Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 20:18:38
Subject: Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I'm not sure if this has been asked before so I apologize if so.
If Coteaz is shooting a Quadgun it uses his BS and special rules. So "Ive been expecting you" is the basis of my questioning. Let's say a drop pod comes from reserve within 12" of him. That triggers his rule allowing him to shoot at the drop pod or squad disembarking. First question is, can he fire the Quadgun at them instead of his own gun/Eagle for the "I've been expecting you shot." Secondly if he CAN fire the quad gun instead of his own gun/Eagle would the Quad gun get to shoot a second time if you use the Interceptor rule as well to target the unit coming from reserve?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/10 20:19:21
I am the Hammer. I am the point of His spear. I am the mail about His fist... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 20:23:12
Subject: Re:Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Currently yes to both questions. There is no qualification for how many times a GE can be fired in a single turn nor phase so technically you can put multiple models in base contact with the GE and each can use it during their shooting phase. That being said I doubt most people are allowing multiple firings of a single GE in a phase if they want everyone to have fun.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 20:44:11
Subject: Re:Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
The Quadgun is a legal weapon for him to shoot, and there is no limit to the number of times he can use his "I've been expecting you" ability.
And Interceptor is a seperate rule that also allows him to shoot at an arriving from reserves model, but only with the Quadgun. Unless the model also happens to end within 12" of Coteaz, in which case he can use his IBEY rule instead and use the Interceptor shot at something else.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 20:51:27
Subject: Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Cool so scenario to make sure I got it.
Coteaz is alone base to base with Quad gun. A drop pod drops within 12" of Coteaz. He can use Ive been expecting you to instantly shoot the drop pod with the Quad after the models have disembarked of course. Let's say he fails to blow it up. He can then use the Interceptor function of the Quad gun to shoot the drop pod a second time at the end of the opponents movement phase.
Or if he blows up the pod with Ive been expecting you he can then use Interceptor to shoot the unit that disembarked.
I get that all correct?
|
I am the Hammer. I am the point of His spear. I am the mail about His fist... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 20:54:37
Subject: Re:Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yes, he could shoot the Quad-gun twice at the same unit. once for each rule. Just remember that IPEY triggers immedialty when they move to within range, Interceptor is at the end of the opponents movement phase.
So, Pod Drops down. Squad gets out. Coteaz shoots at both the Pod and the Squad using his IBEY. Then at the end of the enemy movement phase he can shoot the Quadgun at a model that arrived from reserves that is currently in range of the run. So either the Pod or the Squad, or something else maybe.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 21:53:31
Subject: Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If a pod comes in within 12 inches he can shoot at the pod and the squad providing they disembarked within 12 inches as well
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 02:17:14
Subject: Re:Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
Gravmyr wrote:Currently yes to both questions. There is no qualification for how many times a GE can be fired in a single turn nor phase so technically you can put multiple models in base contact with the GE and each can use it during their shooting phase. That being said I doubt most people are allowing multiple firings of a single GE in a phase if they want everyone to have fun.
incorrect, pg 104 BRB, under gun emplacement
first sentence,
"One model in base contact with the gun emplacement cant fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting."
you can fire the gun multiple times, but just with the special coteaz stuff, no multi models "sharing" the gun
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ub3rb3n wrote:If a pod comes in within 12 inches he can shoot at the pod and the squad providing they disembarked within 12 inches as well
the above is how It works I believe,
and unless someone has a necron codex and can correct me,
i think necrons enter from reserve through their flyer transports as well,
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/03 02:20:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 03:54:51
Subject: Re:Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Actually is does not limit it via that statement otherwise the first model to fire it is the only model that can ever fire it. What limits it, as I mentioned in another thread but didn't correct here, is that a weapon's profile implies how many times it can be fired in a phase. The line about one model is missing any type of qualifier. Is it per phase, game, unit, army? As written because they did not qualify it only the first model that fires it can ever fire it as it does not say that it can change between phases or turns. "One model may fire..." Clearly that was not what was intended but poor writing wins again. Without the qualifier I had assumed that you can line up as many units as you can get single members of their units touching the base and fire the quadgun once with each member touching the base per shooting unit. Do to the limit imposed by the weapon itself it can be fired only that way once per phase.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 04:38:34
Subject: Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gravmyr, how does a weapon profile imply how many times it can be fired in a phase?
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 04:40:36
Subject: Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
MarkyMark wrote:Gravmyr, how does a weapon profile imply how many times it can be fired in a phase?
Heavy 1, fire once in a phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 05:00:42
Subject: Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Doh!, of course, I was thinking of boltguns and the like rather then heavy weapons for some reason, it was 4am something in the morning is my only defence! thanks
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 07:35:21
Subject: Re:Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
Gravmyr wrote:Actually is does not limit it via that statement otherwise the first model to fire it is the only model that can ever fire it. What limits it, as I mentioned in another thread but didn't correct here, is that a weapon's profile implies how many times it can be fired in a phase. The line about one model is missing any type of qualifier. Is it per phase, game, unit, army? As written because they did not qualify it only the first model that fires it can ever fire it as it does not say that it can change between phases or turns. "One model may fire..." Clearly that was not what was intended but poor writing wins again. Without the qualifier I had assumed that you can line up as many units as you can get single members of their units touching the base and fire the quadgun once with each member touching the base per shooting unit. Do to the limit imposed by the weapon itself it can be fired only that way once per phase.
totally wrong BRB says
"One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting."
= legal
you are saying
two(or more) models in base are able to fire it instead of their weapons, and we dont know if they follow normal shooting rules, or follow unwritten shooting rules = illegal
arguing that "one model" means multiple models is asinine, and just wrong
the "qualifier" you say is missing, is not missing,
it stipulates one model may fire it as per normal shooting rules (ie once per shooting phase barring things like coteaz/interceptor)
as soon as more then "one" model in base has fired it in the same turn, the rule above has been broken as more then "one model in base contact" has fired it in , very clear RAW
the gun can fire every turn so the whole interpretation that "one model" means "only the initial model that fired the gun" is also asinine, it does not logically come from the phrase "one model" at all
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2013/03/03 07:45:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 22:26:16
Subject: Re:Question about Coteaz manning a Quadgun
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Gravmyr wrote:What limits it, as I mentioned in another thread but didn't correct here, is that a weapon's profile implies how many times it can be fired in a phase. .... Do to the limit imposed by the weapon itself it can be fired only that way once per phase.
The rest was picked apart by easysauce.
A weapon's profile states how many shots it gets when the trigger is pulled. That's all, it doesn't say how much ammo it has or whether it overheats or how many times it's allowed to be fired *per phase*. Just that when the trigger is pulled it gets X shots. There is no other RAW governing this.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
|