Switch Theme:

Zooming SR Explodes -> Dreadnought Explodes  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

What happens if a zooming Storm Raven is carrying a Dreadnought and gets blown out of the sky, scatters and the dreadnought in its rear clutches also explodes? In this case on a blob on guardsman or boyz whatever you prefer to kill.

I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I don't think so, as the explosion would happen before the dreadnought is actually on the table, so nothing would be able to be hit by it. HIWPI however, is disembark it prior to resolving the hit on the dreadnought, although my way is not RAW.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





What that Happy guy above said is what I say too.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

As above, it happens before the Dreadnought is on the table so nothing can be within D6" of it.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





Edit: Beat me to it

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/24 20:06:02


Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners




Boston, MA

If it survives the newly minted FAQ Str 10 hit on Rear Armor for being in a Exploded Flyer.

0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Out of my Mind

Also, if the S10 hit on Rear armor Immobilizes it, it goes down with the ship (IIRC)

Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Why would it explode? When the SR explodes the dread takes a S10 hit, which causes the loss of a HP due to a glance. Even if it had already lost 2 HP it would only be whole wrecked, but it would not explode.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

ianj253 wrote:
Why would it explode? When the SR explodes the dread takes a S10 hit, which causes the loss of a HP due to a glance. Even if it had already lost 2 HP it would only be whole wrecked, but it would not explode.


Because it could potentially be a penetrating hit. If it is and a 6 is rolled, the dreadnought would explode as well.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





A STR 10 hit to rear armor 10 is always going to be a penetrating hit.

10+1d6 give a range of 11-16
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I thought you only added d6 to STR if it was a weapon that hit?
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

No, you always do that when a vehicle is hit with anything with a strength value. Its called rolling for armor penetration. You roll a d6 and add the strength of the attack, if you equal the armor you glance, it you surpass you penetrate.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I know what an armor penetration roll is, but apparently you only get to add the D6 and the STR of the weapon if it's an attack. However, this is not an attack it's explosion from your own craft.

Previously I would have thought you added a d6, but a few months back I started a thread about Immoteks lightning hitting flyers, and some argued that you only get to add d6 and STR for weapons.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/60/480037.page

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

ianj253 wrote:
I know what an armor penetration roll is, but apparently you only get to add the D6 and the STR of the weapon if it's an attack. However, this is not an attack it's explosion from your own craft.

Previously I would have thought you added a d6, but a few months back I started a thread about Immoteks lightning hitting flyers, and some argued that you only get to add d6 and STR for weapons.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/60/480037.page


The D6 only if it is a weapon is silly RAW (Strictly/Technically it is that way, but that breaks many mechanics).

The reason it came up in that thread is because people were trying to say that the lightning is not an attack. So the rebuttal is if it is not an attack it can not add the str of the weapon to the pen roll which is 1D6. Which is of course silly.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




All right, makes sense then. I just read a few comments in there and thought that was the way it was supposed to be.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: