, disemabrk and blast a tank, weather a turn of shooting and then embark the next turn.
of course, as you stated, they wouldn't be able to jump out int he same turn and do it again. But it means my anti tank unit might not be so much of a suicide squad.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 15:48:40
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Always good to ask!
Last tournament I was at, a Necron flier army had warriors disembark 6" away from the flier, shoot some of my Gnats, then charge them all in the same turn wiping them off 2 differant objectives and leaving me stunned in silent sadness.
Watching the supreme power of the Necron race I've decided to sell my Nid army!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 16:03:46
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Ummmmm. No.
The Flyer is not an assult vehicle so they cant chareg after disembarking...at all. They can only shoot.
necrons are supreme at anti-armour and shooting.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 16:11:35
Subject: < Taken by the void dragon >
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
< Taken by the void dragon >
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 07:03:12
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 16:25:45
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
My plan was to move the Nightscythe 24", then jump out the unit (as allowed in the invasion beam rules) within 6" of the 'Scythe. The unit then blasts the target tank, along with some supporting fire from the Scythe itself, assumign it is facing the right way. Both units then have to weather return fire for the enemy turn. then in the next turn the unit, since they are already right by the flyers base, can jump back in adn the Flyer (havign not moved yet this turn) can zoom off to try and kill something else for the remainder of that turn. Rinse and repeat. I'm going to be testing this tonight vs a marine army so we'll see how it goes.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/10 16:26:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 16:44:32
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Praxiss wrote:Ummmmm. No.
The Flyer is not an assult vehicle so they cant chareg after disembarking...at all. They can only shoot.
necrons are supreme at anti-armour and shooting.
That's ok though, his opponent couldn't be holding two objectives either. Unless this was a 5th edition tournament.
And you never know, maybe the tournament had rules that made it (or all flyers) an assault vehicle.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/10 16:45:14
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 16:46:33
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
TheSwarmLives wrote:Always good to ask!
Last tournament I was at, a Necron flier army had warriors disembark 6" away from the flier, shoot some of my Gnats, then charge them all in the same turn wiping them off 2 differant objectives and leaving me stunned in silent sadness.
Watching the supreme power of the Necron race I've decided to sell my Nid army!
I'd be stunned and silent too if my opponent tried to disembark than assault. Only assault vehicles can do this, and even they cannot on the turn they arrive from reserve.
Essentially you got a lil bit hosed.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 16:53:29
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
The fact that a squad of necron warriors beat you in assault should have been your first hint that something was going horribly wrong.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 17:05:56
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Praxiss wrote:The fact that a squad of necron warriors beat you in assault should have been your first hint that something was going horribly wrong.
Hey, Gnats are about the only thing warriors CAN beat in assault.  (Yes, I said Gnats)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 17:13:23
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Kevin949 wrote: Praxiss wrote:The fact that a squad of necron warriors beat you in assault should have been your first hint that something was going horribly wrong.
Hey, Gnats are about the only thing warriors CAN beat in assault.  (Yes, I said Gnats)
Also the fact they assaulted after firing Rapid Fire weapons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 17:40:12
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I knew it was off, TBH my oppenent was just learning his rules, he built a 6 flyer army for the 1500 point with a Lord on a chariot and two (bikes) zipping around on the outside of the table to claim table quarters.
At one point he told me his flier was in "Hover" mode.
Combined Dakka fire and a last minute Swarmlord charge into the warriors that cheated got me a close 8-6 loss with DakkaFex's killing 2 fliers!
Obviously I need to look more into the Necron rules, this was game 3 though and last turn, so I was tired!
My solace came from him asking what my Trygon primes INITIATIVE was, I let him know and his Lord charged the Trygon in hopes of MSS killing the Prime. Sadly he was hoping 5 was my leadership (mis-cue on his part for the ruel). Trygon Prime obliterated the Necron Skum.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 08:12:41
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Right....necron flyers can't hover either.
Lol, there's no point in a necron player asking about your models Inititive...theirs will always be lower.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 10:24:44
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Tau are i2 from memory, as are Orks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 10:48:05
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Wow, you're right! I'm so used to playing against marines and IG i thought everyoen else was I3 or better.
Saying that, I was playing against marines last night and my necron Warriors actually passed an Initiative test and fell back safely!! I was so proud.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 14:02:04
Subject: Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Tervigons and fexs are also low I - 1 and 2, from memory. A fairly large number are low I, just you dont see as many consistently low I armies as Necrons
I realised in game against IG that they cant actually get away from my daemon prince - I8 vs I3 means I always catch and kill. Not used to such high I
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 14:46:57
Subject: Re:Disembark-reembark question
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
I believe a tie goes to the unit trying to flee; so in that exact scenario they could concievably run if you roll a 1 and they a 6. Still not very likely though i'd agree.
Edit: huh, turns out i had it backwards, you are correct: winner sweeps on a tie.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/11 14:48:23
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|