Switch Theme:

"3" Pile In  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in jp
Regular Dakkanaut




I was playing against Eldar with me nids and this guys sucubus was t in range of my lash whip but was in range of me and killed me but before this, he still had his three inch pile in, and from what I understand you must get the most models into base combat when possible. He could do that and get in but he has to go off the board to get to me but he finished his pile in on the board, is this legal?

You fool me once I'm mad.
You fool me twice, I don't really like you.
You fool me three times, your officially that guy.
 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





Don't quite understand what you are saying, The edge of the board can never be walked over other then falling back units and flyers

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Very confusing first post...

"The objective of the game is to win. The purpose of the game is to have fun. The two should not be confused."



 ErikSetzer wrote:

Or you can just claim it's all bad luck and you're really the best player in the world if not for those dice and/or cards.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I'm not entirely clear on the original situation (it would be good if the OP clarified and explained further), but jegsar is correct that models can't move off the table edge (except for specified exceptions, like fleeing units and flyers Leaving Combat Airspace).

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Out of my Mind

Im gonna take a stab at this! Largely cause I've got nothing better to do at work!

Sabreguy wrote:
I was playing against Eldar with me nids and this guys sucubus was t in range of my lash whip but was in range of me and killed me but before this, he still had his three inch pile in, and from what I understand you must get the most models into base combat when possible. He could do that and get in but he has to go off the board to get to me but he finished his pile in on the board, is this legal?


Sabreguy was using his Tyranids vs a Dark Eldar player. There is a combat involving his model(s) with Lash Whips, that is taking place on the board edge. At the start of combat, the squads Succubus wasn't in range of the Lash Whips, so didn't get reduced to initiative 1 which caused him to lose combat. Before his Tyranid model(s) died, he thought that a Pile-in move forced a player to get as many models in base contact as possible. He could (or did) do this, but in order to do it, he had to move the Succubus off the table to get around one of the Tyranid models that was on the edge, but he did finish the Pile-in move on the table. He wants to know if that was legal.

-----

So there are a few things here that could be causing confusion, or in general would help you out.

1) Lash Whips, you must be in base contact with the model at the start of the combat. If he is not in base contact, then the whips have no effect, even after a Pile-in. While you don't appear to have a problem with this, you did mention it, so just covering a base here.

2) On a Pile-in move, players are forced to get as many models in base contact if withing 3". They do follow all the normal rules for charging found on pg. 21. So the normal restrictions of not being able to move over friendly/enemy bases, gaps narrower than the moving models base, and contacting models not in the combat still apply.

*Moving off the table edge is generally treated as being impassable, and therefore can only be used for a Pile-in if there is room for the base of the model Piling-in to never leave the edge. It is not uncommon for players to accept that there realistically is 'ground' there and can do things like this. Players generally agree that this is the case before the game begins.

3) This is all assuming that no challenges were involved between the Succubus and the model with the Lash Whip. Im only mentioning this because you are only talking about 2 models, and not 2 units, so it's a possibility. Accepting/Refusing challenges have a different set of rules to getting models into base contact with each other, and the Pile-in rules don't apply.

I HOPE that this is what you were talking about and I hope that this answers your question(s)?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/18 00:04:54


Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: