Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 09:53:38
Subject: Relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So this is probably going to be a simple yes or no.
The relic doesn't follow the normal rules for controlling an objective, but does it follow the normal rules for contesting it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 10:49:55
Subject: Relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
New Zealand
|
No, it has its own specific rules. 'The Relic is worth 3 Victory Points to the player who has seized it', and the only way to seize it is to end your movement phase in base contact with it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 10:56:54
Subject: Relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dammit, I knew I won that game. Thanks man
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 12:37:08
Subject: Relic
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
Relic page 131, Here ill quote it for you.... The model in a scoring unit can seize the relic by moving into base contact during the movement phase.
A Relic may well be an objective, in the fact that it can be claimed, giving it the 'slang' of objective, however what it is not is a Objective, which is what the rulebook says.
And don't bother telling me you knew you won all along, you wouldn't have come ask this question if you knew.
|
= 1000 point army
= 1500 Pt
= 1000
= 500
= 300
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 19:07:58
Subject: Relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
lloyd.net wrote:Relic page 131, Here ill quote it for you.... The model in a scoring unit can seize the relic by moving into base contact during the movement phase.
A Relic may well be an objective, in the fact that it can be claimed, giving it the 'slang' of objective, however what it is not is a Objective, which is what the rulebook says.
And don't bother telling me you knew you won all along, you wouldn't have come ask this question if you knew. 
Most times it best not to argue over rules you know are right with certain people. Particularly in a friendly game. In a Tourney, the TO can always answer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 20:26:26
Subject: Re:Relic
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yeah, no contesting the relic. The only way to get it is to kill the model carrying in, making him drop it, and then pick it up with your own scoring model.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 20:33:03
Subject: Relic
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You only get the points if a model is carrying it at the end of the game. Its pretty clear if you just read the rules in the brb.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 22:57:37
Subject: Relic
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
You can deny it by standing on it though even if you cant pick it up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/01 02:33:43
Subject: Relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
lloyd.net wrote:Relic page 131, Here ill quote it for you.... The model in a scoring unit can seize the relic by moving into base contact during the movement phase.
A Relic may well be an objective, in the fact that it can be claimed, giving it the 'slang' of objective, however what it is not is a Objective, which is what the rulebook says.
And don't bother telling me you knew you won all along, you wouldn't have come ask this question if you knew. 
Wow Lloyd way to be bitter!
And as the post below yours points out some times it's best just to let things rest in a friendly game, and resolve them another time rather than having a big rules dispute at the critical moment of the last turn after a very fun game, which would only lead to a sour taste in everyone's mouth. Automatically Appended Next Post: Azrell wrote:You only get the points if a model is carrying it at the end of the game. Its pretty clear if you just read the rules in the brb.
I wasn't after when you get the points, I was after whether or not it could be denied like another normal objective.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/01 04:25:10
|
|
 |
 |
|