Switch Theme:

Spears/Pikes/Chittering Hordes Rules Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




A mild debate has grown in my group over the Spears/Pikes/Chittering Hordes rules. We are new to the game, BTW.

There are 3 different explanations for these rules in the books I have access too - Two Towers, Return of the King, The Big Rulebook, The Hobbit book (new).

The Two Towers Book is very clear and states that the Spear model is part of the fight and can "fight through", but can not be wounded. The Spearman must still move back 1" if beaten in the fight.

The Return of the King has a note that this was changed. It and the Big Rulebook state the Spear supports the model, but is not part of the combat.
From the book - "The friend supported in the this way gets one extra attack for the combat...This extra attack represents the advantage offered to the friend by the support of the spearman, which allows the friend to be more effective in combat."

Questions arise:

Does the support figure (spearman/pike/chittering) have to move back 1" on a failed battle now? - or - Just to make way for the friend to move back 1?

Do you roll the extra die when rolling for wounds? - or - Does "more effective in combat" mean the model just has a better chance to win the battle?

If so, do you use the strength of the spearman or the front model? - The friend (not the spearman) is now "more effective in combat".

To complicate things, the Hobbit book is very similar to the Big LOTR Rulebook, but has a line referencing the spearman's strength. Although, it does not say to use this strength for anything specific. And why would you, if he is "not part of the fight"? (I do not own that book, but am recalling what I read)

In all four of these books there is not one example of a fight with spears, pikes or chittering hordes that goes through the rolling for wounds step. (that I can find).

My goal here is to know how everyone else is playing this, so when we encounter other players there is no rules debate.

But, I would also like to know everyone's thoughts on what the intent.

Thank You.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




1 Guy can support 1 guy in base contact unless you are using pikes. 2 can support 1 guy in base contact. You can not have a spear support a guy and then a pike support behind the spear. Pikes need to have just pikes.

You roll fight dice equal to how many guys you have in the fight. The base contact guy rolls all his dice and uses his fight. The supporter rolls a single dice usuing his fight. Regardless of how many attacks he/she has. If fight values are different color code dice or roll seperatly

If you win the fight, you roll dice equal to your attack values. Again base contact guy with enemy rolls all his attacks, support rolls just 1. Use strength of each model just like how fight works. If different, color code dice or roll seperatly.

Supporting models cant take damage unless the damaging model says theydo (Aka Sauron)

One model can make way per guy who lost the fight. So if the combat with his buddy fails and they get pushed back, the spearmen/pikemen/chittering gobbo makes way.

Info is on Page 69 of the mini Hobbit rulebook

Hope this helps!
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Then they changed things in the Hobbit rulebook.

My LOTR Big Book has an example (with picture) of a Pikeman and a Spearman supporting a friend, together for a total of +2 attacks.

Also, I do not recall it being this clear when I looked at my friend's hobbit rulebook. I will have to call him to look at that page.

Thanks.
   
Made in ae
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Stick with the hobbit rules, they're the newest ones, unless your friends play with the old rules.

According to the new rules, you MUST have 2 pikes to support with pikes. You CANNOT support a guy with a spear then a pike.

According to the old rules, you CAN have someone being supported with a spear and a pike.
   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: