Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/12 20:57:22
Subject: "Look Out, Sir!" and Unit Coherency
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
The latest 6th Ed FAQ has now changed LOS to go from being any model in the same unit within 6" to picking the closest model to the character. Now, unit coherency dictates that models have to be within 2" of one another, but I was wondering if this affected how LOS would work, and if the 6" rule still applies. Let me set up the scenario, below, where you have an IC and four models all stringed out at 2" away in a line:
[IC]<-2"->[Model A]<-2"->[Model B]<-2"->[Model C]
Bearing in mind that a 25mm base is around an inch, Model A is 2" away from the IC, Model B is 5" away from the IC, and Model C is 8" away from the IC. For the purpose of this demonstration, let's assume that all LOS rolls pass.
Fact: If a LOS were to be allocated, the way it has been FAQed basically states that Model A has to take the LOS'd wound.
Now, if Model A were to die, would Model B then be able to take the next LOS? The IC is now no longer within 2" coherency of the squad (although a model can only leave a unit in the controlling player's movement phase, our FLGS pretty much plays by the rule that you need to be within coherency to LOS)
If Model A AND Model B were to die, can Model C take the LOS roll? Does the original requirement for the LOS to be 6" away max still apply?
|
Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/12 21:14:39
Subject: Re:"Look Out, Sir!" and Unit Coherency
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
It looks like there is no 6" limit now as long as the unit still has models they can be LOS'd to a model at any distance as long as it is the next closest.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/12 21:50:17
Subject: "Look Out, Sir!" and Unit Coherency
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Unit coherency is not required any more when removing casualties. You remove them based off the rules and at the end of your next movement (any type) your unit must be within coherency if possible or move as close to it as possible. You can LOS IC out of coherency and still keep on LOSing. You can also shoot or CC a unit out of coherency.
And in regard to your FLGS not letting an IC take LOS because his unit is not more then 2" away that is directly against the rules. The IC is still a part of the unit and as long as a model from the IC's unit is within 6" then it can take a LOS.
You can play that way if you want but if a new player comes to play or you are at a tournament and say that the IC can't take a LOS you would be cheating (because you just said that you know they can and you aren't letting them).
Personally, I don't much like arbitrary FLGS rules like that because they needlessly remove consistency from the game and teach bad habits. Too many people forget that they change core rules when they go play other people who play more by the book.
|
Lots and lots and lots. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/12 21:54:16
Subject: "Look Out, Sir!" and Unit Coherency
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Kwosge wrote:Unit coherency is not required any more when removing casualties. You remove them based off the rules and at the end of your next movement (any type) your unit must be within coherency if possible or move as close to it as possible. You can LOS IC out of coherency and still keep on LOSing. You can also shoot or CC a unit out of coherency.
And in regard to your FLGS not letting an IC take LOS because his unit is not more then 2" away that is directly against the rules. The IC is still a part of the unit and as long as a model from the IC's unit is within 6" then it can take a LOS.
You can play that way if you want but if a new player comes to play or you are at a tournament and say that the IC can't take a LOS you would be cheating (because you just said that you know they can and you aren't letting them).
Personally, I don't much like arbitrary FLGS rules like that because they needlessly remove consistency from the game and teach bad habits. Too many people forget that they change core rules when they go play other people who play more by the book.
It's not so much a houserule so much as that it's derived from the need for unit coherency of 2", hence why I asked the question. So the 6" range would still apply, in addition to picking the closest?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/12 21:54:36
Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 00:03:41
Subject: "Look Out, Sir!" and Unit Coherency
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, because the 6" rule was removed by the errata. It is any model in the unit, that is closest to the IC
Coherency is ONLY a movement requirement. To apply it outside of its specific requirement is not permitted.
|
|
 |
 |
|