Switch Theme:

Interceptor Squad+The Summoning gimmick-- Does it work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Canada

I have a question regarding the Gray Knights. While reviewing the GK codex, I thought of a possible trick concerning a possible combination with an interceptor Squad and a Librarian. Now the trick goes down like this:

Attach Librarian equipped with the psychic power: "The Summoning" to an Interceptor Squad, and teleport them in front/behind the enemy/on an objective. After this, use The Summoning to bring up a squad of Terminators/Strikes/Purifiers in order to do shenanigans.
So, if this works, you can shove up to three units (Depending on what upgrades you got) in the enemies' face turn 1.

Now what I need to know, is if this will work.
First, even if the Librarian doesn't have the Personal Teleporter, does he have the ability to move 30' too?
Second, if this works, can I use my psychic powers immediately after moving the thirty inches?

I'd like to know this, as beating a blood angel player at his own game just before dropping three squads of Palidins in his face is probably one of the best ways to say "F*ck you".

Imperial Guard (and friends) fighting for the Greater Good.

Armies: 2500 points 1850 points 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

If the Librarian hasn't got a teleporter, he can't make a teleport shunt.

The Summoning is cast at the beginning of movement, so if anyone has moved it's too late to cast.

So no, this doesn't work at all.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

doesn't work. Librarian can't "teleport shunt" as he does not have a personal teleporter. Also the summoning is used at the start of the movement phase so you can't use it if the turn is already going i.e. you moved already.

Thirdly, you really don't want to be summoning too many things as you'll likely take a deep strike mishap as the unit has to arrive within 6' of the librarian and with big units or big numbers of units, you'll most likely land on top of someone else. You can cast other powers that do not have restrictions however such as warp rift but your liby would just have to normal deep strike in for what I think you are imaging to be doing.

4th-ly, you can't cast the same power more than once unless given permission by some special rule like Eldrad so you can't summon 2 other units anyway. (page 67)

5th-ly - you can sorta do something similar with attaching a librarian to modrak's unit but again, you are limited by the start of phase powers however some may argue that due to the recent FAQ you can still cast powers but I'm not sure this will apply to the summoning.

Sorry to burst your bubble but what you have in mind doesn't work at all.

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 sudojoe wrote:

5th-ly - you can sorta do something similar with attaching a librarian to modrak's unit but again, you are limited by the start of phase powers however some may argue that due to the recent FAQ you can still cast powers but I'm not sure this will apply to the summoning.


This one is actually covered in the main rulebook. A Psyker who arrives from reserves can't cast start of turn/movement powers.
   
Made in ca
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Canada

 sudojoe wrote:
doesn't work. Librarian can't "teleport shunt" as he does not have a personal teleporter. Also the summoning is used at the start of the movement phase so you can't use it if the turn is already going i.e. you moved already.

Thirdly, you really don't want to be summoning too many things as you'll likely take a deep strike mishap as the unit has to arrive within 6' of the librarian and with big units or big numbers of units, you'll most likely land on top of someone else. You can cast other powers that do not have restrictions however such as warp rift but your liby would just have to normal deep strike in for what I think you are imaging to be doing.

4th-ly, you can't cast the same power more than once unless given permission by some special rule like Eldrad so you can't summon 2 other units anyway. (page 67)

5th-ly - you can sorta do something similar with attaching a librarian to modrak's unit but again, you are limited by the start of phase powers however some may argue that due to the recent FAQ you can still cast powers but I'm not sure this will apply to the summoning.

Sorry to burst your bubble but what you have in mind doesn't work at all.


I figured. Thanks for telling me though, I've a game tomorrow, and I don't want to screw up halfway-through the match. Seems I had better go over the list I had, cheers.

Imperial Guard (and friends) fighting for the Greater Good.

Armies: 2500 points 1850 points 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

Chrysis wrote:
 sudojoe wrote:

5th-ly - you can sorta do something similar with attaching a librarian to modrak's unit but again, you are limited by the start of phase powers however some may argue that due to the recent FAQ you can still cast powers but I'm not sure this will apply to the summoning.


This one is actually covered in the main rulebook. A Psyker who arrives from reserves can't cast start of turn/movement powers.


Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut



New Zealand

That FAQ doesn't override the limitation on pg 67. It just means that you can cast with units that are already on the board before rolling for reserves (ie there is a Divination power which influences reserves).
   
Made in us
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller





All the FAQ does is allow you to cast your powers (if you were already on the board) at units that arrived from reserve that turn.

Inquisitor Jex wrote:
Yeah, telling people how this and that is 'garbage' and they should just throw their minis into the trash as they're not as efficient as XYZ.

 Peregrine wrote:
So the solution is to lie and pretend that certain options are effective so people will feel better?
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: