Switch Theme:

Deathwing terminator model with Thunderhammer and CML, under 6E Dark Angels Codex  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pl
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





Is it legal?

By default they have powerfist and stormbolter.
And then there are some options:

bullet 2: Any model can replace all his weapons with TH and SS - 5pts/model

bullet 4: [...] Take a cyclone missile launcher - 25pts/model

So I'm a bit confused.

One can interpret that this options are mutually exclusive, as I replace ALL my weapons with TH and SS. On the other hand, I can replace PF and SB ith TH and SS, and THEN buy CML.

What's your say?

400
8500
500
500(40k), 3500(WFB)
DC:80+S-G++M++B++I+Papoc13++D++A++/hmfWD160?R++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





I think it has been determined in the past that there isn't a order of building a list and it is all done simultaneously, so no.

If you want RAI, there is no model in the dex with a ranged weapon and a SS.

Having said that, you could have everyone else as TH&SS with just 1/2 of them being Cyclones and have something very very close to the same effect if you position them correctly.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

It comes down to if you believe that the player can choose what order to take upgrades in. If you believe that the player can choose, which is supported by the Ork FAQ re: Shoota Boyz with Nobs, then it's fine. If you disagree and think they must be in the order presented it's impossible.

Without a FAQ either way you won't get a definite answer.
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior




TH/SS with a Cyclone on his back is the very definition of overpowered. I'm gonna go with no.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 01:00:19


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Enceladus wrote:
TH/SS with a Cyclone on his back is the very definition of overpowered. I'm gonna go with no.

You're joking, right?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The order of the bullets makes no difference. If it says any model can take a cyclone missile launcher than any model can, that includes a th/ss model. The only limiting factor is if it said any model can replace it's (weapon) with a cyclone then you would not be able to put it on a th/ss model.
   
Made in pl
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





Enceladus wrote:
TH/SS with a Cyclone on his back is the very definition of overpowered. I'm gonna go with no.
This was quite popular build of Deathwing Terminator under 4E and 5E, but under new wording of Codex it was just unclear for me, whenever it is still legal. As I see, I am not alone.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 01:33:40


400
8500
500
500(40k), 3500(WFB)
DC:80+S-G++M++B++I+Papoc13++D++A++/hmfWD160?R++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




It is still legal, just a lot more expensive points wise
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

It's only 10pts more, 5pts more than old one and 5pts for hammers etc.
And as the above guy said, "any deathwing terminator may take a cyclone" does th/ss come under "any deathwing terminator"? If so then yes they can, this includes the sarge for precision shots
   
Made in fi
Rebel_Princess





Finland

A TH/SS Terminator is the "a Terminator" in this case so he can have the Cyclone.

Now the problem is if the Terminator buys the Cyclone first, he drops it in favour of the hammer and shield. But as FAQ C:Orks showed us, we can first buy the hammer and shield and afterwards take the Cyclone.

Sargeant can't take it as he is "Deathwing Terminator Sergeant", not "Deathwing Terminator". Compare this to "Any model" in replacing weapons with claws or TH/SS.

Forever a pone. 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

Check the unit composition kaap, days 5 deathwing terminators, so yes the sarge is a deathwing terminator
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Formosa wrote:
Check the unit composition kaap, days 5 deathwing terminators, so yes the sarge is a deathwing terminator


That makes no sense, because the Apothecary and Champion are separate profiles. Unless you want to argue that the Unit Composition is all the unit can ever consist of rather than just what it starts with and thus can never contain an Apothecary or Champion.

When a Deathwing Terminator is upgraded to an Apothecary or Champion it ceases to be a "Deathwing Terminator" with respect to those options available to "Deathwing Terminators" specifically.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






 Formosa wrote:
Check the unit composition kaap, days 5 deathwing terminators, so yes the sarge is a deathwing terminator


There is no sergeant in a Command Squad which is composed of 5 Deathwing Terminators (some of which can become other things through upgrades)

There is a sergeant in a Deathwing Terminator Squad, where the unit composition is 4 Deathwing Terminators and 1 Deathwing Term Sgt.

I don't think your point has any merit Formosa, an Apothecary, Champion, or Sergeant is not a Deathwing Terminator in any of the relevant entries, they are Ineligible to take the heavy weapons.


Regarding the thrust of the topic:

Do note that there really hasn't been any change to the wording of this rule since the last edition, except there where before the word "all" was implicit, now it is explicit, I only mention this because the fact it has suddenly become a bone of contention seems amusing in light of that.

I am of the mind that you can take upgrades in any order as demonstrated in the Ork FAQ and thus can still do the combination.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in ch
Regular Dakkanaut





 jegsar wrote:

If you want RAI, there is no model in the dex with a ranged weapon and a SS.
.

Any member of a Company Veteran Squad is eligible to take a Storm Shield for 10 points, regardless of whether they have swapped the boltgun they come with for a close combat weapon.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: