Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 23:38:30
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
UK
|
Another Ork Question. When you tank shock with the roller you declare movement (say 13" with red paint) and it says you cause 1D6 S10 hits on the unit.
Question is if the BW reaches the target unit, is the D6 hits only against those in range (of the 13" in this case) or as it says "the unit takes D6" is it the whole unit could take them?
Cheers
|
I'm an older gamer, you'll have to speak up. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 23:46:10
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
Sorry to hijack this thread, but I also have a question. If a bw is successfully death or gloried, does the unit get hit by the deffrolla before the bw dies?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/01 00:11:30
Subject: Re:Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The whole in range thing from the FAQ is still under debate I believe.
As for how many hits the ork FAQ states that a unit that DoG's a deff rolla takes 2d6 str 10 hits.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/01 00:13:29
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Dorrin wrote:Another Ork Question. When you tank shock with the roller you declare movement (say 13" with red paint) and it says you cause 1D6 S10 hits on the unit.
Question is if the BW reaches the target unit, is the D6 hits only against those in range (of the 13" in this case) or as it says "the unit takes D6" is it the whole unit could take them?
Cheers
Both the Codex and FAQ use the word "Unit" so I would interpret that to mean that the wounds are allocated to the whole unit in the usual way. See also the FAQ, it doesn't say that the Rolla only affects certain models in the unit, just that "the unit" takes the hits.
ralphinator wrote:Sorry to hijack this thread, but I also have a question. If a bw is successfully death or gloried, does the unit get hit by the deffrolla before the bw dies?
Quote from the Ork FAQ on GW's site:
Q. Does a unit that successfully stops a deff rolla-equipped
Battlewagon’s Tank Shock suffer any hits? (p55)
A. Yes, it does. In fact, it suffers 2D6 S10 hits!
So, they take the hits even if they stop the battlewagon, which must also include situations where it is stopped and doesn't survive.
Source:
https://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2940049a_Orks_v1.2_JANUARY13.pdf
|
Driven away from WH40K by rules bloat and the expense of keeping up, now interested in smaller model count games and anything with nifty mechanics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/01 00:20:25
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Fezman wrote:Dorrin wrote:Another Ork Question. When you tank shock with the roller you declare movement (say 13" with red paint) and it says you cause 1D6 S10 hits on the unit.
Question is if the BW reaches the target unit, is the D6 hits only against those in range (of the 13" in this case) or as it says "the unit takes D6" is it the whole unit could take them?
Cheers
Both the Codex and FAQ use the word "Unit" so I would interpret that to mean that the wounds are allocated to the whole unit in the usual way. See also the FAQ, it doesn't say that the Rolla only affects certain models in the unit, just that "the unit" takes the hits.
Deffrolla also has no 'range' so nothing can ever be 'in range' because there is no range. It is 'assumed' you could possibly apply displacement as range, but there is no rules to support it. I don't have to tank shock 13" either, and you don't need to be in front of my wagon for me to 'clip' your unit. It would take some mighty big FAQing to tank shocking to make tank shock only work on model physically displaced by it.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/01 09:29:11
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
DoGing a Deffrolla is outright stupid. Even if youre capable of a S10 AP2 attack i wouldnt do it cuz youre probably going down with it unless your saves are AWESOME
|
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 11:22:36
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
UK
|
Thanks for the input folks.
|
I'm an older gamer, you'll have to speak up. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/05 12:23:54
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Vineheart01 wrote:DoGing a Deffrolla is outright stupid. Even if youre capable of a S10 AP2 attack i wouldnt do it cuz youre probably going down with it unless your saves are AWESOME
I do it for the lulz.
|
::1750:: Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/05 13:42:41
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
Sometimes it is worth it, doing the Death or Glory
happened to me a few times with a Guard squad including a melta gun
a auto-hit point-blank melta to probably hurt a BWG by sacrificing 5-6 grunts instead of "only" losing 2-3 ? Hell yeah, go for it melta-guy !
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/06 06:28:29
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
I had a situation with the deffrolla pop up that i honestly didnt know how it would work.
I deffrolled a group of marines, and they fell back 4 inches via failed morale check. I only declared 7 inches, but if i declared my full 12 i would have hit that group again with the angle i had.
Would they technically get hit by the rolla again?
|
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/06 15:58:21
Subject: Re:Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Yes and they would have automatically fell back again. Technically with bad rolls you might hit the same group several times and they do not regroup but continue to fall back each time they are tank shocked.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/06 15:59:32
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/06 22:59:12
Subject: Ork Battlewagon Deffroller
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
well thats one way to force a unit off the board lol
EDIT: Provided they survived the additional rolla hits, that is.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 01:12:28
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
 |
 |
|