| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 15:01:35
Subject: Mordrak and all DS.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You need models on the table on turn one or else you loose but do you need them from the very start of turn 1 or simply before the end of turn 1?
Can a Mordrak army then be an all reserves army or does the idiotic reserves ruling still force half the army to be on the table?
Second question:
If a librarian is attached to Mordraks unit will the librarian also deepstrike on the first turn and thereby bypass the reserve rule for all other units/models that say reserves start on turn 2?
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 15:06:01
Subject: Mordrak and all DS.
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Mordrak and his ghost knights take up a reserve slot as per the game rules, he just arrives turn 1 without a roll to get him there and with no scatter which is always handy. You can attach a librarian to his squad in reserves as long as your opponent knows this and yes he will arrive in turn 1 along with Mordrak. He also takes up his own reserve slot, so Mordrak and his knights are one, and the libby is another, meaning you then need at least 2 units on the table as per the reserve rules.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/23 15:07:15
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 15:06:39
Subject: Re:Mordrak and all DS.
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Mordrak and the libby are not forced to be in reserves like pods and flyers. They count as to the 50%. Sorry bro.
|
I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 15:15:34
Subject: Mordrak and all DS.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) It states by the end of any game turn. End means end
2) Mordrak and other terminator units DO count in the reserves limits, HOWEVER unless this has been FAQ removed they DO have a special rule whcih states they may
ALWAYS
start in reserve
This means they may always be in reserve, over and above the 50% limit, however they still count towards it as far as other units are concerned
As an example - Mordak+knights, 2 terminator troops, strike squad
You have 4 units, so 2 may be in reserves. Yo uput 2 terminator units in reserve, then put mordrak in. The normal reserve rule tries to kick in, however you may ALWAYS start in reserves so this is ignored. You now have 3 units in reserve. If you try to add the strike squad, 3>2 so you may not add them to reserves normally, and strike squads have no specific allowance to ALWAYS be in reserve, so they cannot go in reserve
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 15:20:02
Subject: Mordrak and all DS.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:1) It states by the end of any game turn. End means end
2) Mordrak and other terminator units DO count in the reserves limits, HOWEVER unless this has been FAQ removed they DO have a special rule whcih states they may
ALWAYS
start in reserve
This means they may always be in reserve, over and above the 50% limit, however they still count towards it as far as other units are concerned
As an example - Mordak+knights, 2 terminator troops, strike squad
You have 4 units, so 2 may be in reserves. Yo uput 2 terminator units in reserve, then put mordrak in. The normal reserve rule tries to kick in, however you may ALWAYS start in reserves so this is ignored. You now have 3 units in reserve. If you try to add the strike squad, 3>2 so you may not add them to reserves normally, and strike squads have no specific allowance to ALWAYS be in reserve, so they cannot go in reserve
Just piggybacking off Nos's post before someone asks. The rule he is referring to is in the TDA entry in the GK codex not their unit profile or summary/fluff page. TDA in the codex states they may always arrive via DS which overrides any restrictions prohibiting them from doing it such as reserve %
|
I am the Hammer. I am the point of His spear. I am the mail about His fist... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 16:14:57
Subject: Mordrak and all DS.
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
I'm in concurrence with Nos.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 16:36:25
Subject: Re:Mordrak and all DS.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ok thanks guys.
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|