Switch Theme:

Allied Dark Angel Techmarine  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




If I ally in Dark Angels to my Imperial Guard can I take a DA techmarine as my mandatory HQ choice? The techmarine says it can be taken if you have another HQ in the army(in this case my IG warlord)...
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

It appears so.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



California

But the Techmarine doesn't take up an HQ slot, so you still need another Dark Angel HQ to fill your secondary detachment FoC. Which would allow you to take the Techmarine anyway.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






No, you may ONLY include 1 techmarine for each other HQ choice.

You cannot take a Techmarine without first taking another different HQ choice.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Focused Fire Warrior






 Drunkspleen wrote:
No, you may ONLY include 1 techmarine for each other HQ choice.

You cannot take a Techmarine without first taking another different HQ choice.

He is asking if his primary detachment hq ticks this box.
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



California

It doesn't tick any box, because DA Techmarines don't fill a slot.
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

It seems you can take a Techmarine ally without another DA HQ codex-wise, that would be legal
However, you wouldn't then have the mandatory HQ slot filled in your ally detachment, thus being illegal BRB-wise
Thus you still need a regular DA HQ to go along your techmarine

 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the help, I've decided to take a libby anyway since they are more useful, and I forgot about that section of the BRB.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Nivek5150 wrote:
It doesn't tick any box, because DA Techmarines don't fill a slot.


TanKoL wrote:
It seems you can take a Techmarine ally without another DA HQ codex-wise, that would be legal
However, you wouldn't then have the mandatory HQ slot filled in your ally detachment, thus being illegal BRB-wise
Thus you still need a regular DA HQ to go along your techmarine


That doesn't matter, as long as it is an HQ choice then it can be taken as the compulsory choice.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/30 17:41:50


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Kevin949 wrote:
Nivek5150 wrote:
It doesn't tick any box, because DA Techmarines don't fill a slot.


TanKoL wrote:
It seems you can take a Techmarine ally without another DA HQ codex-wise, that would be legal
However, you wouldn't then have the mandatory HQ slot filled in your ally detachment, thus being illegal BRB-wise
Thus you still need a regular DA HQ to go along your techmarine


That doesn't matter, as long as it is an HQ choice then it can be taken as the compulsory choice.


Care to explain your reasoning?

The Techmarine profile clearly states: "These selections do not use up a Force Organisation slot."

A DA techmarine does not fill any FOC slot and therefor cannot be taken as allied HQ.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/30 18:46:57


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because, same as in 4th and 5th, you are not required to fill up the FOC slot, you are just required to *take* something that is an HQ choice
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Because, same as in 4th and 5th, you are not required to fill up the FOC slot, you are just required to *take* something that is an HQ choice


So what does "These selections do not use up a Force Organisation slot." mean then?

And please if you would be so kind as to reply in 40k terms I would appreciate it.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It means that they do not limit your ability to take other HQ choices that DO fill up the FOC
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Prior to sixth edition, black templar were allowed to field only an emperors champion as their compulsory HQ choice, even though he did not take up an HQ slot from the force org chart. He was still an HQ choice for the army.

Obviously for BT that is no longer the case as the EC can't be a warlord and you can only take EC's with primary detachments so there is no way to have an EC without another HQ choice. The same holds true for necrons but for different reasons, in that you MUST have a specified HQ choice purchased prior to gaining HQ's that don't take up a slot (Examples - Overlords required for Royal Courts, Zahndrekh required for obyron to not take up an HQ slot).

Also remember, creating an army only says you're required to field an HQ choice, it has zero bearing on the actual force org chart which only tells you how MUCH of something you can field. They are wholly separate from one another but still tied to together.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
It means that they do not limit your ability to take other HQ choices that DO fill up the FOC


So I can also take a DW Command Squad, Ravenwing Command Squad and a regular command to go along with my Techmarine and a i might as well throw in a few servitors so long as my HQ in my primary has termie armour?

Since none of those units fill up an FOC.

I just want to make sure.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Because, same as in 4th and 5th, you are not required to fill up the FOC slot, you are just required to *take* something that is an HQ choice

The Imperial Guard FAQ for Techpriest Engineseers sets the precedent that they must fill the slot.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If you don't take a 65 point divination librarian you are just playing to lose so this whole discussion is moot.
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



California

This should persuade most people that taking a Techmarine alone for your secondary attachment is probably a bad idea anyway.


Q: Can models from an Allied Detachment that have the ability to
repair Hull Points or Immobilised/Weapon Destroyed results from
the Vehicle Damage Table use this ability on Allied vehicles? (p112)
A: No.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: