Switch Theme:

Hive guard vs Dark Shroud  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

Do the Impaler cannons from hive used negate the cover saves granted by a Dark Shroud?

   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

I'd say no, you only get saves from cover your in ad per the impalor rules
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Only terrain you are in or touching that lies between the target and HG will provide cover.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Hard to say, I'd lean towards no given they are FAQ'd as ignoring jink saves and KFFs, I'd say you can't take cover against them unless you meet the specific criteria they lay out for taking a cover save against them.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

Yeah I was thinking that since its only cover you are in or touching, but does being within 6" count as being in the cover? I suppose it would be the same for shield of sanguinus as well.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Eldercaveman wrote:
Yeah I was thinking that since its only cover you are in or touching, but does being within 6" count as being in the cover? I suppose it would be the same for shield of sanguinus as well.


It's Terrain, not cover that you are in or touching.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Fragile wrote:
Only terrain you are in or touching that lies between the target and HG will provide cover.

Except all it does is give stealth, which we have already discussed on here

Stealth gives you a cover save if you dont already have one, or improves on you already do have. You do not get the former against Impaler, however if you havea cover save, granted by terrain you are in or touching, then you DO get the cover save AND the improvement to the save provided by Stealth
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Only terrain you are in or touching that lies between the target and HG will provide cover.

Except all it does is give stealth, which we have already discussed on here

Stealth gives you a cover save if you dont already have one, or improves on you already do have. You do not get the former against Impaler, however if you havea cover save, granted by terrain you are in or touching, then you DO get the cover save AND the improvement to the save provided by Stealth


This seems the right way about it.

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






So would the impalor ignore night fighting saves if the target is out in the open, and not in or touching cover?
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

 Elmothegreat wrote:
So would the impalor ignore night fighting saves if the target is out in the open, and not in or touching cover?


Yes. But if they are in cover, they gain the added night fighting bonus'

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: