| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 07:02:25
Subject: Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
I can't find in the rulebook where it may answer these questions. maybe you guys will know.
Do warlord traits and banners work when you embarked in a transport? as in do they radiate 12" or 6" from the vehicles hull?
Do all deep striking units enter simultaneously or one at a time? as in can i place a unit, have it scatter away, and then attempt to place another deep striking unit in the original location of the first unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 07:12:58
Subject: Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Foxy_Grandpa wrote:I can't find in the rulebook where it may answer these questions. maybe you guys will know.
Do warlord traits and banners work when you embarked in a transport? as in do they radiate 12" or 6" from the vehicles hull?
Page 78 BRB Right Column, Embarking section, 1st Graph, 4th sentence answers this question.
Do all deep striking units enter simultaneously or one at a time? as in can i place a unit, have it scatter away, and then attempt to place another deep striking unit in the original location of the first unit?
placed scattered and then the next unit is placed and scattered.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 21:38:18
Subject: Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
That just says "if the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit" that doesn't necessarily mean that I can use the warlord trait of an embarked leader.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 22:29:23
Subject: Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Foxy_Grandpa wrote:That just says "if the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit" that doesn't necessarily mean that I can use the warlord trait of an embarked leader.
Right but you asked "Do warlord traits and banners work when you embarked in a transport? as in do they radiate 12" or 6" from the vehicles hull? "
This question is clearly answered on the page/graph reference I gave.
You are allowed to use the warlord trait, there is no restriction on being embarked... Profit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 23:58:07
Subject: Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Foxy_Grandpa wrote:That just says "if the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit" that doesn't necessarily mean that I can use the warlord trait of an embarked leader.
The warlord trait involves measuring a range to the unit. You can probably work out how that line now helps you....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 01:05:58
Subject: Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
I feel like my question still isn't answered, and it really only applies to command traits.
Let my revise my question:
Can a unit of Chaos Space Marines gain the preferred enemy special rule from Abaddon, who is embarked in a Land Raider whose hull is within 12" of the unit?
I feel like the answer should be no, because the warlord trait only says "The Warlord and all friendly units within 12" of the Warlord" instead of "The Warlord and all friendly units within 12" of the Warlord or The vehicle he is embarked upon."
Maybe I just don' understand what you're getting at.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 02:01:20
Subject: Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
You need to see if you're within 12" of Abbadon correct?
Wait - he's in a vehicle. How do you measure to him when he's in a vehicle?
Oh, you're allowed to measure to the hull. Yay! Preferred Enemy for everyone (within 12")!
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 09:10:33
Subject: Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. It really isnt specific to Abaddon - banners, teleport homers, psychic powers, power fields etc all require you to masure to the unit.....and so you MEASUR TO THE HULL.
Your question is 100% answered
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 09:41:42
Subject: Re:Sequence of Deep Strike & Warlord Traits questions
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Foxy, you might be trying to fit in Line-of-Sight, which could cause some confusion.
Any of the abilities that involve the unit, will be measured to the hull. So Warlord Traits, Banners, etc, that don't require LoS, use the rule where they are measured from the hull. Line of Sight is more of a restriction, that unless stated it is used doesn't normally apply. ie. most things that have an interaction with each other don't require LoS, just the presence is enough to gain the benefit, and we're told specifically how that works while they're in a vehicle. Shooting and Psychic powers are the most common things that require LoS without addressing it every time. Most other things will specifically state whether they use LoS.
Off the top of my head, the only things I can think of that have a LoS restriction in addition to whatever ability their trying to use is Nemesor Zahndrekh's (Necron) rule where he has to have LoS to grant a friendly unit an ability, and LoS to remove an ability from an opponents unit. The Tau also have something involving being able to draw LoS to the character. There are most definitely more, but I'm just giving examples to illustrate the difference.
There are some things that are FAQ'd as well, but these usually remain specific to the unit being addressed and are not necessarily applied to everything. Doom of Malantai's Leech thing grants cover saves, which by the rules requires LoS from Doom to determine if the model is obscured or not, and can't hit units in vehicles. Eldar Psychic powers that don't require LoS, can't be used from inside transports. So if you're confused by these things, look in your own armies FAQ and see if it's been addressed. If not, then it measures from the Hull of the transport, until it does get addressed.
Hope maybe this helps clear things up a bit for you.
|
Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|