Switch Theme:

A question about shooting and range.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Been Around the Block




Ok, so picture this scenario. My guardsmen shoot at his ork boys. Most of the boys are out of range but six of my guardsmen can reach two of his boys, also, my autocannon in the unit can reach all of his boys. Now, how many boys can i potentially kill with this round of shooting? The 2 in range from my lasguns + the 2 that can be killed by the autocannon? If so, how is this rolled? Do you separate the dice from the guns with different ranges so a maximum of two can die from the lasguns or doesnt it matter which weapon causes the deaths as long as there are a maximum of 4? Or am I totally lost here? Please help.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

As long add the unit is in rangewhen you roll to hit, it is in range when rolling to wound, even of casualty removal would put it out of range.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






You can kill as many boys as you can wound.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




So in this perticular scenario i would be able to kill a maximum of four boys then? The two in range of the lasguns and the potential two from the autocannon?
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

It only measures to the unit the unit takes as many wounds as you can cause. Once you have measured for range to the unit range of weapon no longer matters.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/15 16:46:54


ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Ok, so any guardsman that can reach any boy can potentially cause a wound, even though that might be more then the amount of boys that are actually in range?
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Meh, nvm ........

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/15 17:58:03


 
   
Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter



scotland

you cant wound models which arent in your range or LOS. in this situation you roll everything normallyu and just make sure to do the lasgun saves first or there wounds are discarded. if i have 1 bolter in range of 12 boy i can fire 10 bolters and kill all 5. including the one behind a ruin.

6th editon slate:

necrons 4000pts 18/3/16
grey knights 600pts 1/0/0 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

That last post is wrong.

You check range before you roll to hit. Any model that has range to at least 1 enemy model can wound any model within LoS.

In the OP scenario, you would remove 1 Orc for every unsaved wound you have. It doesn't matter that some of your models were out of range. Range only matters when determining who is in range to shoot, not who can die.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Read page 16 of the rulebook. Top left.

"Out of range

As long as a model was in range of the enemy when to hit rolls are made, he is considered to be in range for the duration of the shooting attack, even if the removal of casualties means that the closest model now lies out of range"

That is very cut and dry.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/15 18:40:02


insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




destuctir wrote:
you cant wound models which arent in your range or LOS. in this situation you roll everything normallyu and just make sure to do the lasgun saves first or there wounds are discarded. if i have 1 bolter in range of 12 boy i can fire 10 bolters and kill all 5. including the one behind a ruin.

Incorrect. Reread page 16, out of range again and get your subjectbject the right way round.

If youre flat conradicting others please take the time to check sources, it is worth it to reduce confusion.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 BarBoBot wrote:
Read page 16 of the rulebook. Top left.

"Out of range

As long as a model was in range of the enemy when to hit rolls are made, he is considered to be in range for the duration of the shooting attack, even if the removal of casualties means that the closest model now lies out of range"

That is very cut and dry.


This looks very similar to my initial post, albeit without the glaring editing errors and typos.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The sentence is clear if you read it like this:

"As long as a [firing] model was in range of the enemy when To Hit rolls were made, he is considered to be in range for the duration..."

He refers to the firing model.

Lets say a unit of 10 marines with bolters shoot at a unit of orks that are not in cover.

If all 10 firing marines have range to only one model in the enemy unit they can all fire, Lets say all 10 guys cause a wound. Then the closest 10 models in the target unit die because Orks have a Sv of 6+. Even the Orks that were not in range can be killed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

This interpretation may help. Check the firing models individually, to see if they can fire, by being in range of the enemy unit as a whole. Then ignore range entirely.
In your example, 6 guardsmen and the autocannon can fire. They can then go on to wound any Ork in that unit as long as its in sight.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





 DeathReaper wrote:
The sentence is clear if you read it like this:

"As long as a [firing] model was in range of the enemy when To Hit rolls were made, he is considered to be in range for the duration..."

He refers to the firing model.

Lets say a unit of 10 marines with bolters shoot at a unit of orks that are not in cover.

If all 10 firing marines have range to only one model in the enemy unit they can all fire, Lets say all 10 guys cause a wound. Then the closest 10 models in the target unit die because Orks have a Sv of 6+. Even the Orks that were not in range can be killed.

This is correct.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





This even extends to template/blast weapons. If you have 2 flamers in your squad and the templates can reach 2 ork boys then you can still cause 4 wounds and remove models that aren't under any templates. It's because of the way shooting works:

1. measure ranges, determine the number of shots, who can shoot etc (after this point range is entirely irrelevant)
2. roll to hit with all weapons
3. roll to wound with all weapons (that hit)
4. remove casualties (and take armour saves)

   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





14

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Helpful Sophotect





Hampshire

How does this square with the new rulebook FAQ?
If I'm reading it right, GW have just changed their rules in an FAQ again.

40k Rulebook FAQ wrote:Q: When making a Shooting attack against a unit, can Wounds
from the Wound Pool be allocated to models that were not within
range any of the shooting models when To Hit rolls were made (i.e.
half the targeted model are in the shooting models’ range, and half
are not)? (p15)
A: No.


In other words, your 2 flamers are the only things to fire, both hitting the same 2 models for a total of 4 hits.
Doesn't this FAQ now say you can only wound the 2 models?
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

That's right. But if you were to fire a bolter as well then you'd be able to wound 4 models with the flamer because the extra two models are presumably in range of the bolter even if they aren't in range of the flamers.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, in other words it is an incredibly stupid, clunky mess of a FAQ that in all rights should be an errata as it ENTIRELY changes the way Out of Range works.

Gah, GW!
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





yup, go GW! also is a squad of bolters that are all within 12 of the closest model but the farthest model is more then 12 away from all of the bolters (but within 24) what happens?

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 jegsar wrote:
yup, go GW! also is a squad of bolters that are all within 12 of the closest model but the farthest model is more then 12 away from all of the bolters (but within 24) what happens?

I would assume that since you populate the pool when everyone is still standing there in range you just go with the number of hits that you have. So even if there is only one model within 12" for every one of the models with bolters you can rapid fire and keep applying wounds til you hit 24".

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





 liturgies of blood wrote:
 jegsar wrote:
yup, go GW! also is a squad of bolters that are all within 12 of the closest model but the farthest model is more then 12 away from all of the bolters (but within 24) what happens?

I would assume that since you populate the pool when everyone is still standing there in range you just go with the number of hits that you have. So even if there is only one model within 12" for every one of the models with bolters you can rapid fire and keep applying wounds til you hit 24".


This.

Being very specific here:
A Tac squad with 5 guys, all with regular bolters measures range. They find that 2 are within Rapid Fire (12") and 3 are not. So the squad makes 7 to hit rolls. Let's just assume all hit and wound.

The unit being shot takes saves and ALL of the models in that unit, except the ones hiding around a corner and aren't visible to the firing unit or are beyond 24" , can be wounded.

However, this brings up another question:
Let's say that same tac squad is completely within 12" of one model in the enemy unit and the rest are outside of that. They make rapid fire shots and amazingly all hit and all wound.

In this situation, how many models in the target unit can die? Is it just the 1 because that is the only one within range of the profile used for the bolter OR is it all within 24"?

This is going to be fun :(

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 15:42:04


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




This brings back to the explanation that you need be be careful of the order in which you allocate wounds from different weapons so your opponents take the wounds from the shortest weapons first and so on.
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

Actually, no it doesn't.

The FAQ says you may not allocate wounds that were not in range of ANY of the shooting models when to hit rolls are made.

If you have 1 weapon that has range to the whole squad and multiple weapons with range to only half the squad, you remove casualties from the whole squad because a shooting model had range when to hit rolls were made.

It does not specify that EACH model can't allocate wounds beyond their weapon range, it says you may allocate wounds if ANY model had range when rolling to hit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/16 16:45:16


insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

clively wrote:
A Tac squad with 5 guys, all with regular bolters measures range.
Let's say that same tac squad is completely within 12" of one model in the enemy unit and the rest are outside of that. They make rapid fire shots and amazingly all hit and all wound.

In this situation, how many models in the target unit can die? Is it just the 1 because that is the only one within range of the profile used for the bolter OR is it all within 24"?

Firing two shots does not change the range of a rapid fire weapon.

Therefore in that situation all models within 24" can be killed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




So if you've got a lot of Flamers of Tzeentch, you might want to have one of them shoot warpfire just to let the rest of them hit the back models.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Closing this thread, as it includes information from both sides of a temporal FAQ divide.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: