Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 09:45:02
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate
French Polynesia
|
Could a dreadnought man and shoot the guns from an ADL?
Can't find anything against it, and on page 105 for gun emplacements it only says models.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/24 09:50:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 10:01:12
Subject: Re:Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
My understanding of the rule would suggest you can, but why you'd ever want to do that is completely beyond me!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 10:04:57
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
It stops helldrakes flaming you off the gun and if you use a dakka dread, you can fire your own guns (ie lascannons/missile launchers etc) in your own phase and fire the quad in the enemy movement phase.
EDIT:if it's allowed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/24 10:05:27
Blacksails wrote:
Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 10:09:38
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can also fire two weapons so one with the quad gun and one with your own. Does the Quadgun give the model skyfire, or does the weapon just have Skyfire?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 10:38:20
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
New Zealand
|
Yeah there is nothing stopping a Dread or any other vehicle model firing the emplaced Quad Gun. It is a perfectly good use for fire support vehicles/walkers which would be hanging back anyway if you don't have someone assigned to it at all times (or they have been shot off it).
The Quadgun has Skyfire, it doesn't give the model with it Skyfire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 11:17:25
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Eldercaveman wrote:You can also fire two weapons so one with the quad gun and one with your own. Does the Quadgun give the model skyfire, or does the weapon just have Skyfire?
Walkers fire all weapons, not 2
Youre thinking of MCs
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 11:24:49
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Powerguy wrote:The Quadgun has Skyfire, it doesn't give the model with it Skyfire.
"A model...that is firing a weapon with this special rule fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when shooting at [flying stuff]." ( RB p42)
You could make a very valid RAW argument that simply firing a Skyfire gun lets the model fire all of its weapons at full BS, since the rule does not specify that only weapons with that rule benefit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 12:53:29
Subject: Re:Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The problem is, the rules for the Quad Gun don't cover a model that can fire more than one weapon ( MC's Vehicles etc). RAW they can use it at all as the rules simply don't cover it.
Gun Emplacement P105 wrote:...can fire it instead of his own weapon...
His own weapon, singular.
Note it doesn't say "one of his own weapons" nor "instead of firing all weapons".
The rule only covers models able to fire a single weapon. It simply doesn't tell us how to handle vehicles or Monstrous Creatures using it. The game breaks.
RAW there's no way for a vehicle to use it without House Ruling.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 13:19:40
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Can other vehicles fire the aegis gun? I am confused.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 13:21:28
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, in theory any model that can fire can man a quad gun. Except all tyranids, because GW hates nid players
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 16:45:15
Subject: Re:Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:The problem is, the rules for the Quad Gun don't cover a model that can fire more than one weapon ( MC's Vehicles etc). RAW they can use it at all as the rules simply don't cover it.
Gun Emplacement P105 wrote:...can fire it instead of his own weapon...
His own weapon, singular.
Note it doesn't say "one of his own weapons" nor "instead of firing all weapons".
The rule only covers models able to fire a single weapon. It simply doesn't tell us how to handle vehicles or Monstrous Creatures using it. The game breaks.
RAW there's no way for a vehicle to use it without House Ruling.
Nothing you have said would prevent a vehicle from using the Quad Gun.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/24 16:45:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 18:55:43
Subject: Re:Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
barnowl wrote: grendel083 wrote:The problem is, the rules for the Quad Gun don't cover a model that can fire more than one weapon ( MC's Vehicles etc). RAW they can use it at all as the rules simply don't cover it.
Gun Emplacement P105 wrote:...can fire it instead of his own weapon...
His own weapon, singular.
Note it doesn't say "one of his own weapons" nor "instead of firing all weapons".
The rule only covers models able to fire a single weapon. It simply doesn't tell us how to handle vehicles or Monstrous Creatures using it. The game breaks.
RAW there's no way for a vehicle to use it without House Ruling.
Nothing you have said would prevent a vehicle from using the Quad Gun.
Except, you know, common F***** sense. Damn you GW and your shoddy rule writing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 19:19:29
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
It can fire, and since a walker can fire all it's weapons and not move you just give it an extra bolter or something instead and it can pretty much fire the quad gun for free while also firing everything else. Though something with split fire or other AA is still the best thing to put on a quad.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 20:02:57
Subject: Re:Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Cheesedoodler wrote:barnowl wrote: grendel083 wrote:The problem is, the rules for the Quad Gun don't cover a model that can fire more than one weapon ( MC's Vehicles etc). RAW they can use it at all as the rules simply don't cover it.
Gun Emplacement P105 wrote:...can fire it instead of his own weapon...
His own weapon, singular.
Note it doesn't say "one of his own weapons" nor "instead of firing all weapons".
The rule only covers models able to fire a single weapon. It simply doesn't tell us how to handle vehicles or Monstrous Creatures using it. The game breaks.
RAW there's no way for a vehicle to use it without House Ruling.
Nothing you have said would prevent a vehicle from using the Quad Gun.
Except, you know, common F***** sense. Damn you GW and your shoddy rule writing.
Thats never how you read rules, or laws for that matter. The rules say what they say. Blame GW, but till they fix it thats how you play it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 23:27:15
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
jegsar wrote:It can fire, and since a walker can fire all it's weapons and not move you just give it an extra bolter or something instead and it can pretty much fire the quad gun for free while also firing everything else. Though something with split fire or other AA is still the best thing to put on a quad.
No, a dreadnought has permission to fire all of ITS OWN weapons, it has no permission to fire its own weapons and a gun emplacement. If it has fired a gun emplacement, it firing it "instead of" its own weapon, not "Counting as" firing its own weapon. Since the quad gun (or any emplaced weapon) is not part of the standard armament of a walker (or MC, or any unit/model that can fire more than 1 weapon) then by allowing a walker to fire the quad gun it is required to give up its other shooting as you've not met the requirement for allowing a walker to fire more than 1 weapon. The same is true for Monstrous Creatures.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 23:35:07
Subject: Re:Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
If you can fire the Dreads weapons as well as the Quad Gun, imagine a TL Autocannon Mortis Dread on a quad!!? That many S7 shots, all Twin-linked? Say goodbye to your flier!
|
I represent the Surrey Spartans gaming group. Check us out and feel free to come along for a game! https://www.facebook.com/groups/425689674233804/
Tzeentch Daemons 2000pts
Kabal of the Sundering Strike 2500pts
Eldar Corsairs 750pts
400pts Corregidor/Nomads
300pts Yu Jing
200pts+ each of Imperial and Rebel fleets for X-Wing
A Terran Alliance and Dindrenzi Fleet for Firestorm Armada
A Necromunda Goliath gang and Spyrer gang |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 23:56:53
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
which is why you give it an extra bolter/hunterkiller/flammer/anything and BAM it's like it's firing all it's weapons.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/25 00:43:49
Subject: Re:Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Grey Templar wrote:The rules say what they say. Blame GW, but till they fix it thats how you play it.
Unless of course you're GW's FAQ author, in which case you " FAQ" that Tyranids can't use emplaced weapons even though nothing in the rules even suggests that it works that way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/25 03:31:29
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
jegsar wrote:which is why you give it an extra bolter/hunterkiller/flammer/anything and BAM it's like it's firing all it's weapons.
Not quite.
The rules don't say you fire the Quad Gun instead of a single weapon.
There's no support for vehicles firing other weapons as well as a quad gun.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/25 03:32:48
Subject: Re:Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
Peregrine wrote: Grey Templar wrote:The rules say what they say. Blame GW, but till they fix it thats how you play it.
Unless of course you're GW's FAQ author, in which case you " FAQ" that Tyranids can't use emplaced weapons even though nothing in the rules even suggests that it works that way.
Or FAQ a rule that completely flips how the BRB says it (looking at you shooting out of range FAQ...)
I would imagine it just cuts off 1 weapon the walker can fire, it makes sense. Seeing as how the rulebook does say "model" not "infantry" even a regular vehicle could use it. Its a single weapon, so why wouldnt it just count as you using 1 weapon rather than using instead of all your weapons?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/25 09:53:31
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
The rules clearly state than any model can fire an emplaced gun, so yes a Leman Russ for instance is able to fire it
It doesn't even look weird when you think about it, one sponson gunner / driver / radioman / whatever gets out of the vehicle using a conveniently placed hatch and simply mans the gun outside (Ok, it looks a bit weird when its a flyer doing it, as nothing seems to prevent it. I wouldn't count it as legal with a flyer, though it would be RAW I guess)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/26 04:00:19
Subject: Dreadnought manning Aegis Defense Line
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
I wouldn't have a problem with a walker operating a quad-gun. It would be one of those instances where it works as infantry, like walking through difficult terrain or running. And it certainly wastes a turn of lascannon/melta/etc for a quick air defense role. I could see a walker having some R2-D2-like interface to take command of a field piece like that.
Vehicles, on the other hand, no.
|
|
 |
 |
|