Switch Theme:

Does SoB get Rending Quad Guns?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

so i was flipping through the WD dex and a thought occured to me

could Retributors get rending quads?

the exact quote is this

This Act of Faith is used in the Shooting phase. If successful, the unit's weapons gain Rending until the end of the phase.

now after reading the contex a bit deeper im thinking no, but i just wanted to be sure so have at it

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

A Quad is not the "unit's weapon" so it will not benefit.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




By that argument you also can't use fast shot/crack shot with one but the general agreement is that you can(because YMDC has decided to ignore RAW in relation to quad guns)
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






Crack shot from the eldar codex

'The enemy may not make cover saves against shots from the exarch, and the exarch may re-roll any failed to wound rolls when shooting'

What RAW part stops the exarch using that on an aegis gun?

 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




I guess it's only fast shot which states when firing his own weapon, and emplaned weapons specifically state they are not the models own weapon.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






I've just checked my codex - it does say 'his' when referring to his ability on fast shot.
I'll just play it safe and stick a fire dragon exarch on it...

 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







PredaKhaine wrote:
I've just checked my codex - it does say 'his' when referring to his ability on fast shot.
I'll just play it safe and stick a fire dragon exarch on it...
tank hunter and crack shot ... you don't like flyers do you
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






They love me

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/01 17:27:45


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

The rules for Gun Emplacements say that any rules the model has applies to the shots they make with the gun emplacement.

So I would say that they do get Rending on the Quad-gun.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except their rule specifies it only works on "Their" weapons. Is the Quadgun "their" weapon?
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I would say the specific rule for Gun Emplacements would make it their gun, as all special rules and abilities a model has transfer to the gun emplacement when they are firing it.

Acts of Faith would definitly qualify.


Of course the Rending would do nothing against Flyers as there arn't any AV13+ flyers(yet)

It would only come into play against ground vehicles of AV13+ and against things with 3+ or better saves.

Not a huge balance issue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/01 19:35:02


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





They are explicitly firing it 'instead' of their weapon, so probably not.

It seems quad-guns are a sticky issue around YMDC, but in general i'd suspect they don't count as being the owned or in the possession of the unit but do benefit from any of the units special rules that effect shooting unless the rule itself otherwise specifies such. (like it seems crack shot and the OPs sisters of battle effect seem to by virtue of applying only to the unit's weapons rather than the units shots.)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: